home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of York furnaces

Popularity:
#28  of 89 brands of furnaces

51% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 376 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    181
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    12
  • Neutral
    7
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    14
  • Very Unsatisfied
    162

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about York furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2017-06-18 Name: John George
Location: Moline, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"bad quality"
I can not leave a -5, or I would. Unit is not five years old yet and I have spent more on repairs than the 7.5 ton unit cost me



Date created: 2017-04-06 Name: A
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrific"
If you want to fix your HVAC unit every month, buy a York, absolute garbage.


Date created: 2017-04-04 Name: Barbara Sperry
Location: Niagara Falls, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Furnace"
Absolutely wonderful young men. Very knowledgeable and professional. Polite. Very expertly done. And the York furnace is amazing. I would highly recommend J.R. Swanson and the York furnace.


Date created: 2017-03-28 Name: Reba H.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"New Install"
I like the unit because it is very quiet. I have not had it long enough to determine how much it will lower utility bills. My contractor was wonderful.


Date created: 2017-03-21 Name: Joseph

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not durable"
No problems until year 8. This year had to call in 3 different repair person on 4 different occasions to resolve different issue. First couple of times was issues with my sensors. Now I'm experiencing issues with the motherboard. There appears to be a connection that is loose. I had to bring in someone to fix this twice now. If it happens again I will need to replace the motherboard. Cost to fix this $1000. Whatever savings are obtained from energy savings is gone and probably more costly in repairs.


Date created: 2017-02-25 Name: Seth
Location: American Fork, UT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"New Unit for Broken furnace owner"
The unit has provided heat for my house now for almost a month and it feels nicer. I will have to see how much it saves in the future months to come. My installer was very courteous and quick to get the work done when my other furnace stopped working.


Date created: 2017-02-15 Name: B. Rudge
Location: Brentwood, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Brand New Unit"
We replaced our old unit (Rheem) after 10 years because it failed. We chose a York as a replacement because they offered the longest warranty on parts and labor and because it is the brand our contractor recommended. It has been installed for about an hour and is currently working great.


Date created: 2017-02-10 Name: Wendellyn Plummer
Location: Indiana

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not Impressed"
We purchased the home in December, 2016 and within two weeks the furnace shut down. After seven days the furnace shut down again. We are into this furnace for over $750.00 dollars and more to come for the part that had to be ordered. This furnace is only four years old and has had recurring problems for the past four years! I am going to do more research and then ask the company why they have not made this right.


Date created: 2016-12-24 Name: Nick
Location: Utah

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible"
I had an older furnace that worked great until something with the burner happened. I was told it was going to be a very expensive fix so I looked at getting a new furnace. We got a York because someone said they were decent or good. They were wrong. Inever had an issue with the old one till it went. This new one doesn't light the burner and it has 2 different codes that come on. 1 failure to light and something else. I have to go down into the crawl space and pull the cover off and mess with the cover switch and hold it down to light it. If it doesn't light I let off and repeat till it does. I will never buy or support this York furnace. It's garbage.


Date created: 2016-12-19 Name: Darius MG Vakili
Location: Toronto, ON CANADA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nightmare of Manufacturing"
My 6 year old York furnace leaked water and flooded my basement. The company who installed it was asking $450+tax to fix it. I opened it and I saw a nightmare of manufacturing inside. The condenser pan was made from a thin and low quality plastic which was full of cracks on it. One of the cracks was leaking water. They are asking C$99 for this piece of disaster which has not cost for manufacturer more than a dollar to make. And, why so thin and from a brittle plastic? Why not from metal or other durable material? This piece has important function and is used in a critically necessary appliance (furnace). Why so flimsy? In addition, this furnace make noise like a locomotive when working. I think customers should avoid buying it so that the manufacturer comes to its senses.

1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com