Heating Contractors in UtahBrowse Heating Contractors in all states
Contractors by City: West Valley City
Contractors, are you considering buying leads? Contact Us.
Utah is a sparsely populated state, with about 3 million people. Almost 80% of the population lives within the Wasatch Front, an urban area with the state capital, Salt Lake City, at its center. Utah is one of the fastest-growing states in the country. Temperatures average in the low 40s during the winter months and in the low 90s in the summer.
If you have issues with your HVAC contractor that you can't solve face-to-face, you can file a complaint with the state's Attorney General, and also with the Better Business Bureau.
The US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has programs to help people who have difficulty paying their utility bills.
Utah's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing requires that contractors be licensed to do construction work in the state. Obtain a license application form here. To qualify for any license, applicants must:
- Have liability insurance consisting of at least $100,000 for each incident
- Have workers' compensation insurance
- Be registered with the Utah State Tax Commission, the Utah Department of Employment Security, the IRS and the Utah Division of Corporations
- Submit a CPA-complied, reviewed, or audited financial statement
- Submit three credit reports for all key company personnel
Applicants must also pass a business and law exam and a trade exam. Additionally, to qualify for the exams for HVAC, applicants must have at least four years of full-time related work experience. The exams are given by the online company Experior. The cost is $200 (nonrefundable) to file an application for a primary classification license. The supplemental classification application fee is $100. The business and law exam costs $79. Each trade exam costs $79. The license itself is free and is good for two years, expiring July 31 of the odd-numbered years. Contractors with valid licenses from Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, or West Virginia can apply for a Utah license by endorsement.