home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of York central air conditioners

Popularity:
#39  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

34% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 278 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    91
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    8
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    14
  • Very Unsatisfied
    159

Read more about York central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2016-09-20 Name: Doug Portell
Location: Brentwood, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy these units."
Built a new home 2 years ago and have already had to replace coils. $2,000 in labor cost.



Date created: 2016-09-19 Name: Bob menkhaus
Location: Hillsboro, indiana

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total crap"
Four or five years old, the blower was replaced under warranty. It is out again. Every other York contractor I've talked to says our installer (**** ****** , ****** Heating and Air, Lawrenceburg, Indiana) is running the seven-speed blower too fast and the resultant back pressure is burning up the motor. He insists it must be on full speed at all times. Then why does it have seven speeds? Takes him a week to return a call, then another week to come out. Last time he was here he told me "well , I reset it, let's see what it does ". Getting really tired of taking off work for this idiot. Other contractors all tell me they can't work on it , it's ******'s territory. Never, ever buy a York. The Trane in my last house is now 21 years old and has never missed a beat.


Date created: 2016-09-13 Name: S. Havens
Location: Baltimore, MD

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best contractor"
I had Turlington HVAC at my home working on my existing equipment over 20 years ago. From that point forward, based on their manner at my home and their apparent concern for my well-being as well as the owner's knowledge, I would not even consider using anyone but them. If they tell me that this is the best equipment for their needs I believe them, although they do show me SEER and other kinds of comparative info, and relative costs. The equipment works as expected and I'm happy with it.


Date created: 2016-08-15 Name: Christi Hunter
Location: Buckeye, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent unit and service"
Our York AC unit cools our whole house wonderfully. We are very satisfied with it.


Date created: 2016-07-18 Name: Richard Belhumeur
Location: Bath, NH

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best contractor yet!"
Ben Roy from R&R installed a York coil and condenser just recently on my relatively new York furnace. He did an excellent job, on time and on budget. Prior to his installation, he did extensive research to choose the best equipment for my use. When finished, he presented me with all necessary manuals, warranties, and instruction pertaining to the new system. I would highly recommend R&R and York.


Date created: 2016-07-06 Name: J. Martin
Location: Texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pure junk"
We bought our lake home in 2013. Our 5 ton York AC/Heat unit was inspected and at only 3 years old it passed in good shape. June 26, 2015 the fan motor went out. It was replaced. Now, July 6, 2016 we were informed we had to have another fan motor! The real kicker is that we are 10 days out of warranty! Do you think York would give us some type of discount? Hell no! Our tech said he had changed over 500 fan units in the past 2 years. This unit only runs about 10 days in a month. I will never buy nor recommend any York product. Pure junk.


Date created: 2016-07-06 Name: H. Pfeiffer
Location: Palm Springs, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A/C unit"
I am very happy with my purchase of the York unit. I haven't had any issues since installing the unit over 1 year ago. The unit has been very efficient, and my electric bill has even been lowered slightly. The temperature in my area gets very hot, last week 122 degrees, and the unit worked very well. I'm happy with my purchase.


Date created: 2016-06-23 Name: G Klewin
Location: Florence, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"York AC / heat unit"
I live in Arizona and purchased a York AC/heating unit from George Brazil and have not been disappointed. I was told it is made in the USA. Many of the units these days are now being made overseas. This was a selling point for me. I have been pleased with how quiet the unit runs and how powerful the flow of air is. I can cool the house well at 77 degrees. I have watched my bill drop significantly throughout the first year of use. I have nothing negative to say about this unit. I make sure to have it tuned up every 6 months and I change the filters every month. I am counting on getting years of use out of the York unit. So far I am extremely happy with this purchase.


Date created: 2016-06-21 Name: Mac
Location: Alabama

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failed York money pit"
York 4-year-old piggyback unit, now on its third compressor. Each time it's a new warranty battle.


Date created: 2016-06-15 Name: Rebecca Riley
Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"York coils keep leaking"
We installed this unit in 2009. The coil in the attic developed a leak and although the coil was under warranty, we had to pay for Freon and labor. Now the outside coil is leaking and it is no longer under warranty. The part is about $1000, add Freon and labor and we are looking at almost $2000 to repair. We are junking this AC and just looking at it as a bad experience as the repair costs are almost 50% of a new American Standard. York used to be a good brand but is now only junk.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com