home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Trane heat pumps

Popularity:
#33  of 71 brands of heat pumps

31% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 421 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    119
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    15
  • Neutral
    12
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    24
  • Very Unsatisfied
    251

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2014?

Read more about Trane heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous23456789101112131415161718192021Next >>

Date created: 2010-12-27 Name: B Pierce
Location: Daphne , Alabama

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Went Down hill"
2 Trane Units 4 ton heat pump compressor went after only 7 years. Major expensive to replace and they only give you a one year warranty or make you buy a new one to get a 5 year warranty or 10 year warranty at mega cost. Most good reviews are 5 years or less



Date created: 2010-12-09 Name: Donna Kopish
Location: Fremont NE

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Old lady from NE"
Bought a x15 in May and all was fine until it got cold. Have had nothing but trouble with it. And yes it smells bad ever so often


Date created: 2010-12-07 Name: m winger
Location: virginia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality"
Bought a trane xl400 with inside air handler. 3 weeks after the warrenty expired the variable speed motor on the outside burned up. Cost over $450 to replace. now motor burns up every 2 years or so. had numerious problems with vibration induced noises. apparently the pipes inside the heat pump are not insulated and rub all over the fram and make lots of noise. I pais premium price for trane components and got garbage. Will never buy another trane again.


Date created: 2010-12-06 Name: g.perko
Location: sun city west,az

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"American standard product"
Heat pump purchased from trane american standard co.a big piece of junk that falls apart constantly. numerious calls made to trane , never a return call. this pump is under parts warranty only cost in thepast month for labor$1218.


Date created: 2010-12-03 Name: Ian Stuart
Location: Frederick MD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Treat 5 star reviews with caution"
On reading the reviews of Trane on this site I notice one rather peculiar characteristic. A disproportionate number of 5 star reviews are from people who report that their twenty year units have worked perfectly. From the point of view of deciding which brand to buy these reviews are worthless since newer units bear no resemblance to the older less efficient but much more durable units. If you subtract these reviews the ratings for Trane are almost entirely 1 star, except for some ratings by dealers.


Date created: 2010-12-01 Name: philip sanfiorenzo
Location: Ft Worth,Texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Trane ac/ heatpump"
bought this unitnew with the house in 2003, 7 years and 3 compressors, 1 reverse valve and a heater board. this is and xr12 not a good unit at all


Date created: 2010-11-26 Name: Jeff R.
Location: Central Virginia

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"I expected better"
Installed a new 14i with variable speed air handler. Have had 2 different valve failures in 3 years. Both were covered under extended warranty. Temperature regulation in house is superb, rarely changing more than 1 or 2 degrees from setting. Whenever this unit is ready to come out I may buy Trane again or go back to Lennox.


Date created: 2010-11-22 Name: D. Jones
Location: Concord, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Smell problem"
Recently had new heat pump, air handler, supply lines, and duct lines installed. Worked fine during the summer; however, when the heat is on there is a smell comming from all vents - the smell of (very strong)fabric softner. Has anyone had this problem? The Dealer/installer has never come across this problem.


Date created: 2010-11-20 Name: Mike Ross
Location: Foley, Al

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Got Rid of the Trane!"
My sister contacted me and asked for my help with her 5 yr. old Trane heat pump. To date, she has spent $759.00 on repairs over the past three years: mostly freon charges and controls. I contacted her HVAC maintenance contractor and he recommended entirely replacing the unit--only after 5 years. So we did. We installed Bryant's 15 Seer heatpump, and you can't even hear it running. It has a 10 year manufacturer's labor and material warranty. I've had other bad experiences with Trane, and I hope never to have another Trane installed in any house that I own or visit!


Date created: 2010-11-18 Name: D.O'Dwyer
Location: Inverness, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"18 Years old, finally replacing"
This XE1000 2-ton split unit was in the house when I bought it in 1996 - original installation was 1992. Over the years it has performed very well in our FL climate with routine maintenance. The only repairs were to an outdoor fan in 2007 that just stopped one night. And a couple of times it's acted weird, but that was fixed with a new digital thermostat. That said, I'm getting ready to replace this unit with a new XLR-15i system, with a variable speed air handler. I hope it's as good as the XE1000 has proved!

<< Previous23456789101112131415161718192021Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com