home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of York central air conditioners

Popularity:
#39  of 56 brands of central air conditioners

27% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 180 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    47
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    122

Read more about York central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous123456789101112131415Next >>

Date created: 2011-11-28 Name: Mark C.
Location: Lima, OH
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Unit"
Surprised to see all the negative reviews on York, I called and my contractor pointed out most are installation or service related. Per his words, if put in and serviced properly York is as good if not better than others.



Date created: 2011-10-24 Name: Robert
Location: Hawaii
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Aloha York"
Our new York unit has worked great for over two years now and living in Hawaii it works all the time, really quiet too!


Date created: 2011-10-11 Name: Chad
Location: Phoenix
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy with York"
Had York ac installed 3 years ago, no problems, much lower energy bills, and unit is quiet. We didn't base our decision on brand but chose the company we trusted most and were happy.


Date created: 2011-09-23 Name: A. Keller
Location: Cornelius, NC
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nightmare Experience"
In less than 4 years we have had 2 bad evaporator coils resulting in 1 replacement and 2 recharges for York H1RD Series. We have also had 1 Fan Motor replaced. All labor costs for the fan motor were charged to us as well as all costs for the recharges. The first evaporator was replace under recall (likely due to litigation). Now the replacement coil is bad after only two years. We have been told by the service people that there is a quality problem. Also nearly all of our neighbors have had exactly the same problems. We are now told that we must pay the entire cost for parts and labor up front to replace the second coil and we may be reimbursed. This just sounds like a scam. We contacted the company directly and after giving them some information they requested they failed to respond to us again. We have filed a complaint with the BBB and the company thus far has not responded. This company is selling inferior quality products and they know it. They seem to be taking the Lawyers Attitude of Ignore and Deny. This business attitude will in the end bring them down.


Date created: 2011-09-20 Name: charles
Location: florida
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Affinity"
My electric bill was lowered by 60% and we never heard noise about the unit. The home is very comfortable. Great product York YZH Affinity.


Date created: 2011-09-10 Name: jim
Location: St tammany parish la.
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"York 5ton heat pump"
Purchased two 5 ton York heat pump/ac units in 2006. Since that time, three compressor failures, and two cracked pans causing floor damage and sheet rock failure. Both units have a ten year warranty, and most recently, the unit produces a huge volume of water that keeps blowing past the water pan and onto the attic sheet rock. The plastic pan keeps on cracking, and even when it works, the water blows by the pan and the frame stays saturated with water and leaks past the overflow pan. This is no doubt an inferior piece of engineering, the only good thing is that I have a ten year warranty. Now considering a suit against this company for floor damage subsequent to the first change of the first water pan replaced, which continued with an undetected leak.


Date created: 2011-09-01 Name: Steve M.
Location: Chicago, IL
Years owned: 15

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crap - Diamond 90 2.5 ton"
These units have been dogs since the day we got them. They are what are called "Builder Specials". Builders get a deal on them because they're base models and if you don't know any better that's what you get. You think you're getting a "brand name" but that is a joke. We've gone through blower motors like crazy and they are a pain to replace. Heat exchanger went at least once. Cheap cabinets. Noisy as hell. Ancient technology. And when you call them they don't care. Now I know why the service company calls them "Dork". Never again.


Date created: 2011-08-30 Name: C. O'Connor
Location: New jersey
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"York POS"
The compressor went and the unit was not even 2 years old...they should be embarrassed to offer a product that is so poorly made.


Date created: 2011-08-28 Name: M.B.
Location: Texas
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nothing But A Nightmare"
This a/c was installed when our home in the country was built 8 years ago. With the exception of the first year in our new home and summer of 2010, we have had major repairs every year. Almost every part of this a/c has been replaced, some more than once. The company that does repairs on our a/c is very reputable and has been in the Central Texas area for 47 years. We trust the people who come to repair our a/C. We do not trust York. Poorly made, substandard rip-off.


Date created: 2011-08-13 Name: Dale T.
Location: Arizona
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Compressor needs replacement"
Since moving into our new home, we have had lots of trouble with this unit. Early on, a capacitor was change out. Now at 5 years and 1 month, it keeps tripping the breaker. Note that the warranty is 5 years. It appears that we either need a new compressor or a new unit. Only a piece of junk would only last 5 years. By far, this is the worst ac unit I have ever owned. This was a cheap builder provided unit. Don't buy York!

<< Previous123456789101112131415Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com