home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of GOODMAN heat pumps

Popularity:
#49  of 80 brands of heat pumps

28% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 649 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    162
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    23
  • Neutral
    18
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    29
  • Very Unsatisfied
    417

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2016?

Read more about GOODMAN heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2013-08-23 Name: Rodney Michael Thornhill
Location: Martinsville

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I Love Goodman"
I am an HVAC/R Tech/Installer. I take pride in my work. If you get a bad installer you will have problems. The new R410a unit must be installed using dry nitrogen while brazing the copper lines together. So many half-ass installers don't do this. This prevents black partials from building up in the lines. If that happens, the TXV's will clog up. What this means is, they will need to be replaced. These valves are bolt on and if they were removed and not reinstalled properly then yes, you will have leaks. However, the same goes for any brand. All units have the same internal parts.



Date created: 2013-07-10 Name: Elaine Burnette
Location: halifax, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nothing But Trouble"
Our Goodman heat pump was purchased in 2009 and in less than 4 years, we have had 4 parts replaced and maintenance 6-8 times. This has cost us quite a bit of money to pay the maintenance fees. The parts are under warranty, but not maintenance charges.


Date created: 2013-04-12 Name: dennis

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My goodman is great"
I am HVAC tech/installer ... I have a 3 ton Goodman heat pump with a hydraulic coil installed two years ago and has never skipped a beat. People have to realize its 410a not r22 anymore and many more precautions have to be taken during installation. all my units installed air leak tested at 400psi for 24 hours and are brought to a vacuum under 400 microns. No complaints if itís done right.


Date created: 2013-04-02 Name: G SANCHEZ
Location: SAN ANTONIO TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Reviews"
It is human nature to let everyone know when something has gone wrong, but when something good is done, you hardly ever hear about it. as an electrical & hvac contractor I come across improper installation 90% of the time. The fact that you are blaming goodman to be a bad product is wrong. The same compressor, fan motor, and circuit boards on a goodman are the same in a trane, carrier, rheem, and etc. And yes there will be some defected ones as all mass produce products have. I have installed a large amount of goodman and amana with very little defects. I am more then sure if the unit fails prematurely, 90% of the time was caused by improper installation. Every aspect has to match for the unit to fully function correctly which include tonage size, return air size, supply duct size, copper line installation, and the most over looked item is the electrical size of your service.


Date created: 2013-03-30 Name: C.Burrill
Location: concord va

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman heat punps"
I have been installing hvac units for 10+ years. Goodman units are good, most of these problems sound like they are from poor installations. Ive had a Goodman in my house for 11 years and have not had any of these problems.


Date created: 2013-03-28 Name: K Phillips
Location: philadelphia TN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy goodman"
5 ton unit is five years old. Extremely noisy right from the crate. Several freon leaks over the five years. Dead cold of winter compressor is out. Repair is replacing with a new unit in the morning.


Date created: 2013-03-27 Name: B Hill

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman is the WORST!"
Horrible customer service reps, leaks freeon evey couple of months, total junk!!!! Don't buy GOODMAN.....Go with Trane!


Date created: 2013-03-16 Name: G. Flatt
Location: Cookeville, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Guess what tore up again."
Have unit that is two years old and has been worked on four or five times due to Freeon leaking. The first time was due to improper installation. The next time the technician blamed it on bad copper line. I gave him the benefit of the doubt. This past summer with 100 degree weather the relay switch went out. Problem fixed again. Now the coil is leaking Freeon and has to be replaced. The heating and cooling owner says the part is under warranty but here is the best part. No one in Tennessee has the part. They found one out of state and guess who gets to pay the shipping on it. Me. The owner told me l could wait six to eight weeks for Goodman to make the coil. This product is a total joke. I would never recommend this product.


Date created: 2013-03-11 Name: Adam P
Location: Birmingham

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Please don't ever buy this piece of junk!"
I had my Goodman heat pump installed in 2010. Since then the compressor has gone out twice and the coil once. Yesterday, something else went out and I'm having to call in another technician. This morning I called Goodman to see if they would assist on the labor and they were extremely rude and not one bit helpful. Please do not ever buy this piece of crap!


Date created: 2013-03-08 Name: BRIANO
Location: Southern WV

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"You'll just do not understand"
I am a hvac Tech. for a property management company and work on/repaired multiple brand heat pumps,gas/electric furnaces,& condensing units for over 14 years.Those persons who were told that they had a leak, (unfortunately)aren't aware that the installer made the connections were 90%+ of leaks are found. Proper sizing and install are the key to longevity and efficiency of any brand system so before you go with the lowest bidder or supposed best equipment, check their references. Compressors, condenser/evap. Coils & reversing valves rarely fail when installed correctly.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com