home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of TEMPSTAR furnaces

Popularity:
#52  of 88 brands of furnaces

36% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 66 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    22
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    37

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about TEMPSTAR furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous123456Next >>

Date created: 2010-11-25 Name: Randy Allers
Location: Grand rapids, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"95% Variable"
I love this furnace. It is so quiet and my home is now so comfortable. My wife and son both commented they feel a big difference in comfort. we are saving a ton of money compared to the old unit and I would recommend this Tempstar furnace to everyone



Date created: 2010-11-04 Name: R Kaminski
Location: Buffalo, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Owner"
Purchased a 2 Tempstar stage furnace in 2003, had 6 service calls. main bd or smart valve problems each time. The smart valve went bad once again on 11/2/2010 and since it is out of warranty I will have to pay $400 to repair. No one could figure out what the reason for so many problems. Even with so many service calls, Tempstar local dealers are not standing behind their product. I refuse to pay for the ongoing problems and will be looking to purchase a different furnace altogether.


Date created: 2010-04-30 Name: CF

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Tempstar web page"
I was looking for the dimensions of the furnace and some technical info. Their web is designed take your money and run concept.


Date created: 2010-03-09 Name: Gary
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tempstar Furnace is good"
Have the Tempstar 2-stage furnace and wife likes it. Runs on low a lot. Flame sensor problem once but I cleaned it myself after the serviceman showed me. Quieter than the old unit and smaller burners, 80,000 size. We like it and would not complain. Surprised at some of these guys, must have dirty house or ducts or something.


Date created: 2010-02-26 Name: G.G.
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Gus"
Stay away from the m9mp2 90% efficiency. $900 for a 15' blower change. Two times the service changed the board. Installers don't know how to deal with the intermittent stops and don't want to waste time waiting for the problems. So many variables to check, smart valve, pressure switches, control limits, pilot, etc, etc. Look for any other brand.


Date created: 2010-02-16 Name: Kerry
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Endless problems"
The motor in the furnace failed this year. Last year, it was the compressor and motor in the A/C unit. All outside of the warranty period. The year before that, it was the fan in the outside A/C unit. At this rate, I am half-way toward the cost of a reliable unit just to repair the unit I have. All of these internal component failures cannot be blamed on poor installation.


Date created: 2010-02-03 Name: Passaic Girl

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"TEMPSTAR IS THE WORST PRODUCT"
I hate Tempstar. I've had so many problems with the heating and air conditioning unit. I've called TEMPSTAR's service agents and even they can't fix it. Such crap. Tempstar does not even have a phone number on their website - they don't want to deal with you. Stay far away from Tempstar products.


Date created: 2010-02-02 Name: Paula C.
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not any good"
Had the furnace 3 years and blower had to be replaced. Just last week both heat exchangers had multi cracks in them and we had to have them both replaced and now we need to replace the blower again. Paid a lot for the furnace 90+ and the cost of contractor to replace all the parts and cost. We will have over 4000 in this junk. We have to pay for repairs. We will look for a new furnace soon. I think they make Carriers too. I will buy any brand they don't make. Be sure you check what all brand names they make before you buy... Wish I had.


Date created: 2010-01-28 Name: Paula C.
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk it"
Had the furnace 3 years and blower had to be replaced. Just last week Both heat exchangers had multi cracks on them and we had to have them both replaced and now we need to replace the blower again. Paid a lot for the furnace 90+ and the cost of contractor to replace all the parts and cost. We will have over 4000 in this junk. We have to pay for repairs. We will look for a new furnace soon. I think they make Carriers too. I will buy any brand they don't make. Be sure you check what all brand names they make before you buy... Wish I had.


Date created: 2009-12-10 Name: Dennis Lafayette
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Dennis"
I have been installing Tempstar for 11 years. My first one was installed in my mother's home. I've never had a service call. I Don't know what to think when I read so many bad reviews. I'm still selling and installing them until they let me down. 11 years works for me.

<< Previous123456Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com