home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of WEATHERKING central air conditioners

Popularity:
#29  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

34% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 50 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    4
  • Very Unsatisfied
    26

Read more about WEATHERKING central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345Next >>

Date created: 2011-07-21 Name: JC
Location: NY
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mr."
Our Weatherking 3 ton unit has worked in terms of giving us our comfortable 72 degrees -- but it has required a charge of refrigerant every year for 5 years straight which cost us about $250 per visit here in New York. Now last week the compressor went. Under warranty (barely) but now need to pay another $250 for the refrigerant after compressor is swapped out. So $7k for system, and another $1,250 for refrigerant over 5 years. You do the math. When it works, it's great but other than changing filters and washing outside coils, not much more a homeowner can do on his/her own. I will likely never install central a/c again (in next homes). Wall/window units are cheaper to buy, install and use. (I know some of you don't agree with this but I have had window/wall units for 20 years and more in many cases without a single issue). For a few hundred bucks you throw it out and buy a new one more efficient and quieter than the last one. If it was the install, how come everyone on this forum hates Weatherking. Did we all use the same contractor? I don't think so. Weatherking = garbage. By the way, all of my family and friends with different brands and different contractors also have many problems/break downs with theirs. central a/c = garbage



Date created: 2011-06-06 Name: L. Gski
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" NOT HAPPY!!!"
We had this unit installed three weeks ago, this unit never worked properly since it was installed!! Compressor was bad. Weather King is junk. Do not buy.


Date created: 2011-05-31 Name: Brian
Location: Georgia
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"WeatherKing 3 Ton (10AJA3601)"
If you are in the market, I suggest steering clear of this brand. Installed 2003. in 2009 had to spend $624 on contact. in May 2011 compressor has gone out. System has been maintained yearly, with filters replaced every 3 months. Weatherking gives a 5 year warranty, this should be enough reason not to buy this product. Spend a little extra and go with a reputable dealer who offers a 10 year warranty on parts. I will never purchase Weatherking again!


Date created: 2011-03-19 Name: larry
Location: ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Ac"
Have had it since 2003 no problems2011 still goning strong


Date created: 2011-03-01 Name: gene

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Weatherking Sucks"
Apparently i made it a few months long than some of the people on this site. got it clean and serviced in 09 then 10 the fan when't out. Now in 2011 the compressor goes out . Yep its a p.o.s. unit don't buy it!


Date created: 2010-10-01 Name: B. A.
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Money wasted"
After a Year the unit began giving many problems


Date created: 2010-09-20 Name: Greg
Location: Peabody KS

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great unit"
Going on 12 years never had a problem. All I have done is clean the coils.


Date created: 2010-09-08 Name: Al
Location: Riverside, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very good Air Conidtioner"
Our weather king has been running since 2004 and has only had a run capacitor replaced during this past 6 years of service


Date created: 2010-08-08 Name: Steven

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"20 yeard old outside unit"
I have an older outside weatherking unit being used to air condition a 900 square ft motor home. I am beginning to have problems with the unit and wonder if I am still able to get part for it.


Date created: 2010-07-27 Name: L. Banning

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mr. Len"
Compressor and air handler installed in June 2010. Problems right from the start. Never could get house temp less than 77, then climbed to 81. This happened several times. Serviceman found the compressor to be intermittent (ran but did not circulate the 410). Felt sorry for the ac mechanic who came out several times, but unfortunately the system always was in its "partially working" mode when he came. He spent lots of time before the unit "failed", and revealed the problem. Will try to get installer to install a Rheem instead of the Weatherking.

<< Previous12345Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com