home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Armstrong Air furnaces

Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Popularity:
#41  of 89 brands of furnaces

42% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 105 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    43
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    49

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about Armstrong Air furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2013-09-19 Name: R. Godick
Location: Thunder Bay ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unhappy Customer"
I also received an Armstrong furnace after the flood in Thunder Bay 2012. The unit was installed in August 2012, in February it stopped working. Thermomechanical came over and replaced some part that they said was failing on a lot of the furnaces they installed. The furnace has been off since May, it's now mid-September and I need the furnace and it isn't working. I called the company and they said it's not under warranty and I have to pay the bill. They replaced a mid efficiency furnace that lasted over 18 years with very little problems. So I would never recommend an Armstrong furnace to anyone. Here in Northern Ontario, we need a reliable furnace.



Date created: 2013-04-01 Name: CHARLES MILLER
Location: MICHIGAN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"DEALER"
I have been in the hvac business 35 years. I am not surprised about the bad reveiws I have read. So many uneducated people complaining about a product where they should be after the instalation company, also from what I read I hope they service there cars. Too many people jump on cheap installations and complain. I have sold trane, york, carrier, bryant, luxaire, janitrol, goodman, miller, intertherm, coleman, armstrong , ducane, airtemp, frigidaire arco aire. I dont care what you install if its done right and serviced properly they will be quieter heat better and last 20-30 years.


Date created: 2013-03-24 Name: Mike M
Location: Chicago, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Armstrong Furnace Reviews"
We have been an Armstrong dealer for a long time now and have had great success. For customers landing on this site or any other site in search of an Armsrong review, don't be turned off too quickly by some negative reviews. People that leave reviews are either very unhappy or extremely happy about the product or service they received. If you pull up other reviews for Carrier, Trane, Bryant or any other furnace you'll find the same ratio of negative to positive reviews, it's human nature. Now, getting back to the furnace issues I'm reading about...here's some news folks, a furnace out of the box does not perform as designed if not properly installed. Installation is critical!! Don't be to concerned with the brand of the furnace, you should concentrate your efforts on finding an installer you trust, review them, get referrals. Once you do, trust that they will do the right thing. I would almost bet that alot of these unhappy customers are A)a newer construction home with a shoddy builder/low cost hvac contractor or B)went with the cheapest lower cost bid. Internet has become a powerful tool for the homeowner, find a quality contractor on Yelp, Homeadvisor, AngiesList and other reputable contractor locater sites.


Date created: 2013-03-12 Name: R. Barrett
Location: Chicago, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"A80DF - Furnace"
Model-A80DF. This thing broke down 2 months after installation and breaks down twice a year - it's costly to get it serviced so much -- it's not fun being a cold house with your new broken furnace. After four to five years you will have paid for the unit itself twice in service charges.


Date created: 2013-01-14 Name: X. XXXXX
Location: Longlac, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DO NOT BUY ARMSTRONG"
Live in Longlac, small town 3 hours from major city. Bought new Armstrong furnace from town dealer. When cold weather came and furnace started running, we found that the noise was like a freight train coming!!! Took 3 months to get local guy to come and then he said that it "sounds ok to him" and wouldn't do anything. Contacted Armstrong and they said that once the furnace is in the hands of the local dealers, they have nothing to do with dissatisfaction and we would have to contact the local dealer. The old furnace that was replaced heated well and made much less noise but we were told by the heating guy that we needed a new furnace. We're stuck with a furnace that is so noisy that it gives us headaches!!!! Don't buy armstrong products!!!!!


