Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of ClimateMaster geothermal heat pumps

Popularity:
#10  of 13 brands of geothermal heat pumps
45% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 22 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    11

Read more about ClimateMaster geothermal heat pumps

Read reviews of other Geothermal Heat Pump brands

Write a review

123Next >>

Date created: 2018-07-11 Name: L. Fulton
Location: Texas

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Piece of Fecal Matter In Our Opinion"
The system has had the board, coils, etc. replaced. We added an extra loop for heat exchange. The system will not cool well and breaks if you blink. ClimateMaster is the biggest lemon I have ever purchased. It is wrong for us, and I imagine that it is wrong for many of you after reading the other reviews. Note: the above reflects our experience and opinions. Others may be different.
Find Local Contractors
1. I need a new:
2. My zip code is:

Date created: 2018-05-15 Name: Matt Ferdock
Location: Pennsylvania

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Piece of Junk"
We installed this system almost 5 years' ago, and every season since we have had major problems with it. As someone else wrote, nearly every component has been changed. The original installer no longer installs geothermal because they really screwed the pooch with this install and decided to stop offering the service before someone decides to sue them. We use an in-ground water to water loop set up. We gave up several winters ago trying to heat our house with geo. The system just could not keep up with the cold here is arctic-like south eastern Pennsylvania! We installed a propane boiler which works great. Now that the weather is heating up, the system blows only warm air. So it's down again! We are done with ClimateMaster!
Date created: 2018-03-16 Name: JW
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Complete Junk"
A new Trilogy unit in new construction. It has been broken more than it has worked. Virtually all parts have been replaced. The units are advertised as quite but they are very noisy. Fortunately the back up electric heat works, because you will need it both when the unit is not working and when you can no longer stand the noise the compressor makes. The electric bills (not including electric heat) are 5 times that which was advertised. If the house gets too warm, don't switch to cool mode or it will break. What kind of design is this? They really are a scam and should be put out of business.
Date created: 2018-03-10 Name: Sam
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total scam"
I moved into new construction and have had nothing but trouble. Almost everything in the unit had to be replaced and it is still broken more often than not. You will need to use the emergency electric heat often. Even when using the ground source heat pump, the electricity costs are 10 times what was advertised. ($450/Month and more). The technical representative admitted they have some design issues. In these "geothermal units" the compressor is inside your house which no one mentions. The vibration noise is hard to eliminate and very annoying. If you get one, plan on spending lots of money and time dealing with your service company. If you can not get a standard gas furnace and ac, at least get a standard heat pump with the compressor outside. You will never be happy with climate master. Maybe water furnace is better but I doubt it. I just know that you want to stay far away from climate master.
Date created: 2018-02-21 Name: Tim
Location: Dubuque, IA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk"
I have had my geo unit ten years and had to replace the compressor three times already. Numerous other service calls for a system that cost three times a normal heating and air conditioning unit I would not recommend there was no cost savings. I would estimate it cost me an additional $25,000. Don't buy!
Date created: 2018-02-01 Name: Johnny Walker
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk"
After spending over 30k on a whole house Geothermal unit (New Construction) I can say that of the two units one will fail every season change Climate Master is junk, 8 years old Both units have had coils replaced twice for leaking Downstairs unit has had the board replaced also Most of the hardware has been covered but not the labor, or the time required to be here for service I cannot say enough bad things about this system Does anyone know how to actually fix it? On my 3rd company now!
Date created: 2018-01-20 Name: G. Plesko
Location: Chadds Ford, PA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quality Climate Master"
Poor quality First, my credentials: I am an engineering Physicist and I have written and received over 50 patents. I was director of Quality Assurance for a Multi-Billion dollar company, where I was also in charge of electronic component engineering on an international basis. I founded 2 technical companies that went public and I was Senior Principal scientist at a fortune 500 public company. About two years ago I had two Climate Master geothermal systems installed in my home. It has 5 Vertical wells and the system has a back up propane furnace and buried propane tank. The project was very expensive - on the order of 60 thousand dollars. I went with Climate Master Geothermal equipment on recommendation of a friend and because Climate Master was allegedly in the geothermal business for 50 years or so. Within the first year, two of their thermostatic control panels failed and had to be replaced. I was very disappointed in the thermostatic control pannels, not only because they were unreliable but because they were also PRIMITAVE, using black and white LCD display technology like that available in the1970’s. The