home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of CARRIER heat pumps

Popularity:
#44  of 80 brands of heat pumps

32% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 200 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    55
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    10
  • Neutral
    6
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    10
  • Very Unsatisfied
    119

best product icon  What are the Best Heat Pumps for 2016?

Read more about CARRIER heat pumps

Read reviews of other Heat Pump brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011121314Next >>

Date created: 2011-12-29 Name: S DYER
Location: MARTINSBURG WEST VIRGINIA
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Repairs cost mounting"
September 2005 house new installed 2 units 2 1/2 ton and 5 ton heat pumps. 2008 small unit evaporator went out carrier warrantied the part but labor,freon, evack and recharge cost me 320.00. January 2010 large unit evaporator went out carrier warrantied the part again but this time labor,freon,evack and recharge cost me 410.00. December 2011 on the large unit the compressor is gone, its now out of warranty, to repair technician says its 1800.00 for new compressor, freon, evack, recharge, and his labor. Now I ask you does this sound like carrier is a quality product or not! What a nightmare! If carrier thinks they have quality products why don't they back them 100 percent with a parts and labor warranty. To me with all I've been through with this, carrier quality is third rate, carrier warranty is third rate, carrier parts used is third rate probably from Vietnam but they will probably tell you made in USA but then if you read all of this, you would come to the conclusion yeh they will tell you anything just to pacify you to buy there products. Buyer beware don't say I did not warn you. Never again for me as the old saying goes smart people learn from there mistakes and this is one of mine!!!!!!!!!



Date created: 2011-11-11 Name: Larry mitchell
Location: Ocala
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"It's not carrier"
I have been an a/c technician for 24 years, I own a two stage carrier heat pump (4 ton) I have found in many cases that if a problem occurs with your heat pump system it is due to your install contractor. Is your duct work sized properly? Was your line set properly evacuated? In many cases your system is not sized correctly. Quit blaming the manufacture and find a good contractor...it is a fact that most new systems use the same parts including compressors.


Date created: 2011-08-29 Name: Brad P.
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Great Unit!"
Bought an old house with new Carrier condenser heat pump and air handler and it is very nice. Cool air, low humidity, and a nice house to walk into during summer.


Date created: 2011-08-26 Name: S Maccormack
Location: Moneta Va.
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Carrier warranty cost me $1100.00 in under three years"
Carrier warranty is worth nothing when a service technician tell you this happens all the time. Their warranty covers their low quality parts and kills you with labor cost they must get a kick back from their Dealers! A heat pump in the up stairs of my house that was seldom used only 3 years old replaced both indoor and out door coils under warranty and cost me $1100.00 in labor.


Date created: 2011-08-15 Name: N. Conlen
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware"
This is the second heat pump we have had in 23 years and this is the last Carrier we will ever buy!! We have had about 2 thousand dollars in repairs in 10 years, the repairman says the insulation is dropping down and blocking the fan, that happened twice, also the relays burned out twice in 2 years and we were stuck twice now with 600.00 dollar electric bills. We also feel like this heat pump is a money pit, one that people on fixed income cannot afford!


Date created: 2011-08-01 Name: J Short
Location: Berea, KY
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lemon!"
This Carrier unit has been a disaster since day one! We have had numerous repairs and our service company has really tried, but the heat-pump is a lemon. It works in the winter but not in the summer. Most summers, it goes down in June and they work on it all summer, finally getting it fixed about September. The next summer it is down again for most of the summer. We bought back up window units to survive. Today was the last straw--needs another board (I think this makes 7-8) and a compressor plus another part. Compressor is still under warranty but still will be $1200. We are going to junk it and cut our losses -- buy a new system, but a different brand unless Carrier gives us a new one!


Date created: 2011-07-29 Name: R Buschor
Location: Laurel, MD
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Piece of jumk"
I had my unit for four years and had service calls on at least 15 times within the last 4 years. Always breaking down during peak winter months and peak summer months. The unit, which was supposed to be bigger than I need can't heat or cool my house adequately. It runs constantly, just sucking up that electricity. It just broke again during the last heat wave in 07/11, flooded my basement, a condensation drain issue. Not the first either, and I clean the stupid thing every 6 months. I expected more and got less, I paid more and got less. It took me years to talk my wife into replacing our system and probably should have left the old one.


Date created: 2011-07-21 Name: D Huggins
Location: Tampa , Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home Owner"
I have constantly had repairmen working on my unit. It seems that each time a different problem comes up: heat exchanger leaks and rusts; several condensers replaced; leaking lines, etc. Do not listen to the sales pitch on this product, it is a total loser. Trying to talk to Carrier personnel is like talking to a wall. They pass you from one person to another, hoping to discourage you from calling. never again with Carrier................


Date created: 2011-07-21 Name: M. Stephens
Location: Lima Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Quit blaming manufacturers"
Do any of you ever stop to think that all this refrigerant you guys still call freon which was only a brand name of refrigerant back in the 80's leaking out is due to what we in the HVAC field call a poor installation? Quit calling it freon they don't even make it anymore its simply refrigerant....and a system should not leak especially the coils unless improperly installed so quit blaming the manufacturers and start looking at your installer.


Date created: 2011-07-08 Name: R. Fowler
Location: Chandler, AZ
Years owned: 17

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very Reliable"
I'm not sure what model Carrier heat pump we had. It was on our house (new) when we bought it 17 years ago. We never had one minute's problem with this product, not a single service call. It finally failed a couple of weeks ago and we replaced it with another brand that was much more expensive (and "hyped"). If it turns out to be even close to as good as the Carrier was, I'll be pleased. We get temperatures of 120 here in the Arizona desert, so it had to be reliable. I'm having second thoughts about getting a different brand, that old Carrier really lasted!

<< Previous1234567891011121314Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com