Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Rheem furnaces

Popularity:
#36  of 92 brands of furnaces
44% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 108 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    40
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    8
  • Neutral
    6
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    9
  • Very Unsatisfied
    45
best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about Rheem furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2014-02-11 Name: Matthew James
Location: Cleveland, OH

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Two-stage variable 96%"
Quiet, efficient, nice looking furnace.
Find Local Contractors
1. I need a new:
2. My zip code is:

Date created: 2013-11-07 Name: J Lee
Location: E Windsor, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"35+ Years Performance on Same Ole Furnace"
I had an old olive green Rheem furnace unit that came with house when house was new construction back in the 70's, and it recently retired after 35+ years of great warm service. In fact at the time of retirement, the furnace mechanicals were all working, but the metal cabinet housing finally rusted beyond repair. What a long lasting unit that was set it and forget it, leave it alone!!!! On a side note, also have a Rheem water heater unit, is about 10+ years old and just as good as day one. Would buy again??? Oh yeah!!
Date created: 2013-09-25 Name: Jack McGowan
Location: Anaheim, CA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"58 Years Old!!!"
My parents bought their house in 1978. The house itself was built in 1955 and had a Rheem natural gas furnace installed in its construction. Well, they just got around to replacing the furnace a few days ago (with another Rheem furnace) and that original furnace from 1955 was still running right up till the moment they replaced it! 58 years of dependable service, now that's what I call quality! Certainly, never thought a furnace would last 58 years! But then again, I guess it did, didn't it?
Date created: 2013-09-19 Name: Alejandro
Location: Central New Jersey

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"The Worst"
Had a Rheem furnace/AC system installed for my condominium and it has the poorest efficiency and noisier operation I've ever seen. The noise is unbearable. Avoid this brand at all.
Date created: 2013-06-11 Name: M Perino
Location: Illinois

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Pretty Darn Good Furnace"
The heat exchanged developed a leak after about 8 years and the company replaced it. It is still running good after 28 years. Other than putting in a new ignitor every few years, I haven't had any problems with it.
Date created: 2013-04-10 Name: larry ploghoft
Location: Blaine Wa.

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rheem Furnace"
Have had furnace for 3 years and has been worked on 4 times. Technician could never fix problem and rheem was no help.
Date created: 2012-10-16 Name: marty f
Location: airmont NY

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Good furnace"
I bought a Rheem furnace about 6 years ago. After a few years the furnace would start up and then shut down. Called a "reputable" repairman who said my damper motor was bad and replaced it for close to $300. A few years later the same problem occurred. I went on to the internet and postings suggested it was the sensor. I then went on to you tube and someone posted a video on how to fix it. All you do is sand the sensor wire with fine sand paper to remove the carbon deposit. It now works great. Crooked repairman.
Date created: 2012-06-07 Name: N Breen
Location: Rhode Island

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy"
I just purchased a Rheem "Super Quiet 80" for my townhouse. It is so loud it sounds like a jet engine. Saw the same complaints on another site. Rheem just didn't care and so me, like many others, are stuck with this garbage product. So sad that companies advertise falsely and don't stand behind their own product. Buy something else.
Date created: 2011-11-17 Name: suzanne
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible."
It's once again a balmy 58 degrees in my house. I have had this stupid Rheem furnace for 6 years, and it only worked well the first month. I've had the installers out multiple times each year, and nothing. The damn thing just works when it feels like it -- it starts up, the fan goes, the pilot light fires up, and then the actual furnace part decides to shut down. horrible. I think it's ridiculous that a freaking $2500+ furnace hasn't even lasted this long. Again, I say - HORRIBLE.
Date created: 2011-10-31 Name: Carolina Bob
Location: Upstate SC
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"You CAN stop a Rheem"
Unit purchased 12/01 and about a year after warranty expired, pressure switch began to malfunction. Installer thought it might be due to water back-up from condensation line and cleaned it twice. Third time I told him to replace the switch. This was about four or less years ago. Now the same thing is happening again. Waiting on installer to check it out, but probably the same thing. Ironically, he had just checked the system two weeks ago. Have a Tempstar gas-pack for another section of house that is 18 years and never had any problems whatsoever with it.
<< Previous123456789Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2018 furnacecompare.com