Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Nordyne heat pumps

Popularity:
#55  of 84 brands of heat pumps
26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 23 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    5
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    17
best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2018?

Read more about Nordyne heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2019-04-22 Name: Jim s
Location: Eastern shore, MD

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Air temp Nordyne brand equipment"
I have been an HVAC contractor for close to 30 years I donít limit myself to the brand of systems we install. I have over the tears installed literally thousands of residential system Bryant, Carrier, Trane, American Standard, Goodman, basically all brands. For all those who have left negative reviews about Airtemp being the worst units ever. I have to disagree I have hundreds of the installed and running perfectly since the day I put them in my callbacks are minimal. And those of you who have paid 10k for an air handler or even most complete systems you were robbed blind. The dependability of a system depends on who installed it I donít care what system bra if not properly installed following the manufactures specs you will not have the issues as described. The equipment is all about the install. Is it a complete Ahriman rated matching system or did you put an Airtemp condenser on some older r 22 air handler. Is the duct design correct was the line sets changed or at least properly flushed and a filter line dryer installed. Itís not the equipment manufacturer thatís the problem itís the company you decided to have installed the system probably because they were the cheapest. Some manufacturers will only sell their equipment to reputable HVAC companies that require their technicians to be factory trained but they all use the me basic component and brands of components as all the other companies. Same compressors same boards and so on. Any licensed HVAC guy with an EPA license can walk into the distributor and purchased a basic AirTemp or most other brands such as Goodman thatís the problem. Ten years all parts warranty you should not be charged for parts your HVAC guy is getting re-inverse when they return the faulty part in the full as long as you registered it accordingly to the manufacturer's guidelines . Last but not least you should be having your system serviced twice a year and that is also written in the manufacturer's warranty. So remember itís all about the install and the company you hired to do the installation and number to maintenance does not cost you money it pays! Oh yeah one more thing donít hire people off of craigslist whatís the matter with you

Date created: 2018-09-06 Name: Kimberly Hicks
Location: West Virginia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk"
I have had this unit for 5 years and have yet to go one year with out having a service call we have replaced the blower motor now the coil needs replaced we have been waiting on nordine for over a mont now to send I'm ready to get a lawyer r8gd ppg3gd series
Date created: 2018-07-15 Name: sharon
Location: Vernon, B.C.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Now the cooling system!"
A brand new, 4-ton unit was put in, in 2011, costing $6000 (Canada). This past winter, we had a new compressor put in when the heating unit failed, costing over $1,100, and now the cooling system has failed. We are advised to replace the whole unit. Disgusting.
Date created: 2018-06-29 Name: ron e fleeman
Location: Virginia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pure junk do not buy."
I purchased a air temp 2 ton unit, right away it started freezing up not working, the contractor tried to say my filter was the problem but I change it every month, when he couldn't blame it on the filter he would use some other excuse, I have had it 2 and a half years and the contractor has been here multiple times. They push their warranty 1 year labor and 10 year parts which sounds good. But every time they come out after that year it will cost you anywhere from 300 to 600 dollars service call. The contractor just replaced the compressor 1 month ago and it froze up again. He came out said the compressor was bad again. So he charged me 400 dollars to replace the compressor that was under warranty now he wants another 400 dollars to replace the one he just replaced. He says it is not his fault the other compressor was bad. Please do your homework and read reviews and talk to reputable HVAC companies about air temp. And do not use a contractor that does all kinds of work. Only use a certified HVAC dealer. Another problem I had was the contractor did construction work too and the last time the compressor went out he said it would be 2 weeks before he could get to it because he was so busy and the temps on some of those days was in the 90'S. I can't express enough that fact do not use a contractor that does construction and HVAC work. I am having this piece of crap removed and replaced.
Date created: 2018-02-14 Name: margaret brenneman
Location: Pennsylvania

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible noise"
The outside part makes so much noise my neighbors are complaining, it does not do this unless it is below 32 degrees. Had a blanket installed, did not help. Never ever will by another. As soon as I save enough money it is going to the scrap yard.
Date created: 2018-01-11 Name: Donna Potter
Location: Virginia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"JUNK"
We built had a new modular home built in 2014 by Clayton Homes. They installed the Norydne 4 ton heat pump in September 2014 once the house was sent. On January 4th 2018 we started having problems. Call a technician and found out the coil was busted. Had to replace. With a span of less than 4 years this product is not worth the cost. Was only given a one year parts warrant Piece of junk
Date created: 2017-12-24 Name: Trish Bell
Location: Kentucky

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Piece of junk"
We replaced a 17 year old unit (different brand) with this piece of crap 6 years ago. This company must know the average length of their units because 1 year after the warranty expires we get to replace the unit. Even better 4 days before Christmas. Will never own another Nordyne product! Save your money and but another brand!
Date created: 2017-12-14 Name: Jerry Benning
Location: Flowery Branch, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible unit"
I wish I had never purchased this piece of crap. The service man lives at my house because as soon an he gets it operating another thing happens and he has to reset it. This is not what anyone wants. They need to stand behind their product and replace it if they put a 10 year warranty on it. A real piece of crap. My unit is a model ft4bf-024ka and b4vm-x24k-b
Date created: 2017-08-01 Name: t. fortson
Location: Elberton, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heat pump"
Heat pump installed 2010. had trouble every year. Either heat or air conditioning. Had to put Freon in twice I know because of coils rubbing together. This last time it was going to cost to much for me to get fixed and still have a unit that would still give me trouble. I even wrote the Nordyne company to let them know how much trouble I was having. They did nothing!!!!!! I just got a new unit, but not Nordyne
Date created: 2017-05-14 Name: Edwin
Location: Virginia

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Grate"
It looks like a lot of people are hiring unqualified technicians to do installations. I have used them for 20 years, never any major issues. The equipment is not going to perform when it is not installed correctly and by the way Nordyne make a whole lot of part for all kindles of brands. Chances are you using Nordyne and you don't even know it, so now what your talking about before your bad mouth equipment's you know nothing about flow right plumbing heating inc.
123Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2019 furnacecompare.com