home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Payne furnaces

Popularity:
#40  of 78 brands of furnaces

40% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 47 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    24

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about Payne furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2011-11-19 Name: jane firte
Location: mi
Years owned: 14

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Doesn't matter"
My pane furnace lasted 14 years. During that time I had it repaired 4 different times and my heat energy payments are high. I won't buy another pane.



Date created: 2011-11-18 Name: AJR
Location: Winnipeg MB
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"On my third furnace"
I have two rental properties and I have replaced the furnace in them plus my own home with Payne condensing furnace. I have not had any problems with any on them. I am either very lucky, or the reports of the Payne furnace being junk are incorrect. If I need another furnace in the future, I will definitely consider a Payne.


Date created: 2011-10-25 Name: C Davis
Location: Piedmont, SC
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Payne really sux"
I purchased a Payne PY1P-B Gas pack /ac unit in 2004 and have had nothing but trouble. 4 blower fans have come apart, replaced the control board, leak in the ac gas system, now my blower in the heat exchanger is bad and they want $600 to replace. I wouldn't buy any thing that has Payne on it.


Date created: 2011-08-08 Name: R.P.
Location: MN.

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"All the same product"
I see people saying they would rather have the Bryant and Carrier parts installed on the Payne. Guess what! They are the same Carrier and Bryant parts. Payne last just as long as any other brand and I would still put in a Payne been doing it and installing them for long time now.


Date created: 2011-06-27 Name: Mr Bush
Location: Northwest indiana
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Once installed - burner failure"
New install. Right lower burner failure- airleak. Replaced with new burner set and all is well- for now. Supplier noted this is a one in ten problem and not addressed yet from factory. Install 6/17/2011. Unit runs smooth as silk now and like most companys products, once set up correctlt should run without complications. I really hate to FIX new products though.


Date created: 2011-03-29 Name: R Eccher
Location: Renton, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Didn't know the brand name until it died"
We bought a brand new tract house 28 years ago and it never occured to us to check what brand of furnace came with the home. It turns out that it was a PAYNE. We never had an issue with it until yesterday when it finally quit. I never knew until today that you are supposed to have them serviced regularly - I never had it checked once! It's never a good time for a furnace to go out but I can't complain after 28 years. Now that I have begun looking at all of the top brands, it seems like not many people are happy with any of them. I guess I will just save a few bucks and roll the dice on another PAYNE.


Date created: 2011-01-09 Name: Linda
Location: Piedmont CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Payne heater 394JAZ460095AAFA"
Nightmare. Can't even get a filter that fits, and have to cut one, which is miserable (never fits properly). We use it, turning it off and on for only an hour at a time. It overheats and has cracked the plaster wall where the duct runs underneath it. The repairman could do nothing to fix it. Since new, it has never worked. I wish we had never replaced our old furnace. From reading reviews, installation may be a problem. Will look into that.


Date created: 2010-12-31 Name: mike
Location: Los Angeles, california

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Always broke down"
I bought a Payne system in 2006 since then broken down three times cost me about 700$ so far I replaced a new circuit board twice and then the ignitor not working. I hardly used the heater Is a piece of junk not recommended to buy


Date created: 2010-12-11 Name: L.Gaucchi
Location: Roch,MI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Ignitor"
Piece of junk. Repeated failures of the ignitor


Date created: 2010-12-06 Name: theJake

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not even consider a Payne"
This piece of junk has been the worst experience of my life. Unit overheats inside the circuit board shuttinh it down. Poorly designed.

<< Previous1234Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com