Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of RUUD heat pumps

Popularity:
#31  of 84 brands of heat pumps
25% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 118 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    28
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    81
best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2018?

Read more about RUUD heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
12345678Next >>

Date created: 2019-01-23 Name: Phillip Powell
Location: Murfreesboro, TN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"🤬 Rheem/Ruud"
My 7 yr old Ruud Achiever package unit has totally failed 6 times. Everything has been replaced! They use cheap parts & take zero blame. Ruud actually blames the installer & distributor.🤣 I have many neighbors having the same problems with their newer Rheem & Ruud units. We all regret wasting money. It also causes a dirty sock smell. My old unit never ever did.
Find Local Contractors
1. I need a new:
2. My zip code is:

Date created: 2019-01-12 Name: James E. Murray
Location: St. George, SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"My unit is less than 2 years old and I have had a problem with heat every since I have had it when unit goes in defrost it blow"
Heat unit blows cold air in home when it goes into defrost cycle, had 2 people look at it, still have the problem, is there anything I can do to fix this. This is my 3rd unit installed in 43 years and never had this problem before.
Date created: 2019-01-06 Name: Melanie Hinds Graham
Location: Tennessee

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unsatisfied"
Ruud 2 1/2 ton dual fuel unit installed 2010, have had service calls every year. Outdoor sensor, contactor replaces twice in a two year period, coil, relay twice, Paid for service calls as well as had to pay processing fees of the warranty parts. When you call a number you have to leave messages that they do not return the call. They do not reply to emails.
Date created: 2017-08-09 Name: H Nelander
Location: Tucson, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never Ruud"
Current unit replaced about 6 years ago. Virtually all parts have been replaced in last year on this unit. Have found factory support non- responsive and un-educated on failure modes. This was a major mistake to replace with another Ruud unit, never again.
Date created: 2017-07-13 Name: William Phillips
Location: Yorktown, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Throwing money in a fire pit"
Remodeled a family home built in the 50'S. Complete upgrades wiring, box. Meter base, plumbing, bathrooms, kitchen and a Ruud heat pump system complete with new ductwork. System was installed in 2012. Will not properly cool home in summer or heat in winter. System has required numerous service calls for defective parts each year. Electric bills are 6 x my other home and they are the same square footage. I've done the math, I'm bailing. Avoid Ruud! The long run costs are not worth any immediate savings.
Date created: 2017-07-09 Name: H. Nelander
Location: Tucson, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfactory product and support."
Have replaced virtually all hardware in unit over the 6 years it has been installed. Partially functional and factory still asking local tech for more measurements and readings to resolve issue - - this is week 3 and our utility bill is out of sight. Now, factory has asked for an adjustment with a tool that is nonexistent locally as well as tech has never heard of adjustment outside of factory assembly and test. Never will I purchase a Ruud product again and am getting quotes to replace this piece of junk
Date created: 2017-06-07 Name: R. L. Hails Sr. P. E. (Ret.)
Location: Maryland

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Simple Design Errors"
I am a retired PE with 45 years of design experience. I have just replaced my Rudd heat Pump's main circuit board for the 4th time and refurbished the entire unit. It has bad design which is susceptible to mediocre installation which can tear itself apart. Examples: The compressor (outside) double unit has a central contactor, main power switch which needs a simple steel lid. Bugs crawl into the contractor, short the terminals, which can run the unit with the thermostat turned off. Without rejecting heat inside, the expensive compressor will tear itself apart. A sheet metal bug lid would prevent massive loss. The circuit board is located under water sources. Condensate drips can short out expensive components. Repeatedly. The RUUD equipment has a rectangular shaped gutter beneath the air handler coils to catch condensate (think an ice tea glass in a hot humid summer day). It has a low point drain but the installer carelessly installed the drain at the high point. The painted steel gutter rusted hundreds of holes above the blower motor and circuit board. I added a humidifier above the unit and learned the hard way that a cheap solenoid valve can leak and short major equipment. RUUD should put their power and controls away from dripping water, use gutters that do not rust out, and put drains on both sides. One will be low, the other needs a cap. Their circuit board puts a lot of components on a very expensive board. A cheap device which "wears out" should not cause a big repair bill. You do not rebuilt your house when a light bulb burns out. Their major components are well designed with good materials. The little construction details kill them.
Date created: 2017-05-30 Name: keith cienkowski
Location: Egg Harbor Township, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"RUUD units are great"
To all unsatisfied people that wrote bad reviews it was a bad install job not the equipment you should have found a better contractor they should have checked their reference's Ruud are a great company!!!
Date created: 2017-03-13 Name: STEVE COBB
Location: Darlington, SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Model RQNM leaks freon"
When it works it's most efficient. At 6 months the expansion valve froze up & was changed. My electric bill was over $300 for my small house. Now the installer has been back several times to add Freon & for a month or two the bill drops 50% then it runs on & on when the Freon has leaked out. My installer says he can't find the leak & now refuses to come back at all & refuses to return my calls for the last year (just when the one year warranty runs out). It's two years old & the $4600 I paid was a waste. Avoid Rudd at all cost. Just my opinion.
Date created: 2017-03-06 Name: J GEARHART
Location: Camp Verde, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DEFROST BOARD STUCK AND KEPT RUNNING PANIC"
Only had unit 5 years already needs new board unit kept running if I would not have been outside and noticed the fan blades weren't moving it would have burned up. Had to call repairman and he diagnosed it as being stuck in the defrost mode. Scary to have a unit like this. Would never purchase another .
12345678Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2019 furnacecompare.com