home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Payne heat pumps

Popularity:
#46  of 80 brands of heat pumps

31% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 85 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    53

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2016?

Read more about Payne heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2011-01-31 Name: Jim Scott
Location: Sacramento, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Over 30 Years = Works Great!"
My home came with a Payne heat pump. The home was built in 1979. The unit is still functioning perfectly. In the past 25 years, the heat pump has had two tuneups. It's quiet, efficient, and resists rust. Although the SEER rating is around 6, our monthly bill for our all-electric home of 2200 sq ft is a year-round average of $150. Not bad, considering 7 people use the home. Thanks a lot, Payne!



Date created: 2011-01-24 Name: michael
Location: va

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Equipment isnt allways the problem"
Payne is def one of your cheaper units but no matter what u buy they all have some type of know issues.most of the time if its installed and maintained right u wont have much go wrong with them.ive been doin heating and air for 11yrs and installed and serviced all brands including payne as a low budget job out of all the ones ive installed never had more than a cust instruct to change filter done to them just had a lady who called i installed a new 15seer payne last year her bill last jan was $480 this jan with the new unit was only $180


Date created: 2011-01-19 Name: robert s. wilson
Location: madison n.c.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heat pump too noisy"
Heat pump is very noisy when running!!! wish i had read these reviews first! would never have purchased it!!!


Date created: 2010-12-11 Name: Ritch
Location: Indianapolis

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Loud noise from Payne heat pump"
Brand New Payne Heat Pump installed and it's defrost mode is so loud that we can't sleep. Payne refuses to fix it, despite the numerous complaints found on the internet. They claim it's normal and if you don't like then spend another $225.00 to put in a different circut board. I'm looking into filing a class action suite against them.


Date created: 2010-12-05 Name: paul

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"AC HEAT"
LIKE THE HEAT PUMP --DONT LIKE THE NAME//PAYNE//SOUNDS LIKE IT IS GOING TO BE A PAYNE IN -YOU KNOW WHAT WISH THEY WOULD CHANGE THE NAME OF IT


Date created: 2010-10-20 Name: R. Favata
Location: Cocoa, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mr. & Mrs Robert Favata"
We purchased a new heat pump 18 Mo. ago. During our 6 Mo. checkup they found a large leak in the coil.The installer is replacing the coil today.We don't have to pay for the coil, but we do have to pay for the installation and the collant that leaked out. We feel after paying 3,500.00 dollars only 18 mo. ago we should not have to pay anything. We feel we should be reembersed. for these coasts. We would like your feed back on this matter. Thank You The Favat's


Date created: 2010-09-21 Name: C T
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Package unit heat pump"
The new Payne package units are quite impressive. I install for a living (10+ years). The reason I like them is they have a tin-plated coil and in Florida that can help coil leak problems. They also are engineered to be serviced and troubleshot...every major component is accessible through one panel that you can remove without interfering with system function. This is a big advantage that few other models have. They also use Copeland scroll compressors which are the top standard.


Date created: 2010-09-16 Name: A. Aguayo
Location: Warner Robins, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"4 years of good service"
We have 3 Payne 2006 model heatpumps. They all cool and heat great. The temperature manages to stay within 1-2 degrees year round. In the summer the humidity stays under 50%. We once had a leak in the evaporator of the 3 ton unit; it was covered under warranty. Later on the 2 ton unit began blowing out thermostat fuses, we had someone repair the fualty wiring. Laer down the road,someone steped on the liguid line and the unit developed a leak at a bolt type connection. The connection hadn't been tightend like it should during installation. After having those problem fixed the heatpumps work great again. They get the coils cleaned every 6 months, the blower every year and the filter are replaced as neccessary since they cost about $9 a piece.


Date created: 2010-08-23 Name: K Millhouse
Location: St Clairsille, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Compressor"
Less than 3 years and we have called the installer 3 times for repair. The final repair was the compressor and another part that cost us over one thousand dollars for repair. A unit under 3 years old should NOT go bad so quickly.


Date created: 2010-07-21 Name: Mike
Location: Washington, DC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Payne is great"
I own an HVAC company in the Washington DC area and I install Paynes on a weekly basis. Just about every issue here is due to poor installation. When you purchase a Payne/Carrier/Bryant unit, the evap coil is the same. They do not switch the box. The color the coil they use the same adp coil. The compressor as well as valves are all the same. Biggest diff is the color. What do you see on tv commercials for Trane and Carrier? I sell alot of Trane. In my opinion, they are the best for the little things they do for the installer, tilting the valves etc. but cost the most due to the rep and high consumer report ratings. You will almost never recoup the energy savings costs. By the time you do, the system will be due for replacement. You rarely if ever see a commercial for Payne which keeps costs down. All of the units have the 10 year warranty now so compressor replacements and other parts should have been done under warranty and typically when you have a unit installed a reputable company will give you a 1 year labor warranty and with the new r410 refrigerant older line sets that are soldered need to be replaced due to the higher pressures and newer line sets as long as sied properly can be flushed with r11 or another flushing agent to remove any residue and oil from the old unit which will prevent any compressor sludging or txv clogging. Payne is a great value esp with these tough economic times. I push Payne to any customer on a budget but if your looking for highest efficiency variable speed top of the line, stick with Trane or Carriers infinity series both are amazing systems.

<< Previous1234567Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com