home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of JANITROL furnaces

Popularity:
#50  of 88 brands of furnaces

40% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 40 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    14
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    21

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about JANITROL furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Discontinued Series
  • PG (1 review)
  • PGB (1 review)

Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234Next >>

Date created: 2010-04-06 Name: Jerry L.
Years owned: 17

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy camper"
Bought their top of the line gas furnace when we built this house and the igniter is the only thing that has quit, twice. Replacement parts are getting hard to find though.



Date created: 2010-03-27 Name: Michael Pelletier
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dismal, frustrating, irritating"
We bought our house in 2004 with a "Dependable Ninety Two," and boy, do I miss my old furnace. So far, the flame sensor has melted to a little brown nubbin during a particularly cold winter. The draft inducer motor failed. The main blower motor conked out in the middle of February while we were on vacation in Florida. One of the combustion box covers mounting screws vibrated loose and acidic combustion condensate was dripping down past the main cutoff switch. Two of the sheet-metal screws (sheet metal screws!!) sealing the combustion chamber were apparently stripped by the guy who installed the new flame sensor. Now, the main blower's relay (made in China) on the control board has failed. The unit is constructed as if they had a pile of spare parts and decided to make a furnace out of it. The upside of this is that HVAC techs can make a killing on labor hours. If you want to buy a furnace, buy one with the manufacturers name displayed proudly on the front of the enclosure. Don't buy one where the company name can only be found in 8-point type on the bottom of the back page of the owner's manual.


Date created: 2010-02-17 Name: S2H
Years owned: 13

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Reliable"
Furnace is very reliable with only a fan motor and ignitor replaced in 13 years. Can't complain as items are wear and tear and nothing to do with quality of furnace. You have to expect something to wear out after 10 years. Only thing I don't like is high price of propane and fluctuating prices, but I don't know if electric or heat pump would be any cheaper.


Date created: 2010-02-11 Name: Rick G.
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Janitrol furnace"
We purchased a new Janitrol furnace when we remodeled our family room in 2004. It was the worst investment we've made in our home, with the ignitor breaking 1-2 times per year! Do not even consider buying from this company because the product is deplorable.


Date created: 2009-12-01 Name: gena massey
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"A. M. Midwest, LLC"
We purchaced a home in May 2006 with a 1-1/2-year-old Janitrol furnace. The first ignighter failed 30 days out of warranty. We have since replaced it four more times. It fails about every 6 months. Repairs and part replacement now total over $1000 on a 5-year-old furnace. It's a piece of junk. Don't even consider buying this brand, no matter what they call it - Janitrol or Goodman. Buy anything but this.


Date created: 2009-11-20 Name: J. Barton
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay away from these units!"
Had a new Janitrol installed in '92, had so many problems with it I got(for a $550. charge) a replacement installed in late '94. It has been nothing but problems..and this one they won't replace. It was supposed to be there top of the line model but it is lucky if it lights then when it does it pulsates and vibrates like a truck on the road to long. Had several contractors out and even the gas company tested the meter and regulators{after Janitrol tried to say that was the problem} and it is all the furnace, the ppl who love theres have old ones,they were good a long time ago. Now they are Goodman and junk!


Date created: 2009-10-21 Name: nick
Years owned: 11

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Janitrol"
My furnace is over 20 years old. Since I bought my house, for 11 years, never had problems with furnace (did not even know that I need to change/clean filters - I know it is bad). Looking to upgrade now (this one burns to much $$$) But looking at the reviews here it seems that janitrol original quality is not there anymore :(((


Date created: 2009-10-17 Name: Robert Duarte
Years owned: 9

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"How about u being honest about your furnace"
We are very lucky to be alive today as our furnace severely malfunctioned 2 seperate times both of which resulted in melted parts. our whole house could have burned down this last time which was last winter our own heating co said you were the cheapest co out there and your workmanship was lousy!!!! You paople are asses thanks for nothing and putting our family in danger too bad you really don't stand behind your product. Now we are the happy owners of a carrier furnace


Date created: 2009-08-18 Name: Lori Khune
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sweating in ohio"
Replaced in 2003, dead in 2009. Have had several problems in the last 2 years and now compressor is bad. It is sad when the consumer is the one that has to suffer for the junk that these companies are producing. no wonder the economy is the way it is!


Date created: 2009-07-22 Name: Joe Messinger
Years owned: 14

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"14 Years & No Problems"
Had a Janitrol furnace and air conditioning unit installed in 1995 and it has been trouble free. We live in the mountains at about 2000 ft. in elevation. Lots of winter days below freezing. Some below zero! Our Janitrol furnace gets a work out. It's always up to the task. Summers here bring average daily temperatures in the mid to high 70's with periods of 80*+ humid weather. The air conditioner has never failed to keep tour house comfortable even on the hottest of those days. I'm very happy with the performance and dependability of our Janitrol heating/cooling unit.

<< Previous1234Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com