Resolution, viewing angle and contrast were all poor ! And of course the failure rate was horrendously bad. I am a technical person with an advanced degree in physics and have no problem reading and writing technical literature. But guess what --- the Climate Master manuals I received were very poorly written in my opinion and didn’t cover certain basic things I needed to know. Those things were allegedly only for technical installation personnel and un-accessible to me! Critical information - Totally left out of their manuals. So I called Climate Master to get instructions on how to my set up an automatic switch over from geothermal to my back up propane furnace. ( This is Especially important during weather that fluctuates between single digit and 40 degree temperatures in the winter.) Climate Master refused to help me! Not only that but their technical service guy (I believe his name is John) was grossly rude to me. I don’t think John actually knew how his own equipment worked because my problem involved navigating their Obscure, USER-UNFRIENDLY, Non-Intuitive thermostatic control panels. When I asked to talk to his manager he said “that’s not going to happen” and hung up on me! I called customer service and complained about the rude treatment I received and asked for an apology. (I got None.) I asked Climate Master customer service for someone who could help me and they gave me the number of a distributor who said it was weird for Climate Master to refer me to them because they were only an equipment whole sale dealer, not an installer and didn’t know how to help me! Again, I Called Climate Master and this time Rude John referred me to another distributor to call who couldn’t help me either. Later I contacted the technician who had worked on my initial installation. (He no longer worked for the original installation company.) He told me he would have to come out and charge a service fee to work ( ie. poke buttons) on the thermostatic control to set it right because after 3 trys on the phone he couldn’t successfully help me navigate the control menu – and Oh yes it required simultaneously pressing service contractor combinations of buttons which didn’t work! I decided to write a letter to the CEO of Climate master describing my ugly experience with them. Guess what – Climate Master is a secretive private company. I challenge you to find out who runs this shoddy, unresponsive company that has little interest in quality or customer satisfaction. If you are looking for a geothermal system - be careful and research the company you buy from first. I suggest you find a reputable public company with good service, reliable equipment and a good reputation for quality! Needless to say Climate Master is not in that category!
Date created: 2017-10-25 Name: peter barbati
Location: Beeton, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CAREFUL WITH THIS PRODUCT"
If you read most of the reviews that are positive you will notice that most of those owners are writing about a unit that is less than 4 years of age since the install date. It's what happens after that burns your wallet. My "quality" Climatemaster product developed a valve issue at 4.5 years. The valve was covered $65 but the labor was not. As the simpletons that designed the unit chose to use a brazed in fitting rather than flanging the item, the repair took hours and cost me $700. At the 9 year mark, the fan control board stopped working and that cost me another $200 in labor. At 9 years, the motor is now giving issues and the estimate is $1600 just for the damn "not made in the U.S. or Canada" motor plus installation as the motor is only covered for 5 years. So, compressor and coil are covered for 10 years but everything else that you need to make this lemon work is only covered for a fraction of that time. No doubt the bean counters at Climatemaster calculated that the junk they use will only last xxx years and have tailored their warranty periods accordingly. So, less than 10 years into a $10,000 unit and the total repair costs will exceed 1/3 of its initial cost. I should have stuck with oil or propane. All noted costs are in Canadian dollars but you get the point. Buy something else and if anyone praises their 1-3-year- old unit, pity them for they know not what they are in for.
Date created: 2017-10-09 Name: Tina Egner
Location: Columbia Station, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"WORST PRODUCT EVER"
This company is a joke!! Less than 3 years old, broken coil and took weeks for them to acknowledge my warranty. The thermostat still doesn't work and customer service is rude!
Date created: 2017-08-21 Name: andy arledge
Location: Abilene, TX

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Climate master sucks"
Purchase a new geotherm 6 ton unit in 2005 for our new home. 1 year into using it, our coil sprang a leak. Climatemaster after arguing agreed to replace it. 6 months. Later the compressor went out. Climate master refused to help. After hiring an attorney and my family freezing with no heat for a month, they reluctantly sent out a replacement unit, I ate the labor to replace it. 1 year later the blower motor goes out, $1,000 blower motor. There's only 1 in the nation and it took 3 weeks to get it to us in Texas, mid august 100 degrees minimum. Now 1 year later another compressor goes out and climatemaster won't pay enough labor to replace the compressor so the owner of the a/c company calls and says he won't replace the compressor. Another 100 degree august and we are sitting here sweating because climatemaster won't stand behind their products. When it works it's great, but it breaks down at least once a year and I end up eating all the labor, freon etc. they won't even return your call most of the time.
123Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2018 furnacecompare.com