home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of GOODMAN heat pumps

Popularity:
#48  of 80 brands of heat pumps

28% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 647 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    162
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    23
  • Neutral
    18
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    29
  • Very Unsatisfied
    415

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2016?

Read more about GOODMAN heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1011121314151617181920212223242526272829Next >>

Date created: 2010-12-14 Name: John H.
Location: Kansas

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Works well"
After my 5 year old Trane heat pump died(right before a very cold spell). I had it replaced with a Goodman. Aire Serv of Kansas City did a great job on the install and it went right to work. When the temperature dropped to 3 degrees it worked like a champ. 5 failures with the Trane in 5 years was enough. Warranty can't be beat, especially when you purchase the Goodserve plan. 10 years parts and labor.



Date created: 2010-12-13 Name: j ray
Location: tenn

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Xxxxxxxx"
5 yrs & 3 months old. fan motor went out last winter. cost me $135.00 in labor. gas leak in nov.cost $188.00. leak in coil, new coil estimate $1200.00. when temp. goes below 25 degs. unit will not keep house worm.


Date created: 2010-12-07 Name: N. Hughes
Location: Mt. Juliet, Tennessee

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Three ton 15 Seer Heat Pump"
Built a new home in 2008-2009.Had a 3 ton 15 Seer Heat Pump installed. Immediately began having multiple problems with it and many, many service calls.Had difficulty in getting anyone at Goodman to respond to emails, phone calls and letters.Finally got a response and they replaced the HVAC unit at no cost to us in Feb. 2010. In June 2010 had our first major failure of the second Goodman unit we had just had installed in Feb. 2010. That was the failure of a factory placed soldier joint in the suction line field port. That cost us $ 668.95.Asked Goodman to reimburse us since the unit was less than 6 months old and clearly the problem was caused by a factory defect. They refused. Now having more issues with unit making a loud noise, sounds like it is laboring and almost repetitively moaning. The unit runs almost continuously. We have an insulated concrete house with R-56 value in the walls and that amount of insulation should not require a unit to run continuously. Our neighbors units do not run continuously and they do not have the added insulation that we have in our house. Our heating bills last winter were extremely unreasonable for the type of house we have and probably were that way because the unit almost never shuts off. The first unit was that way as well and before it was carted off to the junk yard, would run, stop, start up again before the fan blade even had a chance to stop turning.We are awaiting a response from Goodman as to what they are going to do about this second unit. If anyone is willing to pursue a class action suit, we are very willing to join. Word of caution to anyone considering purchasing a Goodman, do not even consider it unless you want to see your HVAC man regularly and pay very high repair bills and have high electric bills. Piece of junk.


Date created: 2010-12-01 Name: Bud Pope

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Problems from the start!!!!"
We installed a Goodman heat pump 4 years ago and had problems with leaking coils right from the start and now I have been informed that I need a new compressor. So much for saving money, I will now spend more than I have saved.


Date created: 2010-11-29 Name: Dom
Location: Middle Tennessee

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3.5 ton 13 seer heat pump"
Ok not to sound like a broken record we have(had) 2 3.5 ton heat pumps by goodman both needed freon this summer as they wouldnt cool. Laast week one had the compressor die due to leak down again. Tech came out unit was empty of freon again. Tech said these units are know in the industry for leaking inside coils. our electric bills for heating and cooling have risen steadily for three years with no changes other then the garbage working less efficent. They are horrendous with the noise the generate. What good is a five year warranty that you pay for labor and freon not only refiling but draining if they have to replace the coil. I was quoted $650-800 each to repair as the second one was low on freon again. So looking at that kind of bill we opted to buy two new Trane 14 seer units get the 1500 federal rebate and eat the additional I anticipate the units paying for themselves in two yearsthey have 10 year warranty on the compressors and 5 years on all the other parts. DONT BUY THIS TRASH


Date created: 2010-11-23 Name: mike williams
Location: Ames ia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mike Williams"
Had put in Goodman Heat pump with 95% 70k 3ton drive. Best Thing I ever did. 10 Year parts warranty free... Make sure installers know what there doing lots of problems could have been fixed or prevented by installing correctly.


Date created: 2010-11-22 Name: Dave E
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"This system amazes me..all the way to the bank"
This is the 1 year anniversary of our system. I can't figure out the negative comments in here. It has to be the professional installation. I have just finished reviewing my costs over the past 12 months compared to the previous 12 months. My heating/cooling costs have fallen dramatically. Actually the technician who installed it said that the unit would pay for itself within 10 years. That was the only thing he was wrong about. It is 60% paid now with the savings in just one (1) year. I'm nearing senior status and retiring and have some comfort both warmth wise and financially having installed this unit. Actually I'm in the process of building a cottage and this is a no brainer. Another unit going in there also! And that will be Goodman also! Just simply a great product.


Date created: 2010-11-19 Name: Paul Coleman
Location: Scappoose, Oregon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman Heatpump Reversing valve failure first cold weather"
I installed a goodman heatpump in 1995 and have had no issues except a capacitor. I built a new house and decided to stay with Goodman. While checking out the system the first day, the reversing valve stuck in center position when changing from heat to A/C. I poured hot water on the valve and it switched to A/C. Unit worked fine until temp dropped in 30's and during defrost reversing valve stuck again. Internet sale. Not happy.


Date created: 2010-11-16 Name: Laura
Location: South Daytona

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Laura A."
I am somewhat dissatisfied. I have had the unit 11.6yrs. It ran hard in the summer and rarely in the winter. I have had 5 service calls the last three in the last 6months. I have spent several hundred dollars. The compressor, the coils the fan the freon what ever they think to charge me for. So I decided to replace unit. Not with a goodman.


Date created: 2010-11-15 Name: Darla Dishman
Location: Pall Mall, Tn

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Model #GPH1536M41"
The unit was installed on 9-25-09 and had a bad reversing valve. It vibrated terribly until Jan. 15 of 2010 when the valve was replaced. Goodman sent me a check for @460.00 to cover the additional electric bills but refused to replace the unit - I did pay for a new unit, not one that had vibrated for 3 months. I had to have the unit repaired again last spring when I turned the A/c on because it had vibrated away from the house. Today is 11/14/2010 and the repairman ordered my new motor today! Evidently this was another defective part that was on this unit. The warranty does cover parts but not labor and aggravation.

<< Previous1011121314151617181920212223242526272829Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com