home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of York central air conditioners

Popularity:
#43  of 66 brands of central air conditioners

31% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 241 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    72
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    7
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    12
  • Very Unsatisfied
    145

Read more about York central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

Date created: 2010-07-08 Name: Tom Mooney
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL"
If you are considering a York, go bang your head on a wall instead. Don't expect to have air conditioning on a regular basis, either. This company is awful. They shipped our unit with incorrect wiring from the factory & the installer had to rewire the whole unit himself. It's only 4 years old, and it has never worked a full year without major, major problems. Replaced fan motors 6 times. Came "overcharged" with coolant from the factory. This company is exactly why so many Americans had big corporations. You get passed from one guy to the next & no one will own up to the fact that this model is a lemon. Five year olds in a third world country would put out a better product than these jackasses.



Date created: 2010-07-08 Name: Jodi Paulsen
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Biggest POS I've ever encountered!"
Thirteen service calls on a four year old unit. Now have spent more in service calls & repairs than we did on the unit itself. Their dealer can't ever get a tech out here within 24 hours, and in 113 degree heat, I can't wait 3 days for someone to show up, even if it is under warranty. Same parts have been replaced over & over & over. Customer service does not exist at all. Don't buy York! I can't stress this enough! They are beyond reprehensible & put out garbage.


Date created: 2010-07-08 Name: Patrick O'Malley
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"POS"
Had my system serviced and had to have a condensor 375.00. The tech said that they only last about 3 years. What a piece of crap! We have had Geotell and Leonex and never had that problem. I wish I had never put that pos up on my roof.


Date created: 2010-07-08 Name: J. Smith
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"JUNK....run away from this company"
This air conditioner was expensive and it has never worked right.


Date created: 2010-07-05 Name: Teresa Davitt
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"york vs coleman"
I would like to set the record straight. Many brands have sister brands, Goodman/Amana, Carrier/Bryant, Lennox/Armstrong, Coleman/York. Don't be a senseless consumer. The installer is the only difference between equipment. Find a contractor who owns and installs him or herself. Make the contractor agree to at least 5 yr money back in writing. If they are confident, they won't hesitate.


Date created: 2010-07-01 Name: M. Kutten
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"York AC is no good"
I bought a model house from Orleans Builders that has a York ac installed. The ac has been down since we moved in on 6/3/10 (about two years after the house was built). First, I was told by R&D (the company who installed it, that the coil is on recall. It took them two weeks to get it. Then, I was told that the compressor is bad. It took them another week to get it. Now, I am told that the new coil has bad txv valve and it would take several days to get. This is probably the worst ac on the market.


Date created: 2010-06-29 Name: C. Davis
Years owned: 39

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"C Davis"
This York was in the house when we bought it in 1987. It had been put in when the house was built in 1971. We have had excellent service. It has never failed - not once. We have it serviced once at the beginning of the summer and it's good to go until the next year. We have now added on to our home and find that the unit is too small to give adequate cooling - and the expense is outrageous! $600-700 monthly electric bills are not uncommon. Now, we have to buy a new unit that will work as good as our York, be more economical, and win the battle with our hot Georgia summers! We were convinced that another York was the way to go, but the York reviews on this site aren't very encouraging. What to do? What to do? Any suggestions?


Date created: 2010-06-24 Name: T. Edwards
Years owned: 34

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Keeps on ticking"
AC service man checked my York system earlier this summer, and once again everything is fine. He says my York AC condenser is from 1976. Amazing that it remains trouble-free and cools very well!


Date created: 2010-06-15 Name: Dave Cantrell
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Owner"
I bought a York system when I built my new home. The company that installed it (Budget Heating) did an outstanding job. I was going with Trane but after talking with my neighbors about the company and with the company itself, I have got to say it was one of my best building decisions ever.


Date created: 2010-06-14 Name: Brian M.
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"York junk"
I've been in a new house now for four years and have had to have the refrigerant replaced more than a few times, as it continues to leak out. After multiple attempts, my service guys found the leak in the "coil box". The part is still under warranty but labor apparently isn't covered. Then someone at work informs me they have a York air unit around the same age and have had this part replaced 5 times already! Sounds like a recall to me.

<< Previous123456789101112131415161718Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com