Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of ClimateMaster geothermal heat pumps

Popularity:
#12  of 13 brands of geothermal heat pumps
42% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 26 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    8
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    14

Read more about ClimateMaster geothermal heat pumps

Read reviews of other Geothermal Heat Pump brands

Write a review

<< Previous123Next >>

Date created: 2018-01-20 Name: G. Plesko
Location: Chadds Ford, PA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quality Climate Master"
Poor quality First, my credentials: I am an engineering Physicist and I have written and received over 50 patents. I was director of Quality Assurance for a Multi-Billion dollar company, where I was also in charge of electronic component engineering on an international basis. I founded 2 technical companies that went public and I was Senior Principal scientist at a fortune 500 public company. About two years ago I had two Climate Master geothermal systems installed in my home. It has 5 Vertical wells and the system has a back up propane furnace and buried propane tank. The project was very expensive - on the order of 60 thousand dollars. I went with Climate Master Geothermal equipment on recommendation of a friend and because Climate Master was allegedly in the geothermal business for 50 years or so. Within the first year, two of their thermostatic control panels failed and had to be replaced. I was very disappointed in the thermostatic control pannels, not only because they were unreliable but because they were also PRIMITAVE, using black and white LCD display technology like that available in the1970’s. The Resolution, viewing angle and contrast were all poor ! And of course the failure rate was horrendously bad. I am a technical person with an advanced degree in physics and have no problem reading and writing technical literature. But guess what --- the Climate Master manuals I received were very poorly written in my opinion and didn’t cover certain basic things I needed to know. Those things were allegedly only for technical installation personnel and un-accessible to me! Critical information - Totally left out of their manuals. So I called Climate Master to get instructions on how to my set up an automatic switch over from geothermal to my back up propane furnace. ( This is Especially important during weather that fluctuates between single digit and 40 degree temperatures in the winter.) Climate Master refused to help me! Not only that but their technical service guy (I believe his name is John) was grossly rude to me. I don’t think John actually knew how his own equipment worked because my problem involved navigating their Obscure, USER-UNFRIENDLY, Non-Intuitive thermostatic control panels. When I asked to talk to his manager he said “that’s not going to happen” and hung up on me! I called customer service and complained about the rude treatment I received and asked for an apology. (I got None.) I asked Climate Master customer service for someone who could help me and they gave me the number of a distributor who said it was weird for Climate Master to refer me to them because they were only an equipment whole sale dealer, not an installer and didn’t know how to help me! Again, I Called Climate Master and this time Rude John referred me to another distributor to call who couldn’t help me either. Later I contacted the technician who had worked on my initial installation. (He no longer worked for the original installation company.) He told me he would have to come out and charge a service fee to work ( ie. poke buttons) on the thermostatic control to set it right because after 3 trys on the phone he couldn’t successfully help me navigate the control menu – and Oh yes it required simultaneously pressing service contractor combinations of buttons which didn’t work! I decided to write a letter to the CEO of Climate master describing my ugly experience with them. Guess what – Climate Master is a secretive private company. I challenge you to find out who runs this shoddy, unresponsive company that has little interest in quality or customer satisfaction. If you are looking for a geothermal system - be careful and research the company you buy from first. I suggest you find a reputable public company with good service, reliable equipment and a good reputation for quality! Needless to say Climate Master is not in that category!

Date created: 2017-10-25 Name: peter barbati
Location: Beeton, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CAREFUL WITH THIS PRODUCT"
If you read most of the reviews that are positive you will notice that most of those owners are writing about a unit that is less than 4 years of age since the install date. It's what happens after that burns your wallet. My "quality" Climatemaster product developed a valve issue at 4.5 years. The valve was covered $65 but the labor was not. As the simpletons that designed the unit chose to use a brazed in fitting rather than flanging the item, the repair took hours and cost me $700. At the 9 year mark, the fan control board stopped working and that cost me another $200 in labor. At 9 years, the motor is now giving issues and the estimate is $1600 just for the damn "not made in the U.S. or Canada" motor plus installation as the motor is only covered for 5 years. So, compressor and coil are covered for 10 years but everything else that you need to make this lemon work is only covered for a fraction of that time. No doubt the bean counters at Climatemaster calculated that the junk they use will only last xxx years and have tailored their warranty periods accordingly. So, less than 10 years into a $10,000 unit and the total repair costs will exceed 1/3 of its initial cost. I should have stuck with oil or propane. All noted costs are in Canadian dollars but you get the point. Buy something else and if anyone praises their 1-3-year- old unit, pity them for they know not what they are in for.
Date created: 2017-10-09 Name: Tina Egner
Location: Columbia Station, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"WORST PRODUCT EVER"
This company is a joke!! Less than 3 years old, broken coil and took weeks for them to acknowledge my warranty. The thermostat still doesn't work and customer service is rude!
Date created: 2017-08-21 Name: andy arledge
Location: Abilene, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Climate master sucks"
Purchase a new geotherm 6 ton unit in 2005 for our new home. 1 year into using it, our coil sprang a leak. Climatemaster after arguing agreed to replace it. 6 months. Later the compressor went out. Climate master refused to help. After hiring an attorney and my family freezing with no heat for a month, they reluctantly sent out a replacement unit, I ate the labor to replace it. 1 year later the blower motor goes out, $1,000 blower motor. There's only 1 in the nation and it took 3 weeks to get it to us in Texas, mid august 100 degrees minimum. Now 1 year later another compressor goes out and climatemaster won't pay enough labor to replace the compressor so the owner of the a/c company calls and says he won't replace the compressor. Another 100 degree august and we are sitting here sweating because climatemaster won't stand behind their products. When it works it's great, but it breaks down at least once a year and I end up eating all the labor, freon etc. they won't even return your call most of the time.
Date created: 2017-04-02 Name: CB
Location: Richmond, VA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"From Water to Heat"
I have owned this unit for just a little under a year and it is one of the best purchases I have made in awhile. I like the fact that these units are long lasting and benefit the environment more than a standard a/c unit does. They also have an overflow switch which prevents the product from encountering an error.The only thing I could think that I disliked was the cost of the product but I think I will definitely get my moneys worth in no time if I haven't already. I have never actually had to repair my unit yet thankfully and I hope that I don't have to for a few more years at least. These things seem really well built and made to last a lifetime. I would definitely buy this product again and again and anyone who is fed up with their a/c units should invest in one of these. This product is one of the greatest things since sliced bread and everyone should have one of these units in their home.
Date created: 2017-03-13 Name: JR
Location: Saxton, PA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Review of my Geothermal Heat Pump"
I have owned this unit for 2 years. I started doing some research 2 years ago when I heard that these products could save you money. It is a big investment to start, but ends up paying for itself. I like that it saves money on the electric bill. I would say that I am saving around 40%. I have never needed a repair. I would definitely recommend this product.
Date created: 2017-03-12 Name: SK
Location: New York

