home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of York central air conditioners

Popularity:
#39  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

34% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 265 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    86
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    7
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    13
  • Very Unsatisfied
    153

Read more about York central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created: 2012-04-30 Name: KENNETH HUTCHINSON
Location: HARTFORD, CT.
Years owned: 29

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CONTRACTOR"
I am a retired hvac contractor in the state of Connecticut. The install ion of equipment should be done only by trained professionals, following proper trade practices. I have installed many brands with a very high rate of satisfaction. You do not blame the pencil for misspelled words, donít blame the equipment. Find a contractor that has been trained by the manufactures of the equipment they sell and have all the licenses required by your state. It's not about the lowest price. it's about getting the right person to do your install.



Date created: 2012-03-29 Name: Bill Ward
Location: New Lenox, IL
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Out dated models"
Many of the available residential models to choose from on this site are no longer manufactured. None of the current models are listed. That means this site has not been updated in at least 5 years. I have been installing York equipment for 5 years and if there was trouble with this equipment I would not be selling it. My company has an excellent reputation and are use York equipment with full confidence in it's reliability.


Date created: 2012-03-01 Name: Patti Donovan
Location: Frederck, MD
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"New York System"
We just bought a new York gas furnace and ac. Our contractor recommended the brand and we were impressed it is made in the usa. We chose the standard 13 seer unit with a 95% high-efficiency gas furnace. Very happy so far, much quieter than our old unit.


Date created: 2012-02-04 Name: L Gustafson
Location: Katy, Tx
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Poor Experience With York"
Bought a new home in September of 2004, with the York system installed. In May of 2009, the compressor on the side near the bottom blew a hole in it the size of a Silver Dollar. New compressor was installed. Now February of 2012, the compressor grounded out and burned up. I am now in the process of installing a new a/c System after less than 8 yrs. It will not be York. Two compressors in less than eight years. In December of this past year, the York Diamond 80 Furnace stopped working and the circuit board had to be replaced. Did not have a good experience with York.


Date created: 2011-11-28 Name: Mark C.
Location: Lima, OH
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Unit"
Surprised to see all the negative reviews on York, I called and my contractor pointed out most are installation or service related. Per his words, if put in and serviced properly York is as good if not better than others.


Date created: 2011-10-24 Name: Robert
Location: Hawaii
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Aloha York"
Our new York unit has worked great for over two years now and living in Hawaii it works all the time, really quiet too!


Date created: 2011-10-11 Name: Chad
Location: Phoenix
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy with York"
Had York ac installed 3 years ago, no problems, much lower energy bills, and unit is quiet. We didn't base our decision on brand but chose the company we trusted most and were happy.


Date created: 2011-09-23 Name: A. Keller
Location: Cornelius, NC
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nightmare Experience"
In less than 4 years we have had 2 bad evaporator coils resulting in 1 replacement and 2 recharges for York H1RD Series. We have also had 1 Fan Motor replaced. All labor costs for the fan motor were charged to us as well as all costs for the recharges. The first evaporator was replace under recall (likely due to litigation). Now the replacement coil is bad after only two years. We have been told by the service people that there is a quality problem. Also nearly all of our neighbors have had exactly the same problems. We are now told that we must pay the entire cost for parts and labor up front to replace the second coil and we may be reimbursed. This just sounds like a scam. We contacted the company directly and after giving them some information they requested they failed to respond to us again. We have filed a complaint with the BBB and the company thus far has not responded. This company is selling inferior quality products and they know it. They seem to be taking the Lawyers Attitude of Ignore and Deny. This business attitude will in the end bring them down.


Date created: 2011-09-20 Name: charles
Location: florida
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Affinity"
My electric bill was lowered by 60% and we never heard noise about the unit. The home is very comfortable. Great product York YZH Affinity.


Date created: 2011-09-10 Name: jim
Location: St tammany parish la.
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"York 5ton heat pump"
Purchased two 5 ton York heat pump/ac units in 2006. Since that time, three compressor failures, and two cracked pans causing floor damage and sheet rock failure. Both units have a ten year warranty, and most recently, the unit produces a huge volume of water that keeps blowing past the water pan and onto the attic sheet rock. The plastic pan keeps on cracking, and even when it works, the water blows by the pan and the frame stays saturated with water and leaks past the overflow pan. This is no doubt an inferior piece of engineering, the only good thing is that I have a ten year warranty. Now considering a suit against this company for floor damage subsequent to the first change of the first water pan replaced, which continued with an undetected leak.

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com