home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Trane central air conditioners

Popularity:
#41  of 66 brands of central air conditioners

34% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 480 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    149
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    16
  • Neutral
    14
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    21
  • Very Unsatisfied
    280

Read more about Trane central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous151617181920212223242526272829303132Next >>

Date created: 2010-06-09 Name: Wayne
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Early failure"
Our compressor on this less than 4 year old model failed to start. Told that parts were covered, but not labor even though the Trane dealer did not offer any service contract at the time of purchase. New compressor installed after 6 hours of labor failed to start. We are now told that we have to wait an additional 3 weeks for a new part and pay redundant labor costs, or pay $6000 for a new unit. Never ever buy a Trane!



Date created: 2010-06-04 Name: J. Tomlinson
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dying of Heat!"
Brand new install of a Trane HVAC system. 2 20 Ton units supposed to heat and cool our 12,000 square foot space. It does not work. Trane is very slow to send out technicians to work on the system - we are told that perhaps the problems can be worked out in programming (the system is such that only Trane technicians can program it - now that is called forced customer service) and for all I know they are correct. But after sitting in my office for more than 2 weeks in a consistent temperature of over 80 degrees, and no Trane technician coming - I really do not care why the system does not work. I am simply tired of being hot, and Trane does not seem to care. If I were doing it again, it would not be with Trane.


Date created: 2010-06-04 Name: Jeff Talley
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy a Trane"
Don't buy anything made by Trane. We have had nothing but problems with it and can't talk to anyone from Trane.


Date created: 2010-06-03 Name: Texas Kevin

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Trane"
I am building a home and have just been doing a little pre-exploring of HVAC info not to mention Trane as our primary pick. A lot of the postings on here I feel based from the reading I am doing are more because of the AC repair folks and not the Trane product line itself. Like the fact that two evap coils would go out at the same time... I have read from experts this is a hallmark of a scam, almost impossible to have happen. Leaks are another scam area... also no good AC repair guy should load freon into a system to detect a leak, they use Nitrogen. (Finding a honest AC repair guy is like finding a good auto guy...very hard; but keep looking, and get several bids) Proper cleaning and annual maintenance is important to... Honest AC guys are out there... somewhere. I found some great websites where HVAC experts will help you with Q & A forums.


Date created: 2010-06-02 Name: Jeff Boyd
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy a Trane"
Since the day we bought the Trane unit, we have had problems. There are coolant leaks and other problems. We have had 5 service calls on a new unit. I will never buy anything made by Trane again.


Date created: 2010-06-01 Name: B. DeBase
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Need freon for two-year-old Trane AC"
Replaced a 22-yr old less expensive unit with a Trane in 2008. The Trane is now out of freon. Had to replace freon last two years of old, inefficient unit's life. Upgraded for better efficiency, I thought. Who ever heard of a two-year-old unit needing freon?


Date created: 2010-05-26 Name: John Smith
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Trane no thanks"
Many failures with the equipment...paid top dollar and go poor value...good dealer, bad company.


Date created: 2010-05-26 Name: Some Dude

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crap"
Our company has five voyager roof top systems that are complete junk.


Date created: 2010-05-25 Name: Marie
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Trane a/c residential unit"
Every year, at least once a year, it shuts down. The compressor blew within the first 3 years. We will never purchase another Trane unit and will not recommend a Trane to anyone!


Date created: 2010-05-24 Name: A. Solnick
Years owned: 14

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Al & Jo"
We were told when we built our house that Trane was the best - well, we sure expected it to last longer than 14 years! It appears the coils (there are two) have to be replaced and cannot be repaired or built-in obsolence. Maybe our factories need to come home to get a decent product. Oh, and our Trane furnace was repaired in the Fall of 09 and cost nearly $1k. If considering a Trane - move on.

<< Previous151617181920212223242526272829303132Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com