Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of COMFORT-AIRE heat pumps

Popularity:
#61  of 84 brands of heat pumps
23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 13 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    3
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    10
best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2018?

Read more about COMFORT-AIRE heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2019-03-31 Name: Dean Hann
Location: Nova Scotia

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible mini splits!!!"
Bought two mini-splits had them installed by the contractor and nothing but trouble since. Fan motors, remotes not working and doing weird things. My first heat pump was a Fujitsu 14 years not a hitch. The old saying goes you get what you pay for so please pay a little more and learn from my mistakes.

Date created: 2019-02-18 Name: Luther Kurrass
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Comfort Aire Inverter Flex"
Unit kept shorting out had a bad compressor and all boards burnt out. Got a patched up repair and the same thing happened. The manufacturer has refused to stand by the warranty and will not fix it. They do not stand behind their product. Do not use this company!
Date created: 2019-02-14 Name: Andy Johnson
Location: Cape Cod, MA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Excellent Machine"
This unit has kept my house very warm all winter with sub-freezing temperatures. Works great if you install it correctly
Date created: 2019-01-24 Name: Andy Czymbor
Location: Frankenmuth, MI

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Comfot-Aire 5 head Mini-Split"
Had this unit installed last spring by B&S Heating. The amazing thing about this unit is the ability to only heat the rooms used. Our highest utility bill gas and electric were $113.00 for the summer and we had it cooler than we did with the central air unit it replaced. Our boiler broke down at the beginning of the heating season and I was very glad we had the heat pump. It kept us warm and was cheaper to run(down to mid 30's) than the boiler because we only heated the living area and 1 of three bedrooms. It cost more to install but it will pay for itself in 6-8 years and is well worth it.
Date created: 2018-11-24 Name: Cindy
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nothing but problems"
We are now on our 3 or 4 computer board. Cannot trust the furnace to travel in the winter for more than a day without concern for pipes freezing. The company gives a local party that sold it Grief. They do provide new computer boards. They have strung it past our warranty of course. We are facing getting another and different furnace. Our old Tetco lasted 20 years.
Date created: 2018-07-19 Name: C. Fawcett
Location: Moncton, NB

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crap product with zero accountability"
Our first mini-split came broken. The second broke within a year. There is no option to buy parts and fix it. Our installer couldn't even return the first one that arrived broken. What kind of crap company is that? Do not waste your time and money giving this company a shot. Buy a more expensive option that will last, from a company that will service their product and give a warranty of protection.
Date created: 2018-04-29 Name: f moore
Location: Newfoundland, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy"
Garbage mini split system, 2 year old system, motor stopped working.
Date created: 2017-06-07 Name: Martha
Location: Madison, WI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Loud & inefficient"
We bought two of these heat pumps at Menards last summer. We had them professionally installed. Both broke down during the winter, and we had them repaired. Turns out they don't perform well at temperatures below freezing. This summer the hum is so loud it's driving us mad and the neighbors are calling to complain the can't sleep at night. These Comfort Aire heat pumps were a huge waste of money.
Date created: 2016-11-18 Name: Nancy zinck
Location: Lunenburg, n.s.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"EEV defective"
We called for service and were told it might be leaking gas. They checked it, and it wasn't leaking. This cost us $300.00. Then, we were told it's probably the eev not working. Were told the part would be covered under the warranty, however the labour would be approx. $600.00. So, we would definetely not recommend this brand, a Kerr "comfort Air". Shop around....the unit is only 1 year old.
Date created: 2016-08-22 Name: T. McDonald
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Cowards that hide behind voicemail box!"
Blower motor that was noisy from day 1 failed after 2 1/4 years. "No you don't have a 5 year warranty. Only 18 months." Replaced it for $1,100 and 4 months later, problems again. Turns out the controller board has had at least 3 "upgrades" to solve problems with ECM motor controls. Now I have to replace the controller board (that they needed 3 tries to get right) for $500 plus installation and original service call. So after about $2,000 dollars, I hope they have fixed their design and manufacturing problems. Factory wont return calls (Voicemail). They are chickensh#t. Won't stand behind their products. How many thousands of dollars have consumers spent to fix their problems? Must be staggering.
12Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2019 furnacecompare.com