home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Trane heat pumps

Popularity:
#34  of 72 brands of heat pumps

32% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 429 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    121
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    19
  • Neutral
    12
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    24
  • Very Unsatisfied
    253

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2014?

Read more about Trane heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2013-05-14 Name: Glen Frost
Location: phoenix az

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I have had Many Problems Since Installing"
I have had many problems since installing a Trane heat pump. Paid for a 10 year warranty and had problems at least 4 times. Now after 10 years and 2 months, the compressor needs to be replaced. You can't stop a Trane wreck!



Date created: 2013-04-26 Name: Bill Pendleton
Location: Mount Airy, NC 27030

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied with my unit"
Very satisfied with my unit. Suggestion: I live in an area where the theft of copper and/or entire units happens too often. I have just installed a CPI security system since all outdoor compressor units require, by code, an outside disconnect consider developing an application. That would require a code to be entered before shutting down the power to help deter theft. ??? Or is there one now?


Date created: 2013-04-08 Name: Chris
Location: Washington- WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Trane"
My heatpump was installed during house construction in 1991. Other than cleaning the outside unit and changing the thermostat, I have done nothing. I have paid nothing. What scares me is that I know it's due to go and I want to be ready but given the reviews not one model is free of negative reviews. I really am leaning toward buying another Trane but............. look at the reviews.


Date created: 2013-02-07 Name: A. Pirrone
Location: Poquoson, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible system"
I purchased a 13 seer Trane system 10 years ago and had it installed in a new custom built home. I have replaced every part on this system since. The compressor just died and fortunately I had purchased a Home warranty program to pay for the compressor. I would only endorse this product to a Marina as I am sure the heat pump would make a great boat anchor. By the way, if you want to "stop a Trane" come to my house and turn on the thermostat.


Date created: 2013-01-25 Name: P. TURPIN
Location: Sherrills Ford, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"THE TURPINS OF LAKE NORMAN"
Unit still going strong. We replaced our old Carrier unit with a Trane in 1995. Our present service company has kept our unit running great. We have it serviced/checked in the spring and fall for a reasonable fee. Yes, we have had a few breakdowns common for it's age. Such as replacing the refrigerant valve in the summer and occasionally adding the necessary freon when it gets low. But overall after 18 years, the unit still runs fine. If it finally breaks down tomorrow, we will buy another one. This model was the cheapest one that was sold at the time in 1995,the seer rating being at 13.35)


Date created: 2013-01-22 Name: Frank
Location: Leesburg, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Product"
My Trane is 15 years old. Had it serviced the first 2 years and then never again. This winter (2013) it ran very low on Freon. Cost me $340. If it keeps running I'm going to keep it. After reading so many bad reviews on Trane, Carrier, etc I'm afraid to buy a new one. I know mine is not as efficient as a new one but I'd rather pay foe electric than have constant repairs.


Date created: 2013-01-20 Name: G Jones
Location: Eastman, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"4WCY4048B1"
When the temperature drops to freezing, this unit puts out the worst scent. I had the repairman here to check it out and he said it's called "dirty sock syndrome." Because they can't find the cause. It never smelt like this with our old unit. We paid a lot of money for this heat pump and I will never recommend a Trane to anyone. This scent will even wake me up at night; it's that strong!


Date created: 2013-01-15 Name: k dobbs
Location: hixson tn

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never ever get another Trane"
I will never ever recommend a trane I have a heat and air unit and it's least then a 1yr old and I have at least called a repair man out to fix something at least once a month


Date created: 2012-12-21 Name: Pissed off Momma
Location: Hot Texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't waste your time & money!"
If your hvac repair budget is the national debt, then you "can't stop a trane". Don't waste your time & money!!! I have had more dates with the repair man than my husband over the past 7 years!! Spent more $$$$ on paying him also. If you really want to know what I think.


Date created: 2012-12-12 Name: renee hoffman
Location: frederica delaware

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!"
Brand new unit installed August 17, 2012 air conditioner noisy heat pump went out ten times repair man out ten times still not fixed. Cant find a number for trane will never buy again or recommend I will be calling better business bureau.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com