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Climatemaster"
After 6 years (installed in Late December 2009 - failed November 2016) the evaporator (copper air coil) on my 5 Ton unit is leaking towards the bottom between the fins. I am replacing the unit with a Hydron. Trying to get through winter by getting it recharged at $190 a pop. There you have it, the truth about climate-master and there uncaring hang up the phone customer service! There is no payback with these units that installers claim if they fail in this time period. They also claim these units are environmentally friendly. How can this be when r410a leaks into the air and is 1725x worse than co2 released into the atmosphere. I am hopeful the Hydron with an aluminum micro channel air coil with a 10 year parts/labor warranty will last 20 years. If it fails in 6 years I am reinstalling my old propane furnace as propane is now dirt cheap.
Date created: 2017-02-04 Name: RW
Location: Trinity Center, Ca

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Climatemaster review"
I recently had this unit installed in my passive-solar house. My cooling load is bigger than my heating load, due to passive solar gains, so my installer recommended 1000 feet of vertical loop. I have only had it for 2 months and it hasn't been the hottest summer ever, but I thought I'd post what I have seen so far. I am not in need of instant cold or heat, so although the TT30 has 2 stages of cool and 2 stages of heat (3 with aux) I set up the ecobee to only use stage 1 for now, which makes the 4-ton unit run roughly as a 3 ton unit. I find the cool air put out by the field to be so cold (around 55deg) that I can feel the dropped temps in the hosue within a half hour. As an example, last night the house was 80deg which is fairly hot. The system including the fan had been off the entire day. I turned the unit on at stage 1, and it reached the 75 deg setpoint in 90 minutes. The fan was set to run throughout the night and the unit never kicked on again, as the temps were fairly low outside (around 70deg). At the time the house reached 75deg, the water in temp had risen to 65deg fwiw. For me, this is perfect for deciding whether or not to even turn the unit on. Some people are looking for faster cooling (using stage 2 for, example) or needing to come home to a house that is already cool (setting the thermostat to turn on an hour earlier, for example) but with a unit running this quickly, I feel like I can save energy by just turning it on when needed, checking the outside temps and humidity, and make a game-time decision, rather than running it when not needed, or running it just because the program says to. The air conditioner it replaced (3 ton) took much longer to get the house temps and humidity down, and a very long time to even feel like it was running. But so far my electric bills have been lower, and the cooling performance much higher. I am not sure if I will see the same performance in the dead of winter, but I am anxious to find out.
Date created: 2017-01-02 Name: JM
Location: Seattle, WA

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Sufficient for the Time I've had it"
I've owned this pump for 6 months and it's done it's job for as long as I have had it, but hasn't exceeded or under performed from expectations. It does it's job and is relatively quiet. In the area I live, I haven't needed heating for the most of the time that I have had it, so the few months that I have used it it has done what it has needed to do.
Date created: 2017-01-02 Name: BH
Location: Roanoke, IN

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Climat Master Advocate"
My family was looking for a way to save money on heating expenses at home. We were looking to change something drastically to see better results not only for our home, but for our wallets. 3 years ago we made the big change to a geothermal system. Climate Master has saved us hundreds of dollars over the years. It is truly eye-opening how cost effective Climate Master has been to our family. I love that we have chosen a investment for our home that saves us more and more money each year. So far we have never had any issues with our system and have never had to replace anything. I would highly recommend for everyone to switch to this system. Not only does it make sense for our environment and energy usage, but it also will save you money in the long run. It may seem like a big investment in the beginning, but I assure you it is one that you won't regret. I love our geothermal system and am a proud advocate of Climate Master.
<< Previous123Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2018 furnacecompare.com