Date created: 2013-01-08 Name: LR McAfee
Location: Smithsburg, MD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Huge Mistake"
This furnace was installed less than 2 years ago and is a nightmare. It is so noisy, you can't hear the television or carry on a conversation when it is running. In September 2012, it's second season, I began to get a very loud popping sound within the unit cabinet. It sounds like contraction in the heat exchanger. It is definitely not the ducts as I've stood next to the unit when it pops. Could not get an Armstrong dealer to respond to check the furnace, and do not want the original installer back in my home because of his poor customer relations. So, I wrote to Allied and they said I could use any hvac contractor. Two contractor's later, I still have the problem and no one can tell me why. The second one said there was a lot of rust when he cleaned it. Didn't explain why this may be happening. I was told by the hvac contractors that the blower settings, etc are all correct and I'll just have to live with the noise. I guess I'll just have to live with the popping sound too until the heat exchanger cracks. I would never recommend Armstrong furnaces.


Date created: 2012-12-13 Name: G.Teed
Location: Thunder Bay, On, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"New Furnace problem"
Had a new a93uh furnace installed in June. Old one was an 8 year old Armstrong but due to basement sewage flood was ruined. Once the cold weather set in by late September, early October and furnace was put into operation we started having problems. It would run for awhile then when temp dropped wouldn't start up. Had to turn furnace off and back on to make it run and it would run fine for about a week and then start again. Service man said was thermostat, replaced with new one (Emerson), worked okay for about a week then started problem again. Now it is doing it on a daily basis. Installer can't find problem tried to contact company myself, twice no response. Has anyone else encountered this problem?


Date created: 2012-11-17 Name: Armstrong-Happy
Location: Central Ontario Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"93-Single Stage, Read the installation Manual!"
I just had our Armstrong 93 single stage installed, and I am very happy with the unit. As far as I can see, I got a Lennox without the price. But, going over the installation instructions after it was installed, my reputable installer missed a couple of key installation instructions unique to this furnace. For example, exhaust pipe was not level away from the furnace, therefore at an elbow, the exhaust had a large amount of water (cup-cup and 1/2). Secondly, this furnace required outside, a 2" to 1 1/2" reducer and 6" of 1 1/2" pipe off the reducer as its final link to the outside, as noted numerous times in the instructions. Reading on the Internet, it has something to do with avoiding pitting/ cavitation? Of the exchanger/inducer thingy (I have no idea what this means?). Lastly, a vent tube just before the condensate pump was not installed, clearly indicated by a sticker on the plastic piece and the instructions. Again, reading on the Internet it says I would not encounter any problems with this until the furnace was really working hard (Christmas holidays?). So yes, it is all about the installer and whether or not they can follow instructions.


Date created: 2012-11-13 Name: Ted Friedberg
Location: Chicago IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk magic chef now Armstrong junk"
I moved into a new condo in 86 and the 1st winter the no heat problems began. Then the a/c was problems, new condenser motor, blower motor, fan control and when it was over it lasted just 12 years because of a cracked heat exchanger. Now lets get into my new Armstrong I bought in December 1998. After the install from Airko I had to on my own replace the Fan Control. Will not let them ever to come to my house after what they did as not to replace the fan control board. After the 4th year I have been filling the a/c with Freon every Summer till now. This 2012 winter season looks like another cracked heat Exchanger. Now its time after 14 years to spend another 3300 on another Garbage furnace. It makes me very mad when homeowners tell me their furnace lasted them 35yrs and I am on my 3rd one since 1986. Magic Chef and Armstrong you should get out of the hvac business because your furnaces are not any more reliable than a wood stove. At least that stove will never have a cracked ss heat exchanger.


Date created: 2012-10-22 Name: John
Location: NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"JUNK"
We bought our home 7 years ago and it has an Armstrong/Lennox Ultra sx 80 installed. The furnace was installed in 2000 as the people who had the house before us kept excellent records and wrote everything down. The furnace has had nothing but issues every year since we moved in. Every year it seems to be a different part/problem. The parts are very expensive as well compared to other brands of furnaces. I'm about ready to have the thing removed and replaced. The techs on here that say that the installers are to blame on here need to read a little deeper. All these parts don't fail because of the installers. These furnaces are junk period!!!!

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com