home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Trane central air conditioners

Popularity:
#41  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

33% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 486 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    149
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    16
  • Neutral
    14
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    22
  • Very Unsatisfied
    285

Read more about Trane central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous18192021222324252627282930313233Next >>

Date created: 2009-09-06 Name: Kathleen Stephens
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Our XR-13 failed after only 2 years!!!"
In August 2007 we had an xr-13 trane a/c unit installed. In August 2009 it failed after 2 years of service. It cost us $710 to have a txu Expansion Valve replaced. We're retired and this expense was definitely not appreciated. Needless to say, we are very disappointed in trane's quality... and the service we were able to receive wasn't the best either. We called the original installer (ars) who charged $99 to come out...only to tell us he couldn't diagnose the problem until the ice on the coil melted...which would cost an additional $147 for him to wait. Since it was Friday afternoon, and he really didn't want to wait, he was going to come back out monday (for an additional $99!!). We ended up having a local contractor come out on Saturday. The service technician didn't even mention a warranty, but I know parts are covered for the first 5 years. If the part is under warranty, how do we get reimbursed for the cost? Our neighbor just had their a/c unit replaced and we told them not to get a trane. They purchased a goodman which Consumer Reports also gives high marks to. Guess we'll live and learn.



Date created: 2009-09-05 Name: Nino Ruggiero
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nino Ruggiero"
I have two Trane Air conditioner units both 6 years old one unit leaked freon and had to replace the coil cost me over $1100.00 When I looked online to get some more facts on Trane I learned that Trane is owned by Ingersoll Rand everything makes sense now when a company with a good name is bought by a bigger company more often than not they cash on the past reputation and the quality goes down as it happened with Trane.When investing a lot of money in these units they should certainly last more than six years. Oh by the way the warranty on my unit was for five years.


Date created: 2009-08-24 Name: Yvonne
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Trane is to blame"
Five years ago Trane a/c unit was installed new. Many problems...needs new compressor and two other parts (circuit board and relay?). It worked fine up until this year. This is our second call for service this season. I hope parts are readily available. I have a yearly service contract with the furnace company that installed it. I think I'm covered, but it's a huge inconvenience.


Date created: 2009-08-17 Name: Doug

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Trane Installer"
As a small hvac company Only Trane is offered for product. Having installed over 30 units in 2 years there has been 0 problems and the only complaining is that they don't break down. Trane offers a 10 year warranty and stand behind their products 100%. Trane is top of the line with Lennox running second. Carrier running with amanna and goodman.


Date created: 2009-08-12 Name: D. Lundy
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Follow-up for M Abercrombie"
I purchased a new Trane system on 9/02/08 at the recommendation of McBee Heating & Air in Tulsa. When I turned on the ac this summer, my garage developed a steady stream of water running from the closet containing the unit. I called McBee & their tech came right out looked at the problem and reported "the simplest way to fix this is to run a new drain line down the garage wall and out into the garden." After inspecting the pipe and finding the dust of the past 10 months undisturbed, I did some research. I called McBee back & questioned the need for new drainage when the existing might be viable. Mr. McBee advised that the line was probably blown out with co2 at install & he "wasnt liable for any water damage & couldn't help if a mouse or critter had clogged my drain since then." In frustration, I called my plumber. He discovered an algae plug where the pvc drain pipe meets the system. He removed it & advised that McBees installer reused the old pvc drain pipe from the previous system. My plumber installed new pvc pipe connected to the existing drain, which works perfectly. McBee treated me like I was an idiot. My problem was not with Trane; my problem is with the installer I purchased it from. I am disappointed because McBee installed the system for my parents and they recommended I continue to use McBee.


Date created: 2009-08-12 Name: Louise F.
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality and poor service"
I have a two year old home with a Trane air conditioner that was installed by the builder. The coil has failed twice. Trane has paid for the part, but I have had to pay for shipping, labor and freon for both failures. No response to four voice messages to the Trane distributor. Trane Corporation responded to my email and suggested purchase of an extended warranty. However, the local dealer says extended warranty is not available because the quality of the unit is so poor.


Date created: 2009-08-08 Name: Big Dave
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Trane Air Condition Units are Crap"
The Trane unit I purchased a little over 8 years ago for $6,000 a (model ze1200), is a complete piece of junk. This thing has needed over $1200 in repairs in the last three years and it is currently broken again. It constantly stops cooling and needed everything from freon to brand a new contactor. It was repaired about three months ago. It is looking like the unit will need to be replaced but you can be sure it will NOT be a TRANE. Please, anyone looking to by a TRANE will be in for a nightmare. I have now had three repair people to tell me that these unit only last 4-6 years. If anyone has one that lasted longer then count themselves lucky!


Date created: 2009-08-05 Name: Jasmin Figueroa
Location: Downtown Miami

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crane A/C is a consumer's nightmare"
I purchased a loft in a brand new high-rise and the a/c unit is only 1.5 years old and already it has a defective compressor. I called and they basically said sorry the unit is only covered for 12 months. That is insane when some units are covered for up to 10 years! I know of owners that had defective units before they even closed on their properties. It's funny to read the comments from someone stating that this forum is just for complaints and not for happy consumers because if that consumer was experiencing problems of course they could also take the time to let other's know of the poor quality product being placed on the market by trane. Signed, Very dissatisfied consumer in Downtown Miami.


Date created: 2009-07-31 Name: P. FILIBERTI
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"TRANE A/C problems"
I have a 2.5 ton 12 seer gas/pac and have required freeon re-fills & service calls and strange compressor noises & sometimes just not cooling- have been told there 's aleak in the evaporator coil and with both these 2 major components - have been advised it would be cheaper to buy a new unit!!!this all happened when unit was just 6 yrs old!ridiculous! A/c tECHS say in 2010 this type of unit will be obsolete? And we won't be able to afford reg freeon ? is this just hype to sell new units? I am disgusted!


Date created: 2009-07-28 Name: Lois Coppola
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Trane Goodman and ALL A/C units"
How many people that are really happy with their a/c's are taking time out of their busy day to write a good review? These reviews are all the people that have had a bad experience and are furious with the company that makes them. They get on here and write a bad review as some type of revenge against the company. I wouldnt take these reviews too seriously. Do your homework but dont base your purchase on these reviews.

<< Previous18192021222324252627282930313233Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com