home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Daikin heat pumps

Popularity:
#38  of 82 brands of heat pumps

37% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 29 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    10
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    16

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2016?

Read more about Daikin heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
123Next >>

Date created: 2017-03-22 Name: Bob
Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"More Than Happy"
We replaced our old noisy Trane. We did not get a new Trane as The one we put at the ranch was poorly manufactured and Trane blamed it on the installers. The installers did not weld on the evaporator and put buckshot on it. Brand new unit...Leaked. Trane does not stand by their warranty. We instead settled on a Daiken. We have been very pleased with it. You never know when it is running as it is so quiet. I can even change settings using my phone. The whole home stays comfortable now with no cold areas. I highly recommend Daikin. They own Goodman and Amana.



Date created: 2017-01-19 Name: L. Can
Location: Winter Park, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Run fast away from this brand!!!"
Nothing but problems...


Date created: 2017-01-18 Name: d madge
Location: Somerset, England [UK]

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a load of crap"
We had the system installed by our housing group [Yarlington]. During the first year Daikin was here every week so-called "sorting it out" [big no no]. It was then summer so heat not required. Since then the housing group have been out almost every month so-called "sorting it out" and resetting it. Every guy that turns up has their own ideas as to how to set it up. They even contradict one another over how to set it up every time they fail. My thoughts are the group that had it installed are getting a back hander from the government under the EU energy council.


Date created: 2016-10-11 Name: Jonathan
Location: Wilmington, DE

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Awesome system!"
Had a dual head ductless system installed! More features than I was hoping for! Fantastic warranty coverage and excellent installation by our Daikin Specialists!. No problems with the unit after a hot summer and lots of use and it cools the house quickly and quietly. I am looking forward to using it during the winter!


Date created: 2016-05-02 Name: Adriana
Location: Auckland, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy"
My heat pump/AC stopped working after 6 years. The heat pump wasn't heavily used. It was used for heating only for 6-7 months a year for a maximum of 8 hours a day. Filters were cleaned 3-4 times a year. Really poor quality, I wouldn't recommend this brand of heat pump to anyone.


Date created: 2016-02-12 Name: Steve Harlow
Location: Roanoke, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Warranties"
The warranties posted for Daikin on this site are inaccurate. All of their unitary (conventional) systems have a 12-year warranty on all parts. They also have replacement warranties of the entire unit of 12 years or 6 years depending on the model. Most of the ductless systems have a 12-year parts warranty as well, though some of the less efficient models do revert to 10 years. These systems are superior to most mainstream brands in every aspect and the manufacturer stands behind the consumer in the case of inappropriate or undesirable performance by the dealers. This Quality Pledge is in writing and is real.


Date created: 2016-01-25 Name: Michael Danagher
Location: Winter Park, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"4MX32 Daikin's Multi-Split System"
I purchased this system when our house was renovated due to new Florida hvac codes. It seemed that the 4mx32, Daikin's multi-split system, might be an effective solution. It worked well for a little over a year and when it failed, the local Daikin approved service can not fix it. I'm in at $1,500 in labor and still the unit is completely inoperable. It appears that Daikin tech support will only give out replacement part numbers when they force the local Daikin-approved hvac service tech to go through a complex debug process, which for a consumer is very costly. Nor is Daikin responsive to their customers other than a customer service rep that has no authority to actually help. They shield all Daikin managers from their customers. 4-25-16 UPDATE: System finally operating (crossed fingers!). Total labor costs were $2,022.00 Yet another leak test found one evaporator failed only after year and a half service (placed in service date 3-11-14). Daikin to date has only offered to send a service tech to see if the unit is operating. Please spend the money on an extended warranty with labor included if you purchase Daikin products! Daikin letter to Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services: "Daikin prides itself on being a customer-oriented company." I've never spoke to a direct Daikin technical or regional sales manager. They completely shield themselves from actual "customers". The one appointment that I was told would happen, the Daikin guy went to a trade show instead. You only get to speak to your local HVAC guy that reps Daikin or their "consumers" affairs department. That's the extent of their "customer-oriented" relationship. Note: All defective/manufactured deficient parts were replaced under warranty. But, the Daikin technical support has to approve the parts to be replaced before it can be done... plan to wait and pay for more service calls. Service reps don't carry spare "Daikin" parts on their truck. Every issue identified requires a return trip to install and retest the system. PS: The evaporator coil leak had to be "approved", otherwise I would have been responsible for the coil (I have pictures... leak before the coil bend, in the coil no possible access to homeowner).


Date created: 2015-12-12 Name: Nancy O'Fraley
Location: Eugene, OR

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Daikin Heat/AC & pump"
The negative aspects with this heater is that it is humid air, so you have to use the dehumidifier or you can end up with sweat on walls, bathroom toilet tank and closets. The air from the dehumidifier is ice cold so when it's needed most, it's too cold. It's in an older apartment with high ceilings and painted plywood. For heat on normal fan and direction settings, the last three feet of space from floor up doesn't heat well. Now, I have the heated air directed at the floor. Then I'm able to reduce the temperature by 4-5 degrees and the amount of clothing I needed. I don't use the fan for heat. Using the night setting - it stays warmer without fan. With these few tips it's wonderful!


Date created: 2015-12-07 Name: Sam
Location: Longview, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality"
Purchased this unit on a new building. There are problems constantly with electronic boards. Coil has been repaired 2 times. Now I am told the coil needs to be replaced but it is cheaper to just buy a new unit. It's 4 years old and having to buy a whole new unit? Very poor quality.


Date created: 2015-07-26 Name: C. Donn
Location: Australia

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Daikin unreliable"
Expensive 15k unit broke down just out of warranty (fan motors and main circuit board). The repair was 3k, parts not available and had to be imported. There was a 2 week wait during a heat wave with 45 degree C plus temperatures. Just over a year later, it has gone again. Unit is not 7 years old. The unit never coped in extremes of temperature in Australia. Don't believe reliability hype. Previous unit was a Mitsubishi Electric which worked for 17 years without a glitch.

123Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com