Heating Contractors in CaliforniaBrowse Heating Contractors in all states
Contractors, are you considering buying leads? Contact Us.
California is the most populous state in the country, thanks to its wonderful coastal climate -- but its weather is not all sunshine all the time. Indeed, although much of the state has what's called a Mediterranean climate with cool winters, lots of rain and dry summers, there are areas of the state that actually have a Subarctic climate. The winds off the Pacific Ocean cool the coast, but once inland, the winters will be colder and the summers hotter.
If you're an unlicensed heating contractor in California, you can still do business - so long as you never contract for work over $500 (including labor and materials). California is strict about this, and, according to the Contractors State License Board, has conducted "stings" to ensure that unlicensed contractors don't break the rules. Unlicensed contractors are also required to inform their customers that they are unlicensed.
To get an HVAC license in California, you have to have four years experience as a journeyman, a foreman or a supervisor. You'll need to have $2,500 in operating capital, and be able to post a $5,000 bond. You also have to have insurance. Once you've got that sorted out, you'll need to take and pass a law and business exam, as well as the exam for the specific classifications you'll be working in.
California is a leading state in the effort to promote energy efficiency state wide, and has formed the Flex Your Power campaign for that purpose. Flex Your Power is aimed more at the consumer - both home and businesses - than the contractor, but contractors will need to be aware of California's push for energy efficiency as they promote their businesses.
Anyone with cause to complain about a California HVAC contractor should contact the State License Board. However, if you deal with someone who isn't licensed, your only recourse would be Small Claims Court. Alternatively, you can contact the Better Business Bureau.