home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of LUXAIRE furnaces

Popularity:
#35  of 88 brands of furnaces

50% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 144 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    64
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    9
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    65

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about LUXAIRE furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2009-05-01 Name: Scott
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Luxiare"
I'm a HVAC contractor/installer with 22 solid years of exp., I can tell you the new generation furnace and air conditioner are outstanding! I install other brands as well. Johnson Controls, who own York/Luxaire has put the automotive industry technology into their hvac equipment and it shows. proper installation is key for any furnace or air. I can go on and on about the big problems with some of the "biggest name brand" furnaces.Luxaire has more high eff. brands than any other brand. I find a dirty furnace filter causes problesm homeowners tend to blame on the furnace sometimes. Luxiare has been around since about 1940.



Date created: 2009-04-04 Name: LUXAIRE
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mr."
This is the worst furnace we have ever had. It has broken down every year since it was installed. It is extremely noisy. The only reason we haven't replaced it is because we have had other priorities.


Date created: 2009-03-18 Name: R. K.
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Luxaire 95.5"
Good value for the money, quiet, installed quickly and properly has been good unit. It is quiet and my bills have been reduced from and old 50% unit by at least 50% in a cold climate. Would recommend this unit for purchase. no problems. Also two other people had this unit for at least a year or two before me and like it as well. Get a good installer, it is key!


Date created: 2009-02-27 Name: Broderik Sullivan
Location: Buffalo, New York
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Efficiency is Marketing Hype; Loud/Poor"
Furnace was hyped up to me based on AFUE rating; combustion gas analyzer shows it actual performs worse than my old furnace which was 92% rated. Unit is louder and cabinet feels flimsy. Had to have a service all already and technician indicated units are a "service nightmare" because components are crammed into such a small cabinet. Also found out that Luxaire is essentially a generic York unit. From talking to those in industry York has been regarding as strong with commercial products but residential line is junk. In short, don't believe the modulating hype...I Never bought a brand new car model in the first year of production and I should have stuck to the same rule when it came to furnaces!


Date created: 2009-01-09 Name: C. LeBlanc
Location: New Hamburg, ON Canada
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Luxaire - g8v08012uha11c"
This furnace has not run straight through 1 winter yet. The furnace shuts off and we have to remove the cover to reset. It may run for another 1/2 hour maybe even a couple of days(if we are lucky), then we need to restart it again. Average temp in my house has been 65-67 degrees this cold winter. This may be a problem with installation since I cannot get the installing company to come and review this problem. My old furnace was very old, however I had to start the pilot light once in the 9 years I owned my house.


Date created: 2008-12-24 Name: john jeremy
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Peace of junk"
Have a mid efficient luxaire purchased 4 years ago and by far it is the biggest peace of junk I have ever owned have had trouble every single year that I have owned this thing 3x this year and again tonight christmas eve of all times I am so fed up


Date created: 2008-11-06 Name: W. Adams
Location: Southern Minnesota
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great furnace. Would certainly buy Luxaire again."
Our furnace is a 2-stage (80 & 100k Btu) 94% high efficiency natural gas unit that I installed myself as a replacement furnace in 2000. This furnace has required no service or repairs, except that I have cleaned it once. It is also fairly quiet. It is paired with an older Wards (Rheem-built) central air system, so the blower gets used nearly all year long. I ordered a spare hot-surface igniter, but have not needed it. If I had it to do over again, the only thing I would do differently would be to go down one size for the Btu capacity. It appears that this furnace is identical to its York counterpart except for the name sticker on the front cover.


Date created: 2008-10-26 Name: K. Woods
Location: Niagara Falls, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Luxair"
I am a heating contractor. ive installed Goodman, Rheem, Carrier, Heil, American Standard and Luxaire. By far if installed correctly, the Luxaire furnace is the better choice. The new 95.5% model is outstanding. It now has a clear secondary cover. You can see if its draining correctly, and makes it easy to see if thereís a problem. Replacement parts, if needed are half the cost compared to Lennox, Carrier, Heil and the rest of those high priced furnaces, you pay for the name, and its way to much. Luxaire by far is my choice, I have 23 yrs in the field. And itís the only furnace I donít have a problem telling people itís a great furnace.


Date created: 2008-06-03 Name: Sam Rizzardi
Location: NC
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Luxaire Heat/AC"
Piece of high priced crap. The ac/heat pump is only 3 years old and has had numerous problems with the control board and 2 relay switches. beware....stay away.


Date created: 2008-02-23 Name: David W.
Location: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
Have been using Luxaire high efficiency furnace running on propane in vacation home. Furnace is used mostly in winter to keep the pipes from freezing and temperature around 8 degrees C. Furnace has failed twice in the past two years (after the warranty expired). Last year the control board failed mid-winter, leaving the fan running but no heat. That problem could be cleared by turning the power off and back on to the furnace, but eventually the board had to be replaced at a cost of around $300, labor included. This winter the furnace igniter burned out during a cold snap. Cost for that repair tbd. In both cases the furnace diagnostic LED signaled the problem. Service techs from local companies were able to source replacement parts and repair the problems in one trip. The dealer that sold the furnace had gone out of business.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com