home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of PEERLESS boilers

Popularity:
#40  of 54 brands of boilers

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 116 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    24
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    9
  • Very Unsatisfied
    78

Read more about PEERLESS boilers

Read reviews of other Boiler brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345Next >>

Date created: 2010-05-29 Name: Plumber

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Peerless Boilers"
I've installed Peerless boilers before, I think they make a nice product. However, there is some information here on these reviews that are just inaccurate. First off, in just about every state, you NEED to be a Licensed Plumber to touch potable water..and that's a fact. UPC, BOCA, National, International Plumbing codes used throughout the United States all say that. Heating companies get away with it..for whatever reason not unknown to me. Second - Oil companies will push a Boiler that is an Oil Eater! Or make sure your Nozzle is using the most oil possible for that particular boiler, even if you don't need the BTU's. I don't know how many times I have to go behind an Oil Company, because he won't clean your boiler right. Most of those guys "dust and adjust" and they are out the door. Cleaning an Oil fired Boiler, takes a solid hour to clean properly, so keep that in mind. Third - I have yet to see an HVAC worth his salt when installing a Boiler. For example, they can't even follow simple Plumbing codes when installing condensate lines into your Plumbing system drains, which is illegal to the umpth degree. I don't even want to get into the service part of the boiler, cause most of these clowns have no clue. If you want to get down to facts instead of biased opinions, Licensed Plumbers are the only ones by code, that are allowed to touch potable water, even in a boiler installation. If you want to get technical..let's start and end the argument right there.



Date created: 2010-03-30 Name: F. Kerr
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Oil boiler installer"
I installed a Peerless oil boilers at least 3 times a month. The main thing about installing any boiler is chimney location, age of oil tank, type of filtering devise, and correct installation. There should be enough room for proper cleaning and servicing of the unit. I install mainly Peerless boilers. The location of the air eliminator and circulators are very important. It is a must that the room should not be located with a cloths dryer or where there are animals. If this can't be done there should be a fresh air kit installed on the burner. I believe that the install should be done by the oil company you use as they are the ones that are going to be working on this unit. I also believe that you should get prices elsewhere but make sure that everyone is on the same page. But remember the plumber is just going to install the boiler, grab the money and leave.


Date created: 2009-12-10 Name: Dee Farmer
Years owned: 11

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a Lemon!"
From the first year I had this oil/steam boiler unit installed I had problems with it. I was very careful with the maintenance and cleaning of the unit, kept it in great shape with a yearly service contract. Less than one month after initial installation, the spray unit clogged and we had a big carbon monoxide leak that killed the cat (we were not home thank god!) Two years later, the unit broke down again and required additional repairs. Within another couple of years the unit burnt up and the entire side needed to be replaced. Finally just now (two years again!) the water level cutoff failed, the unit overheated to the point where the solder on the copper pipes liquified, the tank cracked and water got into the burner itself. What a smelly mess. On the bright side, it was extremely efficient on oil consumption, I could go almost an entire winter on a single 550Gal tank but it was noisy, smelly and I'm glad to be replaceing it today with another brand. I would not buy a Peerless unit again. Too many problems.


Date created: 2009-10-17 Name: xxxxx
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Peerless"
I have a peerless de gas boiler , Well it doest start up the installer said to call the company rep, they are 25 min away from me, they want to solve it over the phone, they wont come out.Worst part is its brand new never started up and its around 34 degrees out side, nothing but a run around.


Date created: 2009-10-03 Name: Richard

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Hvac master tech"
I've been reading these reviews, it seems a lot of the peoples problems seem to stem from poor installation. The way the boiler operates is how well the person installing it is trained. I do not recommend using oil companies to install boilers. What they do best, is fill your oil tank. As far as boiler installation, I make fun of most plumbers and all oil company technicians, they just dont care! If anyone plans on buying a boiler, do your homework, find a reputable hvac company. They do not sell oil! They do not use the biggest oil nozzle to put in your boiler when you really dont need something that big. hvac companies can tune your boiler to such efficiency, that you will be extremely impressed. Remember how well your boiler operates or doesn't operate will depend on how well it is installed and set-up, That will make you or break you. Its not the tool, Its the person behind the tool. If anybody has any questions, e-mail me.


Date created: 2009-07-28 Name: Joe Nuzzo
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy this product"
Purchased this boiler to replace original installed in house in 1957 to be "more efficient". Original Unit never broke down. Have this unit 4 years, I have tuned it up every year, replaced the filters and kept it running as best I can. Recenetly replaced Aquastat, mixer valve and my motor just died. I am $400 into the repair and am awaiting the repairman to replace my motor $$$$$$. I would not recommend this unit.


Date created: 2009-03-09 Name: David and Patti Williams
Location: Minnesota
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Peerless Boiler problems"
After three years and ten months, the blower fan on our Peerless furnace began to click loudly. $535 dollars later it was repaired. The new part has begun clicking again, less than two months after being installed. The furnace is loud, making sounds like a diesel engine starting on a very cold morning, every time it starts. I would not recommend this product to anyone.


Date created: 2009-02-05 Name: Steve Galante
Location: Hawley, PA
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"P-140"
Since installation the boiler has locked out for over 18 different faults. Never going more that 3 weeks with out having to be reset.


Date created: 2009-02-02 Name: mike
Location: Schenectady, NY
Years owned: 29

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"1978 peerless jot3su model"
Excellent boiler from 1978-2007 no problems at all except for replacing the fiber combustion chamber which was no big deal this was equipped with a Carlin 100crd oil burner that was also trouble free. We replaced boiler with a Dunkirk/lennox boiler in 2007 for some efficiency but the Beckett burner with the clean cut fuel pump is problematic..


Date created: 2008-11-15 Name: R. Benson
Location: Minnesota
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"PI 80 Boiler"
2 months after warranty expires, $700 combustion fan fails, then have to deal with very poor customer service rep (Kingsway Marketing llc). Stay away, service poor and replacement parts very expensive.

<< Previous12345Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com