Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of York furnaces

Popularity:
#29  of 93 brands of furnaces
49% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 415 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    190
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    15
  • Neutral
    7
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    16
  • Very Unsatisfied
    187
best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about York furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
<< Previous10111213141516171819202122Next >>

Date created: 2009-11-25 Name: J Litwin

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Other reviews"
I am a new owner of a York 97.7% eff furnace and was honestly shocked at the amount of negative complaints. I have done a lot of research before I purchased and found York to be the highest in eff and offers a system to keep you comfortable. In all honesty you need to have regular maintainence with any manufacturers products to keep them running like new. You wouldnt drive your car 10,000 miles without changing the oil would you? A furnace or air conditioner is just like a car they need attention. All of the brands will have similar componants that come from the same manufacturers the differences are the looks of the units, efficiencies, and performance. York is one of the oldest in the industry and has a proven track record.

Date created: 2009-11-21 Name: joe

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My impression"
I read all comments, some bad comments reposted and some good comments checked "Very Unsatified" so I leave mine for correction purpose. My impression: 1. 1st gen HE may have problem. Some parts may not be very good and repair support not enough. 2. half of the problem due to poor installer, or wrong duct, etc. 3. most problems happend when customer trust installer, of little knowledge on how to hand problems 4. York parts and customer service would be improved. Now York is absolutely leader in He furnace, network no good. Carrier is behind average in 95% HE, network very good. I followed York link to local installer yet its web simply list Carrier.
Date created: 2009-11-17 Name: S. Bell
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heat Pump"
This heat pump has given us problems from day1. I have lost count on how many compressors have been replaced, etc. The second generation contractor who advised us on this purchase, seemed knowledgeable at the time, but later we found out that he didn't even have access to the York recalls/service notices, etc. I had to hire another contractor for that! Fan wasn't operating. Called again, and the contractor expected me to walk out and check to see if the fan was turning every 20 minutes. What a joke! Scam. scam. scam.
Date created: 2009-11-10 Name: Ken Buck
Years owned: 16

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Homeowner"
I think york is the worst product on the market. We've had troubles with it from day one. First the exhaust fan, then the electronic igniters. I can't count the number of cold mornings I've gotten up to find that the furnace had shut down completely. Finally, I was told that it may be a pressure problem and I should ask the gas company to take a look at it. They tested the line and then red taged the furnace. They said it was dangerous and needed repaired or replaced.
Date created: 2009-10-08 Name: zew
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"York AC Compressor"
The compressor fail to work, I have to pay labor for $500.00. I hope this will be the last cost. Is there any recall? Can we start action law suit against york??
Date created: 2009-09-29 Name: George
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage"
My new two stage variable york is trash. It sounds like a rocket ship taking off, I can barely get the doors on, and when the guys who put it in turned it on for the first time they said my mother board was bad. I took out a two stage american standard and put in a two stage york....I Was had, and now my perfectly good old furnace is sitting in a garbage dump somewhere.
Date created: 2009-08-17 Name: Randy N
Years owned: 17

Satisfaction Rating:
4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Old unit was great, but recent reviews are a concern"
York hp installed in 1992 with new construction. a few minor things but time to replace it. I am very unhappy with the inside unit that looks like a radiator, the water that runs off and drains always smells towards the end of the summer, that inside things looks nasty from rust. The reviews are scaring me away from York, I will look for another brand.
Date created: 2009-08-10 Name: C West
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:
3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Coleman is York"
Just a note to the person who is replacing their York with a Coleman- Johnson Controls makes both products. If you are unhappy with the York furnace do not buy Coleman or Luxaire as they are all jci products.
Date created: 2009-08-09 Name: Jeff Z
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never Ever buy a York"
Put in a new, york gas furnace In December of 2002. It has been nothing but trouble. To be perfectly honest it is a piece of junk. So far we have had to replace the blower motor 3 times. So we are on our 4th blower motor (the original plus the 3 times that we replaced it). The Thermostat had to be replaced, the connector had to be replaced. Finally we had had to replace the main circuit board 2 times. In the 7 years that we have had it, we have had to have someone out to fix something every single time. They (York) know that their product in total junk which is why they either have no warranty or a very short warranty on all of their parts. Over the years we have had several different repairmen come out to fix our furnace and every single one of them says that York is the worst, and that if you want a good one you need to buy either carrier, bryant, trane, or lennox. Finally the customer service department at York is useless. Please do yourself a favor if you are looking to put a furnace or a/c in do not buy a york. You will be sorry.
Date created: 2009-08-07 Name: R Niarts
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Maximum comfort"
Never had any problems with any York product. I have had several systems in my home and business and all I can is great equipment.
<< Previous10111213141516171819202122Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2019 furnacecompare.com