home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of TEMPSTAR central air conditioners

Popularity:
#22  of 61 brands of central air conditioners

42% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 109 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    42
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    5
  • Very Unsatisfied
    54

Read more about TEMPSTAR central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2009-06-17 Name: Al
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Efficient, No Problems"
My 2-ton Tempstar came with my new Maronda home in 2007. I've never had a problem with the unit. I have a programmable thermostat that keeps the house at 75 degrees during the nights and weekends and up to 80 while I'm at work. My power bills are typically $110.00 per month during the summer and I sacrifice nothing. The Maronda house around the unit, however, is a pile of crap. Cracks in the ceiling that were "Fixed" multiple times under warranty became my problem once the warranty expired. In summary: Buy a Tempstar, avoid a Maronda home.



Date created: 2009-06-12 Name: Sergio Casais
Years owned: 17

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Un equipo de puta madre"
Compré en Argentina un equipo de 5 toneladas tempstar sin saber bien de que se trataba. Un primo que vive en usa me dijo que era bueno. No se equivocó. Lleva 17 años funcionando perfectamente, jamás fue necesario un service. I bought a 5 tons. Central Unit 17 years ago and still is working fine. I have never had to ask for service. Very good. Very satisfied!


Date created: 2009-05-30 Name: c. ostrander
Location: Fort Myers, Florida
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tempstar poor design and quality"
This unit came with my new house, Holiday Builders in Fort Myers, Floida. One design flaw is the location of the replacement filters. It's located under the handler. I have to physically lift the whole unit ( heavy as hell )with one hand and replace the filter with the other. What was the Tempstar designers thinking? Not the consumer I guess. Also, within the first three years my coils froze up and I was told by a/c professionals that looked at the unit to replace them as they have "rusted". They do not recommend these units as they have so many problems and good luck trying to find parts. Right now my outside condensor fan is banging and I have to shut down the whole unit so I won't piss off the neighborhood. I don't recommend Tempstar to anyone.


Date created: 2009-05-20 Name: Tina
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Frustration Never Ending"
I have a Tempstar central air unit that came with the whole house heating/cooling system that was installed. I've had nothing but problems with the air conditioning unit. For years it made this horrible clunking sound when it would turn off - came to find out it was the condesor failing. Last summer sometimes it would work, sometimes not. Had the installer come out last summer and they told me that the condensor needed to be replaced, but the warranty only covers the unit, not the labor - which would cost me approx. $700 - are you kidding? Now its spring and the condensor will not kick on at all. Why would I bandaid a less than adequate unit rather than replace with something that will hopefully be much more quiet, efficient and last 3 times longer. Ridiculous! Dont buy one.


Date created: 2009-05-06 Name: G.S.
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"PIECE OF JUNK"
3.5 ton, 12 seer This piece of crap has needed repair every year of the 5 years that I've owned it. Now, 6 weeks after the warranty expired the compressor is out.


Date created: 2009-04-30 Name: TEMPSTAR

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"STEVE"
One thing everyone needs to know. most out side units come from the factory with the fron in it already. in other words, the inside coil must be the right size for the out side unit in but's etc. if the coil in side is the wrong size (smaller or larger) than what is needs to be then the system will not work the way it was designed for there is only enough freon in the out side unit that is required to run a matched unit. also if the installes brazes the line set, he needs to use nitrogin to cool the inside lines while brazing and also there should be a inline filter installed in the liquid line side of the line set. also after all said and done the installes needs to use a vacuum pump to evac all air from the inside coil and line set. after he uses a vacuum pump and takes the coil and line down to a zero reading the installer needs to let this stand for at least a half hour. if the gauge goes up, then there is a leak in the coil or line set and no freon should be put in system untill the leak is fixed. if the gauge does not go up then the installer just has to open the valve on the out side unit and the freon in the outside unit flows into the system and the system is ready to work, if the installer does not hear the gas rush into the system, that means the outside unit had a leak from the factory and should be replaced at that time. if all said and done ther should never be an freon leak in the system unless the system had a defect from the word go and only opened up later in the units use from vibration, cold coils etc. if caps fail, coils fail etc then this is a fault of the company not the installer if he did his job correctly.


Date created: 2009-04-29 Name: TEMPSTAR
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Short Cycles Cost"
This unit has a mind of its own. Sometimes it comes on and shuts off immediately. Then maybe it will work for a half hour, then it will start short cycling. Energy bill is through the roof. Can't find anyone to repair. Mike from M.A.D. Mechanical has spent numerous hours trying to remedy the problem to no avail. Fifth attempt to remedy this problem will be 5/2/2009. Electrician has numerous trips checking electrical to no avail. Who knows what's next. To lose a valuable customer this way is a shame. Thanks Tempstar, even though I know its just a name. t2a060gk 5 ton.


Date created: 2009-04-16 Name: TEMPSTAR

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Installation company not the equipment"
Regarding the Tempstar brand. Looking at all of the complaints in my opinion, it seems as though most of the troubles stem from installation procedures not the equipment. As far as leaks in the evap coils it's very common that the installation company may be at fault. To see so many complaints regarding this equipment in relation to leaks and freeze- ups or ice-ups due to loss of refrigerant, I would look more toward the installing company not the equipment. These coils are tested at the factory prior to shipping and are charged with nitrogen when shipped. Upon installation the capping is removed and the charge is released so the installation tech can tell if there is a defect in the coil upon doing so. If a charge is released, the coil is good if the charge has depleated from the factory to the installation site, the coil is sure to have developed a leak in shipping. Additionally upon installation, when the components are screwed together it's common for sheetmetal screw tips to puncture the coils if the installation technician uses too long of a screw causing a small but sure leak. It can take an entire season for the charge to deplete causing the system to run constantly until it ices up and fails or worse burns the compressor out. I am a service tech with more than 30 years of experience and there are in fact differences in the quality of equipment, but more likely than not, the same internal components, compressors, contactors, relays etc. that you will find in a major brand names you will also find in a not so recognized brand. This is the case with most appliances as well.


Date created: 2009-03-10 Name: Annie
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tempstar - very poor quality"
I had problems about 2 1/2 years after this new unit was installed in the new townhome that was just built. $2000 and 4 repair trips later, the system is down again. Time to buy a real unit now. What a sorry piece of junk this Tempstar unit is. The warranty is 2yr - Isn't that convenient.


Date created: 2009-02-19 Name: G. Thomas
Location: Brookfield, Wisconsin
Years owned: 17

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tempstar has been good to me!"
My central air was installed in 1992 and has never been serviced at all. It still works perfectly. It is a 12 seer scroll compressor. What more can one say?

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2015 furnacecompare.com