home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of GOODMAN furnaces

Popularity:
#42  of 88 brands of furnaces

43% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 449 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    178
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    16
  • Neutral
    18
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    21
  • Very Unsatisfied
    216

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about GOODMAN furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous20212223242526272829303132Next >>

Date created: 2008-10-28 Name: R. Harris
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Goodman Gas Pack/"
Bought Gas Pack (Central Air/Gas Heat) 3 years ago. Would not fire up 3rd winter. Service man that installed it out of box from factory said it was the heat exchanger. Part free, but $400 to install, under 10 year warranty. Part had to come in from Texas, 12 days, and still no part. Lousy service.



Date created: 2008-10-21 Name: Carl L.
Location: Laramie, WY
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No Problems"
I had a Goodman 80% installed about 4 years ago and have had no problems whatsoever. The furnace has run quietly, smoothly and heated our home, very comfortably through some very cold winters. We have it serviced once a year and will be adding a Goodman A/C next spring. Very good warranty (10 years on all parts and lifetime on the heat exchanger).


Date created: 2008-10-10 Name: C. Egwen
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfied"
The unit suddenly stopped cooling.


Date created: 2008-10-04 Name: Brad
Location: Kankakee, IL
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Goodman"
A+, very pleased. My home stays cool in the summer, and toasty in the winter. Great warranty, excellent price, outstanding value. Thanks Goodman.


Date created: 2008-10-01 Name: Joe
Location: Southern California

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Goodman Warranty"
This is not a review of Goodman, but rather a very important observation. Goodman comes with a 10 year warranty. For those having problems in the first few years having to spend money out of pocket to repair their system, something is wrong here. Did they buy the Goodman equipment on Ebay, was there something wrong to begin with? If Goodman (or any other brand) is installed correctly and legit, warranty will be honored. So when I see someone having to fork out money to repair this or that, something is not right here. By the way, this also applies to Trane which is top of the line. We have 2 out of 5 supporting Trane with same problems I read here. All these complains sure look like people buying Trane, Goodman and other equipment from a second hand store and lousy installations.


Date created: 2008-09-19 Name: Billie Shelotn
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Billie Shelton"
I am very unsatisfied. I about to have the forth inducer motor installed. The Goodman has refused to work with the heating and cooling company and address the problem. They report they have had other Goodman furnaces with the same problem and do not install the brand any more.


Date created: 2008-08-30 Name: R NELSON
Location: Kansas City, MO
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GOOD"
I own an 80% Furnace and it costs less, and heats better than a new, 95% efficient Carrier Furnace - that I have at my other house. I have had no problems with it. It even survived a flood - only needing a cheap circuit board replaced - which I did myself.


Date created: 2008-07-19 Name: Rich Andrews
Location: Sterling, IL
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Goodman gmnt 080-4 92.6%"
I installed my furnace myself and had a contractor solder the A/C pipes and vacuum down and test the system before running 5 years ago not a problem so far except an igniter which I bought for $30 and the contractor was not open for business at that time of day but he sold it to me and I installed the igniter and no problems since, been a good running furnace and I did not use the cheap air filters. I use the April air 2200 and it runs good. Contractor says the igniters do go out after so many times so it would be a good idea to keep a spare and do not touch the igniter with your fingers. Good Luck


Date created: 2008-07-10 Name: Brad M
Location: DuPage County, IL
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Thank You Goodman"
I bought and installed an 80% efficient furnace because Goodman was about the only manufacturer I could find that would sell direct to me. I replaced a Kenmore 80% from 1988 with the Goodman- the Kenmore I also installed myself- in the 80's Sears also used to sell Kenmore furnaces direct. Something fishy is going on here. Folks, I'm not saying everyone is capable or wants to replace their own furnace- but it's not exactly rocket science. When I read that people have their Goodman blower motors repeatedly burnout or some other repeated problem, it makes me a little suspicious- not even a bad installation would cause constant motor burnout. As others have mentioned- most of the major parts in any major appliance these days (furnaces, computers, AC, TV, washing machines, etc.) are made by other manufactures and assembled into a final product. And if your motor really keeps burning out wouldn't your HVAC contractor recommend another brand? hmmmmm. It's not like Goodman would have commissioned some kind of special edition, custom built, chrome plated blower motor- most likely run of the mill, broad application, blower motor- substitutable by any major motor manufacturer. My Goodman did the job just fine last winter, and I expect it will for many years to come, just as my Kenmore did.


Date created: 2008-06-24 Name: Scott
Location: WA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Installer review"
I'm an HVAC contractor. We sell Trane, Lennox, and Goodman. We have significantly less warranty calls on Goodman than the others. We have a good install crew and all systems have their ductwork up to code. I put a Goodman ssz16 unit in my house and I couldn't be happier. Let my 14 years experience in the HVAC biz make you feel good about buying this stuff. P.S. if you buy the cheapest one, It will be noisy no matter what the brand.

<< Previous20212223242526272829303132Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com