home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of York central air conditioners

Popularity:
#40  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

33% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 259 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    82
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    7
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    13
  • Very Unsatisfied
    151

Read more about York central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2015-08-01 Name: Tim O'Keefe
Location: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very unsatisfied!"
My 2 ton York air conditioner, 6 years old, has not been used extensively. It's the second York unit, the other a 2.5 ton which services our main floor, the 2 ton the second floor. We live in Minnesota, thus this is our second home where the air conditioner is used for 3-4 months seasonally. The compressor went out on the 2 ton, of course a year after the warranty ended, and with the cost of Freon supporting the 2009 unit it's recommended we change out the unit. Given the reviews I see on the York 2 ton, I understand why. Very unhappy, will never use York and certainly will tell my friends building homes the same! Stand behind your products when it fails - - my supplier tells me this is the 6th of these units he's replaced in a year!



Date created: 2015-07-28 Name: dennis denninger
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"My York Has left the building"
Great day today: After 46 months, three thousand dollars in repairs and countless days and night without AC in Florida summers, I replaced this piece of junk with a Carrier. Now if the new unit should fail I don't have to wait weeks for parts. Don't buy a York.


Date created: 2015-07-20 Name: Julie H
Location: Calgary

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Couldn't be happier"
Excellent air conditioner. Came with 10 year warranty, unlike many competitors, which only offered 2-5 years. Keeps us cool and is very quiet.


Date created: 2015-07-17 Name: David S. Clark
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"AC purchase and installation"
As implicit from my answers above, I am very satisfied with both the equipment installed, the company who sold it to me, and with the Frances employees who negotiated the contract and who installed the equipment. What more is there to say.


Date created: 2015-07-17 Name: Jim Welding
Location: Wilmington, DE

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Loud bang noise"
Unit makes unusual bang noise when it shuts down. Our prior home had another brand and we never experienced this sound.


Date created: 2015-07-14 Name: dulcey veiga
Location: New Bedford, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy York"
Bought a new home with a York central air conditioner. 7 years later it has a leak. They did not use copper. Do not buy from them! $2000.00 plus labor to fix.


Date created: 2015-07-09 Name: Shirley Camerer

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Why I like my York"
The York A/C that was installed does just as the contractor said it would. It keeps the cost of cooling down, just as they said it would, which is great for me.


Date created: 2015-07-02 Name: Casey rickett
Location: Kentucky

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love mine"
Had mine 15 years or better, never had any problems until this summer. The compressor went out so I figured it was time for a new unit. I highly recommend York.


Date created: 2015-06-12 Name: B. Wilson
Location: Quincy, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Installation of new AC/heat unit"
Our AC/heat unit was hit by lightning. Our contractor, Mr. Jackson with Climate Control, was very prompt and efficient in replacing the old unit with a new York system.


Date created: 2015-06-10 Name: Hot and Humid...and now PISSED OFF!
Location: Long Island, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Expensive and horrible"
My prior system (Rheem)...no problems until it wore out after 25 years. Got York on the recommendation of a salesman and it had a 5-year warranty. At 5 and one half years, the condenser leaked and there was no AC. Just to look at it, the installation/repair company charged me $675. I had to wait 3 weeks in the hot humid summer for them to show up and tell me it has a leak. Then another 5 weeks to replace it. One repair guy told me that York condensers are known to leak. Wtf? $7000 for AC and it dies after 5 years. That's $1,400 for every three months I use the AC, so basically it's $500 a month to cool my house...sort of. Still not a great cooling.

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com