home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Trane central air conditioners

Popularity:
#41  of 66 brands of central air conditioners

34% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 477 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    148
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    16
  • Neutral
    14
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    21
  • Very Unsatisfied
    278

Read more about Trane central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous89101112131415161718192021222324252627Next >>

Date created: 2011-03-09 Name: RG

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I WILL NEVER BUY TRANE AGAIN"
I HAVE HAD A TRANE FOR 3 YEARS...BRAND NEW UNIT ON NEW CONSTRUCTION HOUSE...EVERY ONE OF THE THREE YEARS I HAVE HAD THE INFAMOUS FREON LEAK EVERYONE IS TALKING ABOUT WITH TRANE...I SEE SOMEONE ON HERE SAY THAT THE PROBLEM IS AIR CONDITIONER REPAIR MEN SCAMS, BUT I WOULD NOT HAVE HAD TO CALL THE GUY IN THE FIRST PLACE IF THE FREON HAD NOT RUN OUT...REPLACED THE COIL THE FIRST YEAR...280.00...REPLACED THE COIL THE SECOND YEAR...280.00 AND NOW AGAIN...THE REPAIR GUY SAYS THAT TRANE REPLACES THE COIL FOR 5 YEARS BUT I HAVE TO PAY THE 280.00 LABOR FEE...SO AFTER THE 5TH YEAR, I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE COIL TOO, SO IT WILL BE WAY MORE ONCE THE WARRANTY RUNS OUT...REPAIR GUY SAYS THEY ARE MAKING THE COILS VERY THIN...WILL NEVER BUY TRANE AGAIN



Date created: 2011-03-02 Name: MEL LOCKLEAR
Location: CORINTH, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BUYER BEWARE TRANE XL20I"
THIS IS THE TOP OF THE LINE FROM TRANE. IT IS SOLD TO CONSUMERS AS TO HOW WELL IT IS BUILT AND TESTED HOWEVER WITHIN 6 MONTHS FAILURE OF BOTH COMPRESSORS AS WELL AS SOME UNKNOWN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. TRANE STATES THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED, BUT IS UNWILLING TO REPLACE THE COMPRESSOR UNIT, INDICATING THERE MUST BE THREE EVENTS BEFORE THEY WILL CONSIDER AND THE FAILURE OF BOTH COMPRESSORS IS CONSIDERED ONE.....IF THEY ARE NO MORE WILLING TO STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT THEN THIS YOU MAY WANT TO RETHINK TRANE


Date created: 2011-02-25 Name: t

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Awesome"
Awesome quality


Date created: 2011-01-14 Name: j. erhardt
Location: phoenix

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Suppervisior"
Cannot rate Lennox yet, Had a Trane for 30 years and finally it bit the az dirt, in process of getting new one but after reading oaa the dissatisfied people with Lennox guess I will be getting a Trane,this unit never gave me one bit of trouble, and Had it since the house was built in 1976,Trane was very good to me,,


Date created: 2010-12-08 Name: K.W. Tait
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Can't Stop a Trane"
Purchased a Trane A/C unit used back in 1980. Paid $300 for it, the tubing and the coil. After the installer returned the next day to install a filter drier it worked great for 30 years. This past summer it developed a small leak. I've never had a previous service call. I'm looking to upgrade with a high efficiency furnace and air conditioner. After reading lots of the reviews on all the different makes I'm afraid to take out my old Trane.


Date created: 2010-12-06 Name: Mike D
Location: Arizona

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"DO YOUR HOMEWORK BEFORE YOU BUY!"
The biggest complaints I see all go back to one main problem: YOU DIDN'T DO YOUR HOMEWORK BEFORE YOU BOUGHT! 1) Don't just read reviews - get the facts on what the system can and cannot do. That comes from the manufacturer. 2) Pick the right contractor. Most states have a Registry for Licensed Contractors. Check their records for complaints. Interview them carefully. You need this person to install it right. A high percentage of complaints are NOT because of "a junk piece of equipment" BUT are attributed to poor install! 3) Learn about what you are buying. Get a basic education in how and why they work. You don't need to run out and get a HVAC Refrigerant Handlers certification. You do NEED to know about the system in general. 4) Have the contractor do a flow study to make sure you have the correct duct and intake size. Proper sizing of the package is what save money. The biggest $$$ occurs when the system initially starts its cycle. Over-cycling is where you lose money! 5) Use the correct filters!! Improper filters (which only only run about $8-$10) can cause a variable speed system to blow up. The term is "volumetric efficiency". If it can't breathe in ... it can't put out. When I read a complaint I can usually see where the person made the mistake. The paid big bucks for repairs = you didn't buy the extended warranty. If the extended warranty wasn't available = you're buying "contractor grade" that doesn't qualify for it. They won't stand behind it = you chose the wrong contractor. I've only had 1 problem with my last Trane. It occurred about 9 years into the life. Repairs were covered 100%. Was I inconvenienced? Yep - It was 110 degrees and I was without AC for about 8 hours. Would I recommend a Trane? - Yep. Getting ready to install another within the month. Just remember - its your money - spend it wisely!


Date created: 2010-12-06 Name: Deepak gaurav
Location: Panjim GOA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"TRANE climate changer air handler model DWAA 1109HA5 A SPARE PARTS DETAIL"
TRANE climate changer air handler model DWAA 1109HA5 A SPARE PARTS DETAIL


Date created: 2010-12-06 Name: Deepak gaurav
Location: Panjim GOA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"TRANE climate changer air handler model DWAA 1109HA5 A SPARE PARTS DETAIL"
Wanted an MODEL- DWAA 1109HA5 A SPARE PARTS DETAIL ( Quantum Climate Changer Air Handler )


Date created: 2010-11-30 Name: J Smith
Location: Tyler, Tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied"
It is indeed hard to stop a trane, because it is harder to get it started. Ix1200 is a piece of junk. Has 3rd compressor, heater motor, heater control board, and all double the parts price of the competitors.


Date created: 2010-11-30 Name: l. wolby
Location: la puente,

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Heat pump"
The heating/ air conditioning system is very good. It is quiet ,so you can leave it on while you are sleeping and not be disturbed when it turns on & off. It provides a comfortable environment all the time. My only complaint is that the company that installed the unit, and service it, does not seem to be trained by TRANE -- i think that it is analogous to having excellent food but a lousy cook.

<< Previous89101112131415161718192021222324252627Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com