home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of PEERLESS boilers

Popularity:
#56  of 67 brands of boilers

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 139 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    28
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    10
  • Very Unsatisfied
    95

Read more about PEERLESS boilers

Read reviews of other Boiler brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous123456Next >>

Date created: 2010-11-18 Name: robert ervin
Location: omaha,ne

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rust"
Had a series mi/mih installed one year ago and my boiler has rust everywhere,my water heater next to it is 10 years old no rust,does peerless cover this and do you make your product to rust



Date created: 2010-11-04 Name: G. Bliss
Location: Paramus, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pinacle"
Have had to replace inducer fan on unit 4 years old part was not available at any local suppliers (north NJ)and cost in excess of $700. + labor


Date created: 2010-11-04 Name: T Krause
Location: NH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"T Krause"
We have owned this boiler for 4 years. It is such an oil hog!!! Now the cast iron observation door has cracked. What about the 10 year warranty on cast iron parts...you can only contact peerless through email and they say "contact your heating person". DO NOT buy their products unless you like huge oil bills and useless customer service for warranty. Maybe they are hoping I get discouraged and just pay to have it fixed.


Date created: 2010-09-21 Name: L. Krebsbach
Location: Stacy, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy- they are terrible"
We have had the unit for five years now and have nothing but trouble. They would not stand behind their unit even when the dealer said it has problems. They told me I should have purchased an extended warranty. Why?? It broke the first year and every year thereafter. Horrible customer service. Would NEVER BUY AGAIN! I have a second boiler..Munchkin..works great never down and was installed at the same time.


Date created: 2010-09-17 Name: John Daviduke
Location: Elmwood Park, IL 60707

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Peerless Boiler"
Very good, quiet, and has lowered my heating gas bill.


Date created: 2010-08-02 Name: R. Jennings

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stainless Steel Gas Boiler"
I initially purchased this boiler and had it installed in my new house by a person knowledgeable in these types of boilers. The radiant heat system is great but the boiler is completely worthless. It's very unreliable. Fortunately, I have a backup forced air system for heat. Unfortunately, the hot water runs off the boiler. I have had the plumber out usually about every three months to replace something. This has included flame sensors, ignitors, vent fans, now recently the controller board. Actually, this has been replaced twice. This time, it was corroded. It also makes this loud noise that can be heard over 200 yards from my house. The customer service from the company has been non-existent. Never returned calls either to me, the distributor, or the installer. I have probably spent more money on this boiler than the original cost. This is truly a lemon. I would be happy to discuss this with anyone who is even remotely contemplating purchasing this product from this company.


Date created: 2010-05-29 Name: Plumber

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Peerless Boilers"
I've installed Peerless boilers before, I think they make a nice product. However, there is some information here on these reviews that are just inaccurate. First off, in just about every state, you NEED to be a Licensed Plumber to touch potable water..and that's a fact. UPC, BOCA, National, International Plumbing codes used throughout the United States all say that. Heating companies get away with it..for whatever reason not unknown to me. Second - Oil companies will push a Boiler that is an Oil Eater! Or make sure your Nozzle is using the most oil possible for that particular boiler, even if you don't need the BTU's. I don't know how many times I have to go behind an Oil Company, because he won't clean your boiler right. Most of those guys "dust and adjust" and they are out the door. Cleaning an Oil fired Boiler, takes a solid hour to clean properly, so keep that in mind. Third - I have yet to see an HVAC worth his salt when installing a Boiler. For example, they can't even follow simple Plumbing codes when installing condensate lines into your Plumbing system drains, which is illegal to the umpth degree. I don't even want to get into the service part of the boiler, cause most of these clowns have no clue. If you want to get down to facts instead of biased opinions, Licensed Plumbers are the only ones by code, that are allowed to touch potable water, even in a boiler installation. If you want to get technical..let's start and end the argument right there.


Date created: 2010-03-30 Name: F. Kerr
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Oil boiler installer"
I installed a Peerless oil boilers at least 3 times a month. The main thing about installing any boiler is chimney location, age of oil tank, type of filtering devise, and correct installation. There should be enough room for proper cleaning and servicing of the unit. I install mainly Peerless boilers. The location of the air eliminator and circulators are very important. It is a must that the room should not be located with a cloths dryer or where there are animals. If this can't be done there should be a fresh air kit installed on the burner. I believe that the install should be done by the oil company you use as they are the ones that are going to be working on this unit. I also believe that you should get prices elsewhere but make sure that everyone is on the same page. But remember the plumber is just going to install the boiler, grab the money and leave.


Date created: 2009-12-10 Name: Dee Farmer
Years owned: 11

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a Lemon!"
From the first year I had this oil/steam boiler unit installed I had problems with it. I was very careful with the maintenance and cleaning of the unit, kept it in great shape with a yearly service contract. Less than one month after initial installation, the spray unit clogged and we had a big carbon monoxide leak that killed the cat (we were not home thank god!) Two years later, the unit broke down again and required additional repairs. Within another couple of years the unit burnt up and the entire side needed to be replaced. Finally just now (two years again!) the water level cutoff failed, the unit overheated to the point where the solder on the copper pipes liquified, the tank cracked and water got into the burner itself. What a smelly mess. On the bright side, it was extremely efficient on oil consumption, I could go almost an entire winter on a single 550Gal tank but it was noisy, smelly and I'm glad to be replaceing it today with another brand. I would not buy a Peerless unit again. Too many problems.


Date created: 2009-10-17 Name: xxxxx
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Peerless"
I have a peerless de gas boiler , Well it doest start up the installer said to call the company rep, they are 25 min away from me, they want to solve it over the phone, they wont come out.Worst part is its brand new never started up and its around 34 degrees out side, nothing but a run around.

<< Previous123456Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com