home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Trane heat pumps

Popularity:
#43  of 83 brands of heat pumps

32% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 502 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    139
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    22
  • Neutral
    12
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    28
  • Very Unsatisfied
    301

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2017?

Read more about Trane heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous678910111213141516171819202122232425Next >>

Date created: 2010-09-10 Name: Craig Knowlton

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love It!"
Quality


Find Local Contractors
1. I need a new:
2. My zip code is:

Date created: 2010-09-02 Name: D. Fowler
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Trane should guarantee labor as well for faulty parts"
Compressor went out after 4 years, Part on warranty, labor isn't. $1200 to fix. I won't buy anothr Trane until they stand behind their work. If a part is fauty, Trane needs to pay to replace it.


Date created: 2010-08-15 Name: T. Tray
Location: Sedalia, Missouri

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home owner"
After reading all the reviews on Trane heat pumps, I will keep mine short. I hope everyone that is about to buy a heat pump reads these reviews ( I sure wish I did ) Stay away from Trane !!!!!! unit number does not matter, they are all bad ! I, like everyone else, contacted customer service and they just don't care what your problem is, they have your money and are done with you.


Date created: 2010-08-06 Name: D Arthur

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Danny"
At this point very unsatisfied. Replaced a unit after about 20 years and now have humidity problems, water dripping out of the vents and mold. I am told the unit is just too efficient and I can spend $ to install a dehumidifier (in unit would be near what I paid for the unit itself) First time I think I have paid for something that was just too good for me


Date created: 2010-08-04 Name: D. Charles

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Reliability POOR"
My last ac unit lasted 23 years. 12 years ago, I installed a 14 seer Trane 5 ton heat pump. Compressor just went out. 12 years for $17k?? Never again with Trane.


Date created: 2010-08-02 Name: Michael Menendez

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy a Trane!"
Bought an xl 18I heat pump in February 2006. At the time, it was supposed to be the top of the line in heat pumps. In February 2009, the compressor went, replaced under warranty, but I had to pay the labor cost at the tune of $1000.00. In January 2010, the compressor went again, less than one year after it was replaced. The compressor was replaced and problems continued with it. They replaced "this, that, and the other" and the unit continued to malfunction. The dealer/installer/repairer were never able to tell me what was wrong with the unit. It appears they didn't know what was wrong with the unit, since they contacted the Trane representative. I contacted Trane Consumer Relations and they have done absolutely nothing. The factory tech supposedly came to the house to look at the unit (never saw him, he never returned my calls, no feed-back, nothing, etc.) Trane Consumer Relations has been totally uncommunicative. They don't seem to care one bit for their customers. It's now July 25th, 2010 and the unit started malfunctioning again. A call was placed to the dealer/installer/repairer and it is not known whether the they have shown up to look at the unit or not. It's now a week since the initial service call was placed and a second call was placed this morning. Nobody at the Trane dealer has a clue if anyone has been to my home to look at the unit ot not. "We'll look into it and open a ticket if nobody has been there yet," I was told by the Trane representative. In the meantime, the unit continues to malfunction.


Date created: 2010-07-24 Name: Art P.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good heat pump!"
This Weathertron 800 unit has worked flawlessly for 20 years so I guess it is pretty good. Don't know anything about new ones though.


Date created: 2010-07-18 Name: B. Ledford

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent"
Bought XL1200 packaged unit 9 years ago and never been worked on till last month when the balance weights flew off the blower fan which had to be replaced. Would not purchase from Sears again because they were so slow in responding.


Date created: 2010-07-08 Name: G. Martin
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Mr."
This 20I heat pump is great and efficient. Get your Trane unit installed by factory trained people and that's it. Choose the right dealer to begin with!


Date created: 2010-07-06 Name: C. Thompson

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Residential consumer"
Can someone please give me a ballpark figure for a split unit 5 ton Trane residential heat pump? If I make a move, it'll be to replace its ancestor a 33-year-old ge Weatherton. I do not need the installation cost, just the hardware price. I'll deal with installation after other rehab and rebuilding matters are taken care of.

<< Previous678910111213141516171819202122232425Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com