home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of HTP boilers

Popularity:
#49  of 67 brands of boilers

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 361 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    70
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    15
  • Neutral
    94
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    9
  • Very Unsatisfied
    173

Read more about HTP boilers

Read reviews of other Boiler brands

Write a review

Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2012-03-12 Name: Steven Whitbeck - BELTLINE HEATING
Location: Grand Rapids MI.
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Danny"
So the boiler is making loud noises - And your service man can't fix the problem. I would say the problem is not the boiler but your choice in a service man. He is not properly servicing the boiler and because of lack of service the boiler is letting you know that it doesn't like how it is set up. Call htp and find the local distributor, They will give you the name of someone qualified to service your boiler. I would say that the burner gasket is gone and the combustion settings are way off.



Date created: 2012-03-11 Name: Homer
Location: Nevada
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Potato-Potahto---Tomato-Tomahto"
Danny Collins- Groveland,MA---I don't know what growling and banging sound like. My idea may be different than yours (it's subjective). What did your boiler guy do in servicing? Did these noises occur after servicing and not before? It's keeping you up at nite? Absent any other symptoms, fault codes, loud noises in my observation, have come from moving parts.---1. Blower motor is failing (separation). This in my experience had been very loud and no fault codes,too. Is the sound coming from the exhaust outside the house?---2. Flashing in the hx because the pump is not pushing enough water through the hx this creates banging sound, One other thought, Is the burner tube securely attached by the four screws and not vibrating? Of course, there is the possibility, that somehow, a bear got into your boiler, I know there's a remote chance of that happening. Hope this helps.


Date created: 2012-03-08 Name: Danny Collins
Location: groveland,ma
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Banging issue"
Since having the unit serviced, my boiler makes a loud growling noise every time it fire's up. It has gotten to the point where it prevents me from sleeping. The service man is unable to resolve, and have failed to get factory to respond. I would not recommend this unit unless you buy the service agreement beyond 5 years so you can get it replaced without cost


Date created: 2012-03-06 Name: Homer
Location: Nevada
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"M. Lottermoser--A Final Note!"
M. Lottermoser--Calgary, Alberta--Good advice from beltline HEATING--If you decide to take the advice (highly recommended), keep in mind that the combined (intake + exhaust) of straight pipe is 85'. Each fitting has a straight pipe equivalent that must be added to the straight pipe in your system and end up being not more than 85' total. If you are close to that figure, I would use a dwv (Drain Waste Vent) pvc 90 degree fitting rather than a sharp pvc 90 degree fitting as the resistance to flow is less in the dwv fitting. a pvc dwv 90 is not a true 90 degrees, it opens at 1/4" per foot and is a long sweep fitting (which means less resistance to flow). -----ALSO-----Your glyco in your system is nearing it life cycle at 7 years. You should have it tested and or think about replacement.---CLR Is ok, but I use Simple Green scale and lime remover as it's formula is like Rydlyme, which was recommended by htp.


Date created: 2012-03-05 Name: Steven Whitbeck - BELTLINE HEATING
Location: Grand Rapids MI.
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"M. Lottermoser"
Hi - this proves just how good these boilers can be if they are even close to being installed properly. When you say concentric vented are you talking the inverted funnel type? If so can you remove the outer funnel and cut off the straight end? ( this will expose about 1 1/2 inches of the inner pipe) If you can do this then install an elbow then go up at least 18 inches and put a 45* elboe on the top with a stainless steel screen in it. You probably lost the 925 controller because of the exhaust gas reversion. The longer post purge is VERY important because it pushes the moist exhaust gasses out of the combustion chamber after the burner shuts off. If these gasses rise up and out of the burner air intake it will eventually damage the boiler. I reprogram all of the older boilers to the newest software version with the longer post purge. And NO you can't change that setting.


Date created: 2012-02-26 Name: Joe Martinelli
Location: Minnesota

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Piece of crap"
We have had a Munchkin high efficiency heater now for 6 years the unit is unreliable. If will shut off giving an f09 error once to twice a year. You can not safely leave your home for a extended period of time in the winter months knowing that the unit will shut down and pipes will freeze. The unit has to be periodically maintained. I would not recommend this unit or brand to anyone.


Date created: 2012-02-08 Name: Steven Whitbeck - BELTLINE HEATING
Location: Grand Rapids MI.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"BUSH's FAULT"
In politics it seems that every thing bad was Bush's fault. So now the crawl space flooded and it cost $2200 to fix the boiler because it got flooded and that was the boilers fault????? You either have a bad pressure switch or more than likely the system pressure is low and guess what - the boiler doesn't control what the water pressure is in the system - So I guess if the kitchen sink backs up it's the MUNCHKIN's fault. Some of the complainers on this site have sent me pictures of their installed boilers and I will tell you they would be good for a laugh if it wasn't such a sad thing. I am sorry that you got screwed but you did go with the low bidder or you didn't do your research.


Date created: 2012-02-08 Name: K. Oborne
Location: GaNsevoort, NY
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Highly efficient at costing me money!"
POS for sure. Installation not the problem, it's the unit itself. Flooded crawl last year, replacement parts cost $2,200. Sitting here on Feb. 8, 2012 waiting for heating co. to fix. Have a pro error, which deals with pressure, so we will see if the installation is all that. Have a wood insert that can help with the heat so an overworked unit is not the issue either. Should be a rating even lower than very unsatisfied, something like...well I will keep it clean.


Date created: 2012-02-04 Name: Steven Whitbeck - BELTLINE HEATING
Location: Grand Rapids MI.
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Gary Strandberg"
Just for your information the blowers are not a munchkin part. Those same blowers are used in almost every high efficiency boiler and water heater on the market today. If you are losing blowers it is because your boiler is not installed properly. Do you complainers not read what has been written by the installers here??? I feel sorry for the people that have been screwed by their installer but it doesn't matter what boiler you had installed if another brand had been installed instead of the Munchkin you would have been complaining about that brand instead. Don't you people do any research before you let someone install an expensive boiler into your house???? Did you get more than one quote. Did you look at the install manual at all while or after the boiler was installed??? Does your system look anything like the pictures in the book??? I will bet not. It is very important that the exhaust pipe be at least 18 inches above the intake and the water piping must look exactly like one of the drawings in the install manual.( there are some variations but must be installed by an expert in hydronics)


Date created: 2012-02-04 Name: Homer
Location: Nevada
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Come On Dear Readers--Read The Posts"
Gary Strandberg--Darby,MT---You have an installation problem (probably concentric venting). Change your post purge on your boiler to 100 sec. "Use the Force, look to the venting, Luke".-----Sheila--Milford, PA--- Why do you think that the condensate line is clogged? Your boiler is only 2 years. old. It depends on where the blockage is. Is it in the boiler? Sheila, this is not something people can do easily for themselves. It involves dismantling the boiler to get to the hx. In 2 years, I would be surprised if you had a blockage. (Any f09 or f10 error codes?) However, for the layman, in an emergency, I would take an ear syringe, the rubber bulb type that you buy at the drugstore, an squirt some warm water into the hx through the condensate drain connected to the rear of the boiler and then suck the water out. Don't over do it with the water, just repeat the process until it is cleared. then get a qualified boiler guy to clean it correctly. If the clog is on the drain line outside of the boiler just flush it with water under pressure. Sheila, download the Vision 1 manual and read it.---Those of us that have experience, training and are knowledgeable can only point you dear readers in a certain direction. It is really up to your boiler guy and you to get to the source of your problems and fix them. htp makes great products and you shouldn't be experiencing the problem that are repeatedly reported on this site. ps--i just read the posts from the beginning to the present, do the same.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com