home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of GIBSON heat pumps

Popularity:
#62  of 80 brands of heat pumps

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 85 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    60

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2016?

Read more about GIBSON heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345678Next >>

Date created: 2010-07-01 Name: John C.
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"JPC"
Have a Gibson hp with gas back-up for the heat side. In year 3, had freon leaks outside. Now in yr 5, another leak. HVAC tech found and repaired another outside leak, then did a leak check on the coil in the air handler. He found a large leak in the center of the coil which can't be repaired. He said that a lot of manufacturers began making the coils and tubes thinner for efficiency in the heat transfer. He cited a study by Trane that found that "off-gassing" of formaldehyde products used in new home construction actually causes or hastens the damage to thin coils and tubes, causing leaks to the coil. Since my unit is 5+ years old, I'm out of warranty on the coil. He's telling me $1200-1800 for a new coil with the labor! This unit was recommended by the homebuilders HVAC guy when asked what he thought about going with a gas FWA system VS a HP system with elec. back up. My budget can't afford this!



Date created: 2010-06-28 Name: R. J.
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not Too Pleased"
Live in Omaha, NE. First experience with a heat pump. Had this unit for 4 years. Unit was very quiet and I was pretty satisfied. I noticed this Spring that the unit was running but not cooling. Guess what it is, a bad compressor. Same story as most everyone else here. The thing is, I have emergency electric heat for this unit on the inside so this probably went out during the winter and I did not notice. I am not happy. The installer was my brother who has over 25 yrs experience doing these and he was surprised about the failure. Friends at distributor recommended this unit too. Guess, I should have googled for reviews rather than listen to friends in the industry.


Date created: 2010-05-13 Name: C. Vance
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Experience"
We had this unit less than 2 years when the compressor went out. We had it replaced and within a week the compressor went bad again. The company that installed the unit was not very helpful and drag their feet when it came to getting us the information about the manufacturer. We are still attempting to get our warranty fulfilled and it has been 6 wks already. We are inclined to purchase another unit from a company that has a good reputation. Even if Gibson honors the warranty, we will probably have to replace it in another 2 years.


Date created: 2010-04-19 Name: K. Smith
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GIBSON JUST DOESN'T LAST"
We babied this unit that came with our modular home (regular maintenance, filters once a month, et al) and it literally fell apart on us after only 5 years. The tech charged us over $600 to try and fix and recharge it. Now, they are whining that r-22 is no longer usable (the price for it is sky high). I believe that air conditioning manufacturers are going the same as computer manufacturers in as much as the unit is outdated 5 minutes after you buy it. We'll never get another Gibson.


Date created: 2010-04-13 Name: J.B.
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Gibson heatpump review"
This Gibson 2.5 ton, 13 seer heat pump is two years old. So far, the compressor went out, and now the coil is leaking. In the first three months of 2010, we have been unable to use this equipment for heat or A/C for a total of 5 weeks, soon to be 6 weeks. It is a lemon and the best solution would be for a total refund. It came with a 5 year parts/ 1 year labor warranty. The labor costs far exceed the value of the unit.


Date created: 2010-03-21 Name: Mike Kraus
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Noisy Heat Pump"
Have yet to have a service call with the Gibson heat pump. Biggest complaint is that it is so noisy. You cannot carry on a conversation in the general vicinity of the compressor unit because of the noise. The noise in the guest bedroom next to the compressor certainly limits the number of days guests are willing to stay!!!!


Date created: 2010-03-04 Name: Robert Bird
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BAD HEAT PUMPS"
It was installed in summer 2007. House was vacant for 1 1/2 years. Now the valve in compresser is stuck.


Date created: 2010-02-18 Name: K. Ander
Location: Central Texas
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Can't deal with the cold"
Just had heat pump installed to replace a 10 year old model that died. This unit stops providing heat when the temp falls below 30 degrees. Thankfully my home has '92 Ruud workhorses that allowed us to stay warm. Want to replace another Ruud unit with an energy efficient model, don't think it will be another Gibson. The jury is still out on how this Gibson will deal with the Central Texas summer.


Date created: 2010-02-16 Name: Brett M.
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Avoid Gibson At All Costs!!!!!"
Nothing more to say than it's junk. It didn't help that the guy who installed was a clown. Avoid Gibson and Kerr Heating and Cooling in Kosciusko, MS.


Date created: 2010-02-07 Name: Jackie Burks
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Verry satisfied"
Very happy. The difference in good & bad units are who you buy it from and the service and if they will take care of you on any unit. All units has the same component.

<< Previous12345678Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com