home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of TEMPSTAR heat pumps

Popularity:
#32  of 69 brands of heat pumps

31% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 92 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    27
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    56

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2014?

Read more about TEMPSTAR heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2008-12-01 Name: Mark Dunbar
Location: Largo, FL
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dunbar"
It worked ok for 5 years. Then just after warranty expired the compressor went. The tech from the same installation company said the rest of the unit is junk and showed how the coils are dried out and flake off when brushed. This is not acceptable, a $3000 unit should not be crumbling to pieces at 5 years.



Date created: 2008-11-23 Name: Elaine C.
Location: Nashville, TN
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Yep, It's crap"
It seems like everytime I turn around....mainly on the coldest day of the year or the hottest day of the year....this unit needs servicing. Now I'm told they don't even make them anymore! This has not been a good experience for me!


Date created: 2008-06-23 Name: M. Fordham
Location: Crystal River, FL
Years owned: 18

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"VERY SATISFIED WITH MY TEMPSTAR HEAT PUMP"
I have owned my Tempstar for 18 years. I have had absolutely no problems with this unit. When I decide to replace with a new unit it will absolutely be a Tempstar.


Date created: 2008-06-12 Name: Anthony Giobbe
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DO NOT BUY"
This unit has been terrible since the day it was installed. Four years later and I'm installing a new unit!


Date created: 2008-06-05 Name: John Stewart
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I own two units"
Have had nothing but trouble with both units--one up stairs and one down stairs. Service call after service call and it breaks down every 3-6 months.


Date created: 2008-05-14 Name: Tempstar Hater
Location: Central Florida
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
There is no nice way to say it. Tempstar is rubbish. I bought my house 8 yrs ago & within a week the old unit died. The sellers were nice people and had the unit replaced, at their expense, with a new 4 tons Tempstar. It was the noisiest P.O.S. since day one. It has never run very smoothly. While I don't like having to spend the money to replace it, at least I can get something that will be quieter, (almost any other brand will do that), and more efficient.


Date created: 2008-05-14 Name: MIKE FORD
Location: Deland, Fla
Years owned: 18

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
I have owned my 3 ton tempstar heat pump for 18 years. The only problem I ever had was the defrost valve need to be replaced. Believe it or not, I never even had it serviced in 18 years. I did change out my filters every couple of months. I will eventually replace this unit with another tempstar.


Date created: 2008-04-26 Name: MIKE FORD
Location: Sanford, FL
Years owned: 18

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
I have owned a tempstar 3 ton heat pump for 18 years. That is right 18 years! I have never had it serviced! I do change the filter every month. I live in central FL, so as you can imagine we run the airconditioner quite frequently. I am having another tempstar installed next week. It is a 14 seer. My old tempstar is running perfectly but after so many years I don't want to have to replace it in the middle of the summer, plus the new unit's 14 seer rating will be much more economic to run. You can't beat tempstar for the money.


Date created: 2008-03-20 Name: PETE CLEMENTS
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
We have had no bad luck at all and have found it to be as advertised.


Date created: 2007-12-27 Name: joe sershen
Location: virginia
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
I have had nothing but problems with both units upstairs and downstairs units neither has run for more than 6 months without breaking down.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com