home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of WEATHERKING central air conditioners

Popularity:
#26  of 61 brands of central air conditioners

35% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 48 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    24

Read more about WEATHERKING central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345Next >>

Date created: 2010-07-06 Name: Theo
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage"
Model number 10aja3601. Unit was installed in July of 2004. Every year maintained and serviced. The unit apparently had a leak in the compressor that was too small to detect with nitro bursts. Compressor blew out 1 week ago during hottest part of day (Giant hissing sound). Unit was in perfect order and then this. Apparently, compressors are supposed to average 10 years. After reading reviews, it is clear that it is luck of the draw. Hopefully, your problem will be caught while still under warranty. Otherwise, you are at the mercy of the manufacturer. From my personal experience, Rheem corporation and its distributors, stand behind the warranty, not the product.



Date created: 2010-07-06 Name: Mrs. Fleming

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"weatherking review"
I had no problem with it once it was hooked up properly. Builder didn't hook it up completely initially, but once it was installed, it kept home nice and cool.


Date created: 2010-07-05 Name: E. Gives
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"weather king"
This unit worked only the Fall it was installed. Runs very loud & does not cool, usually 80 degrees inside the house.


Date created: 2010-06-24 Name: D. Self
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"WeatherKing junk."
AC came new with the house 6 years ago. Nothing but problems from the git-go and I had it serviced every Spring. Leaking freon, blown capacitor. Compressor gave out last weekend on a 95 degree day at 6-years-old. Warranty only good for 5 years. A total piece of junk!


Date created: 2010-05-30 Name: J. Allen
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Weatherking Central AC"
Worked fine for 1 year. The next summer had to hire contractor to fix it. Worked for 2 weeks then stopped blowing out cold air. It only works at night. Right now, it's 82 degrees in the house. Central air is on. Have to have window ac in bedroom. Ridiculous junk. Don't waste your money.


Date created: 2010-05-04 Name: Bob Miller
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Company Support Sucks!"
I've had this unit for a little over a year. The compressor dies and I'm told I have to pay for a new one plus $85.00 for a retrofit kit because they don't make my type of compressor anymore plus the labor to install it and Weatherking "might" refund the compressor money. What a scam!!Ruud, Rheem and Weatherking are all the same company and junk!


Date created: 2010-04-30 Name: Robert W. Greer
Years owned: 21

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Fonz56"
I couldn't ask for better. In its 21 years of service(had a GE lasted a whole 11 years). No problems at all. As a matter of fact, I'm thinking of replacing the GE noisy air handler and if price is right will replace the perfect WeatherKing with new unit with a heat pump. Unfortunately, WeatherKing has sold out but hoping to get a unit just as good.


Date created: 2010-04-14 Name: I. Josephta
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Physical theraphys"
It's a piece of junk. Only worked for 2 years then the compressor failed.


Date created: 2009-10-31 Name: SSG Dykes M R.
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Hard to beat"
I am a tech type of guy. I have grown up in the plumbing, electrical and hvac world. I have worked for industries, military and thousands of residential homes. I installed a WeatherKing unit for a friend several years back and have been very pleased by it. The unit is similar to all designs but has a few extra options that you find in your top end brands. I have found out troughout the years that people at times don't pay attention what there doing or really even know and thus causing trouble at first of later down the road with a/c and heating units like all mechanical devices. I have worked on many different brands and have noticed that WeatherKing hasn't been one of them. With the correct installation and service it is a good unit for the money.


Date created: 2009-08-03 Name: M Canfield

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Weatherking A/C unit"
The a/c unit failed after 4 years, as did 5 of the units on our street put in by the same contractor. Went without a/c for over 6 weeks in the hot al summer. Never buy any product from this company-Service and warranty are useless

<< Previous12345Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com