home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of MAYTAG heat pumps

Popularity:
#40  of 80 brands of heat pumps

38% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 50 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    29

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2016?

Read more about MAYTAG heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2012-06-17 Name: Loyal Cook
Location: Austin, Tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty is not worth reading"
I have a 5 ton heat pump that Maytag will not stand by the warranty. Do not buy this heat pump. It is not possibe to get warranty work done and the people at Maytay just give you the run around. This was a $9,000 loss. I hve to junk the unit and start over. Never again will I deal with maytag.



Date created: 2012-04-17 Name: Heating Contractor
Location: North Carolina
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"HVAC contractor"
I was a heating and air conditioning contractor who installed Maytag for seven years there warranty department went belly up trying to get warranty on these machines we have installed is a living nightmare. Maytag will not give you the time of day if your not selling there product. I believe they should stand up to the plate for all the customers and honor there warranties. I Would not recommend Maytag hvac to any customer.


Date created: 2012-03-15 Name: PAUL LECLAIRE
Location: St-Jean, Qc
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst in the Industry I Suppose"
This heat pump is extremely noisy when cycling. The compressor is also very noisy when cold. I had 3 other heat pumps with other houses but this one is the worst. On top of it, the contractor who installed it is now out of business and neither Nordyne or Maytag seems to care. Next move is lawyer. They say its the best but to that is all marketing hype.


Date created: 2012-02-04 Name: macon2007@gmail.com
Location: South Carolina
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Contractor Lacks Intgerity"
As a distributor of Maytag Heating & Air Conditiong equipment with 30 years experience selling many other different brands of equipment in the hvac industry I can attest Maytag is a top quality piece of equipment. Weather you are looking for an ac, Gas Furnace, Heat Pump, Packaged Unit, or oil Furnace they have the best warranty in the market..bar none. The best warranty !!! Maytag does not lack integrity, but many contactors do. Mr. Lanman, a contractor who takes 3 years to find a leak is not one I would ever use. There are so many tools available in the industry to check for leaks. It should be found on the first visit, by a properly trained service technician. Why would they refill the system without first finding and fixing the leak ??? Maytag offers a 12 years parts warranty...why wasn't your coil/or replaced by the contractor Mr. Lanman, if it could not be repaired. Maytag would have provided your contractor a new part at no charge. Sounds like your contractor is pulling the wool over your eyes. Mr. Lanman, your contractor may lack knowledge or intergity, don't you think? I biggest problem our industry faces is not faulty or badly designed equipment, but equipment that is not installed or serviced properly. Improperly installed equipment by improperly trained contractors accounts for 90% of consumer problems but consumers always blame the equipment mannufacturers 1st. Bad contractors cause 90% of the problems Research your contactor and get references from other customers. Get references from his recent customers and customers who had work done several years ago by him. Maytag has the best warranty and support in the industry and they "do right", every time. Often when a contactor doesn't know what they are doing they like blame the equipment and the manufacturers .Highly educated american engineers design this equipment. The question you should be asking is, "is the guy installing or servicing my system properly trained to do so".


Date created: 2012-02-02 Name: Jeff Lanman
Location: Indiana
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Maytag Proves They Lack Integrity"
Just found out that the small refrigerant leak in our Maytag heat pump is from a know faultily designed part. Maytag changed the part design but never recalled the part. Our local hvac company each year refilled the system and looked for the leak and finally found the leak after three years of sub-par performance. The part was only under a one year warranty so even though Maytag knew they had a problem they just pushed the problem on to me and my hvac provider. Looks my hvac provider has more integrity than Maytag since they replaced the part on their dime (3-4 hours labor alone!). Maytag refused to provide the parts and labor. As far as Maytag - never again unless they prove their commitment to 'do right'. Isn't that what we ask our kids to do, 'do right'? Come on Maytag prove your values.


Date created: 2011-07-08 Name: richard nimmo
Location: phoenix az.
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Richard Nimmo"
Bought this 4 ton 13 sheer unit less than 2 years ago they had to work on it last year and it quit this week , now they tellme it needs to be replaced. but the insurance company that handles the warranty is bankrupt.this unit quit on monday here in phoenix az. a 110deg, day average and they still dont have a answer for me.the installers is working on it . but tell me it will be replaced with the same type of junk.and dont know at whos cost. i still owe 3,000 on the old unit.


Date created: 2011-07-07 Name: cary
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pleased"
3 units in 3300 sq ft house..NO PROBLEMS


Date created: 2011-04-16 Name: Hank
Location: Kitty Hawk
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Loving it"
I installed this unit in late 2007 replacing a 9 yr old Trane on the Outer Banks. We deal with a alot of corrosion out here and even to much for the spinning fin coils to handle. Replaced condensing coil twice on my Trane due to bad leaks. Installed a 2 1/2 ton maytag which includes stainless steel cabinet which looks pretty sharp. Installer also added zinc on copper lines to help with corrosion. So far not a single problem and very reasonalble utility bills.


Date created: 2011-03-28 Name: jr
Location: nc
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great system"
Bought my 15 seer 3 ton package heat pump in 2008. Unit is extremly quite and have had no issues with performance as of now. Best bang for your buck.....


Date created: 2011-03-06 Name: T. Tuckins
Location: NC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pleased"
Unit is 3 yrs now and not one problem. Very reliable unit and almost makes electricity.LOL

<< Previous1234Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com