home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Armstrong Air furnaces

Popularity:
#46  of 86 brands of furnaces

39% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 97 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    36
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    48

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about Armstrong Air furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2014-01-28 Name: Paul
Location: Milwaukee

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A great furnace"
I had the sx ultra 95 installed in 2000 by a certified installer. It has been running flawlessly since then. I do have yearly maintenance done and religiously change the filters according to usage. Now I use a nest thermostat to remind me to change filters based on usage. I also check water lines going in and out for leaks. Water back up or leaks from humidifier lines can destroy a furnace.



Date created: 2013-12-09 Name: Mary Casey
Location: Yorkville, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad NEWS!"
This is the first negative review I have ever written for a product, but I want to warn people thinking of buying a new furnace. I moved after 31 years (with no furnace problems) and this furnace was put in my new house. The builder installed an Armstrong Air Essential, Series 6009m10823, Model ec1p36cm-1. Right from the beginning we had small problems which the builder fixed for us. Now three years later we had the furnace stop in the spring then two weeks ago and of late this past Saturday night. After forking out $535 I hope the problem has been fixed. If I prevent anyone from buying an Armstrong furnace and having my problems, the time taken here will well be worth it. Be aware they are very aware of the problems this furnace is having. They will replace parts but no compensation for the labor involved. They are still selling this furnace.


Date created: 2013-09-26 Name: Leonard

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Armstrong, Lennox Are All Made by Allied"
We installed Armstrong for years, always had good luck but now they have switched to 33-inch tall models. Our altitude is approximately 3200 feet above sea level. Myself and all other dealer including Lennox dealers are all having issues with the air switches. Allied builds these and many other brand furnaces. Lennox and Armstrong are the only ones we have compared sitting side by side, and yes they are the same furnace regardless of what Lennox will tell you. We have had to turn the air switch out approximately one quarter turn to make the furnace run. We have complained to Allied and they do admit they have a problem finally after bitching for over a year. Beware, Lennox is an Armstrong. Maybe try a Coleman. My one builder only uses them and every one we have installed has not given a problem. Until this new 33-inch tall Armstrong came out, we never had a problem with them either. Thank god we have found a way to keep these new furnaces running. But this fix we are doing under nessaty voids the warranty. Don't know what else to do.


Date created: 2013-09-19 Name: R. Godick
Location: Thunder Bay ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unhappy Customer"
I also received an Armstrong furnace after the flood in Thunder Bay 2012. The unit was installed in August 2012, in February it stopped working. Thermomechanical came over and replaced some part that they said was failing on a lot of the furnaces they installed. The furnace has been off since May, it's now mid-September and I need the furnace and it isn't working. I called the company and they said it's not under warranty and I have to pay the bill. They replaced a mid efficiency furnace that lasted over 18 years with very little problems. So I would never recommend an Armstrong furnace to anyone. Here in Northern Ontario, we need a reliable furnace.


Date created: 2013-04-01 Name: CHARLES MILLER
Location: MICHIGAN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"DEALER"
I have been in the hvac business 35 years. I am not surprised about the bad reveiws I have read. So many uneducated people complaining about a product where they should be after the instalation company, also from what I read I hope they service there cars. Too many people jump on cheap installations and complain. I have sold trane, york, carrier, bryant, luxaire, janitrol, goodman, miller, intertherm, coleman, armstrong , ducane, airtemp, frigidaire arco aire. I dont care what you install if its done right and serviced properly they will be quieter heat better and last 20-30 years.


Date created: 2013-03-24 Name: Mike M
Location: Chicago, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Armstrong Furnace Reviews"
We have been an Armstrong dealer for a long time now and have had great success. For customers landing on this site or any other site in search of an Armsrong review, don't be turned off too quickly by some negative reviews. People that leave reviews are either very unhappy or extremely happy about the product or service they received. If you pull up other reviews for Carrier, Trane, Bryant or any other furnace you'll find the same ratio of negative to positive reviews, it's human nature. Now, getting back to the furnace issues I'm reading about...here's some news folks, a furnace out of the box does not perform as designed if not properly installed. Installation is critical!! Don't be to concerned with the brand of the furnace, you should concentrate your efforts on finding an installer you trust, review them, get referrals. Once you do, trust that they will do the right thing. I would almost bet that alot of these unhappy customers are A)a newer construction home with a shoddy builder/low cost hvac contractor or B)went with the cheapest lower cost bid. Internet has become a powerful tool for the homeowner, find a quality contractor on Yelp, Homeadvisor, AngiesList and other reputable contractor locater sites.


Date created: 2013-03-12 Name: R. Barrett
Location: Chicago, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"A80DF - Furnace"
Model-A80DF. This thing broke down 2 months after installation and breaks down twice a year - it's costly to get it serviced so much -- it's not fun being a cold house with your new broken furnace. After four to five years you will have paid for the unit itself twice in service charges.


Date created: 2013-01-14 Name: X. XXXXX
Location: Longlac, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DO NOT BUY ARMSTRONG"
Live in Longlac, small town 3 hours from major city. Bought new Armstrong furnace from town dealer. When cold weather came and furnace started running, we found that the noise was like a freight train coming!!! Took 3 months to get local guy to come and then he said that it "sounds ok to him" and wouldn't do anything. Contacted Armstrong and they said that once the furnace is in the hands of the local dealers, they have nothing to do with dissatisfaction and we would have to contact the local dealer. The old furnace that was replaced heated well and made much less noise but we were told by the heating guy that we needed a new furnace. We're stuck with a furnace that is so noisy that it gives us headaches!!!! Don't buy armstrong products!!!!!


Date created: 2013-01-08 Name: LR McAfee
Location: Smithsburg, MD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Huge Mistake"
This furnace was installed less than 2 years ago and is a nightmare. It is so noisy, you can't hear the television or carry on a conversation when it is running. In September 2012, it's second season, I began to get a very loud popping sound within the unit cabinet. It sounds like contraction in the heat exchanger. It is definitely not the ducts as I've stood next to the unit when it pops. Could not get an Armstrong dealer to respond to check the furnace, and do not want the original installer back in my home because of his poor customer relations. So, I wrote to Allied and they said I could use any hvac contractor. Two contractor's later, I still have the problem and no one can tell me why. The second one said there was a lot of rust when he cleaned it. Didn't explain why this may be happening. I was told by the hvac contractors that the blower settings, etc are all correct and I'll just have to live with the noise. I guess I'll just have to live with the popping sound too until the heat exchanger cracks. I would never recommend Armstrong furnaces.


Date created: 2012-12-13 Name: G.Teed
Location: Thunder Bay, On, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"New Furnace problem"
Had a new a93uh furnace installed in June. Old one was an 8 year old Armstrong but due to basement sewage flood was ruined. Once the cold weather set in by late September, early October and furnace was put into operation we started having problems. It would run for awhile then when temp dropped wouldn't start up. Had to turn furnace off and back on to make it run and it would run fine for about a week and then start again. Service man said was thermostat, replaced with new one (Emerson), worked okay for about a week then started problem again. Now it is doing it on a daily basis. Installer can't find problem tried to contact company myself, twice no response. Has anyone else encountered this problem?

<< Previous123456789Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com