home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Armstrong Air furnaces

Popularity:
#46  of 88 brands of furnaces

39% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 99 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    37
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    5
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    49

best product icon  What are the 10 Best Furnaces?

Read more about Armstrong Air furnaces

Read reviews of other Furnace brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2014-08-16 Name: Mr. Fix it
Location: Central Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Still Satisfied"
I have the 93 single stage, and it worked great for two years, no issues (installed Oct 2012). This past early spring, ventor came on and then went off, did not attempt to fire or it would turn off the flame in the middle of a cycle and then try again. No codes, but if I played with the pressure switch (blew in and out), I could get it to run for week or so until it acted up again. I searched, found a tech bulletin from Armstrong Air about an updated pressure switch (93w86). Found one for $28 and replaced myself, pretty simple. Based on what I see in the automotive sector, I figure "tech bulletins" and "recalls" are now a fact of life for all products (80% tested, get it to market, deal with it later), so I have learned how to fix it myself.



Date created: 2014-08-04 Name: Stephanie
Location: Cheney, wa

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"What More Can You Ask For?"
I don't know the model number of the Armstrong furnace that was just replaced. I did find the serial number inside after it was removed. Today's date is August 04, 2014, the furnace was made in Febrary of 1967 making it 47 years old! I replaced it only because I knew it was old....just not that old! Wow!!! How phenomenal is that?! It still worked too!


Date created: 2014-01-28 Name: Paul
Location: Milwaukee

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A great furnace"
I had the sx ultra 95 installed in 2000 by a certified installer. It has been running flawlessly since then. I do have yearly maintenance done and religiously change the filters according to usage. Now I use a nest thermostat to remind me to change filters based on usage. I also check water lines going in and out for leaks. Water back up or leaks from humidifier lines can destroy a furnace.


Date created: 2013-12-09 Name: Mary Casey
Location: Yorkville, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad NEWS!"
This is the first negative review I have ever written for a product, but I want to warn people thinking of buying a new furnace. I moved after 31 years (with no furnace problems) and this furnace was put in my new house. The builder installed an Armstrong Air Essential, Series 6009m10823, Model ec1p36cm-1. Right from the beginning we had small problems which the builder fixed for us. Now three years later we had the furnace stop in the spring then two weeks ago and of late this past Saturday night. After forking out $535 I hope the problem has been fixed. If I prevent anyone from buying an Armstrong furnace and having my problems, the time taken here will well be worth it. Be aware they are very aware of the problems this furnace is having. They will replace parts but no compensation for the labor involved. They are still selling this furnace.


Date created: 2013-09-26 Name: Leonard

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Armstrong, Lennox Are All Made by Allied"
We installed Armstrong for years, always had good luck but now they have switched to 33-inch tall models. Our altitude is approximately 3200 feet above sea level. Myself and all other dealer including Lennox dealers are all having issues with the air switches. Allied builds these and many other brand furnaces. Lennox and Armstrong are the only ones we have compared sitting side by side, and yes they are the same furnace regardless of what Lennox will tell you. We have had to turn the air switch out approximately one quarter turn to make the furnace run. We have complained to Allied and they do admit they have a problem finally after bitching for over a year. Beware, Lennox is an Armstrong. Maybe try a Coleman. My one builder only uses them and every one we have installed has not given a problem. Until this new 33-inch tall Armstrong came out, we never had a problem with them either. Thank god we have found a way to keep these new furnaces running. But this fix we are doing under nessaty voids the warranty. Don't know what else to do.


Date created: 2013-09-19 Name: R. Godick
Location: Thunder Bay ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unhappy Customer"
I also received an Armstrong furnace after the flood in Thunder Bay 2012. The unit was installed in August 2012, in February it stopped working. Thermomechanical came over and replaced some part that they said was failing on a lot of the furnaces they installed. The furnace has been off since May, it's now mid-September and I need the furnace and it isn't working. I called the company and they said it's not under warranty and I have to pay the bill. They replaced a mid efficiency furnace that lasted over 18 years with very little problems. So I would never recommend an Armstrong furnace to anyone. Here in Northern Ontario, we need a reliable furnace.


Date created: 2013-04-01 Name: CHARLES MILLER
Location: MICHIGAN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"DEALER"
I have been in the hvac business 35 years. I am not surprised about the bad reveiws I have read. So many uneducated people complaining about a product where they should be after the instalation company, also from what I read I hope they service there cars. Too many people jump on cheap installations and complain. I have sold trane, york, carrier, bryant, luxaire, janitrol, goodman, miller, intertherm, coleman, armstrong , ducane, airtemp, frigidaire arco aire. I dont care what you install if its done right and serviced properly they will be quieter heat better and last 20-30 years.


Date created: 2013-03-24 Name: Mike M
Location: Chicago, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Armstrong Furnace Reviews"
We have been an Armstrong dealer for a long time now and have had great success. For customers landing on this site or any other site in search of an Armsrong review, don't be turned off too quickly by some negative reviews. People that leave reviews are either very unhappy or extremely happy about the product or service they received. If you pull up other reviews for Carrier, Trane, Bryant or any other furnace you'll find the same ratio of negative to positive reviews, it's human nature. Now, getting back to the furnace issues I'm reading about...here's some news folks, a furnace out of the box does not perform as designed if not properly installed. Installation is critical!! Don't be to concerned with the brand of the furnace, you should concentrate your efforts on finding an installer you trust, review them, get referrals. Once you do, trust that they will do the right thing. I would almost bet that alot of these unhappy customers are A)a newer construction home with a shoddy builder/low cost hvac contractor or B)went with the cheapest lower cost bid. Internet has become a powerful tool for the homeowner, find a quality contractor on Yelp, Homeadvisor, AngiesList and other reputable contractor locater sites.


Date created: 2013-03-12 Name: R. Barrett
Location: Chicago, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"A80DF - Furnace"
Model-A80DF. This thing broke down 2 months after installation and breaks down twice a year - it's costly to get it serviced so much -- it's not fun being a cold house with your new broken furnace. After four to five years you will have paid for the unit itself twice in service charges.


Date created: 2013-01-14 Name: X. XXXXX
Location: Longlac, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DO NOT BUY ARMSTRONG"
Live in Longlac, small town 3 hours from major city. Bought new Armstrong furnace from town dealer. When cold weather came and furnace started running, we found that the noise was like a freight train coming!!! Took 3 months to get local guy to come and then he said that it "sounds ok to him" and wouldn't do anything. Contacted Armstrong and they said that once the furnace is in the hands of the local dealers, they have nothing to do with dissatisfaction and we would have to contact the local dealer. The old furnace that was replaced heated well and made much less noise but we were told by the heating guy that we needed a new furnace. We're stuck with a furnace that is so noisy that it gives us headaches!!!! Don't buy armstrong products!!!!!

<< Previous123456789Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com