home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of TAPPAN central air conditioners

Popularity:
#61  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

7% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 13 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    1
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    10

Read more about TAPPAN central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
12Next >>

Date created: 2016-09-28 Name: Julie Valley
Location: Dallas, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tappan HVAC system"
Bought a complete new HVAC system - inside unit and outside in June, 2013. May, 2016 it wouldn't cool. Service company said it was the inside coils leaking and the part was under warranty. But I had to pay an installation fee of $500. August, 2016 they had to replace the contactor. Part was under warranty and service company did not charge labor. I have never seen an HVAC unit that lasted less than 10 years in residential use. This company should pay for the labor on this crappy system.



Date created: 2015-08-06 Name: Angie Foster
Location: Mulliken, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Frozen coils"
Not happy with this unit. Installed a month ago, it does not blow out cold air. The coils are freezing up. Cannot seem to get return calls. Spent over $3000. Not happy. I do not recommend Tappan brand.


Date created: 2014-10-28 Name: L Stevens
Location: Texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Avoid Nordyne"
Tappan is manufactured by Nordyne. Nordyne also manufactures many other brands of air conditioners and they all have the same problem: the coils fail. Some fail within 6 months, some fail fail in 4 years. Look on the internet, it's being written about. My unit is 30 months old. Nordyne will give a "credit" for the coils but will not pay for the labor to replace the coils. My A/C tech wants to charge me $1500. What's sad is that it will happen again, unless I totally replace it with a unit not manufactured by Nordyne.


Date created: 2014-03-27 Name: ed roh
Location: al

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tappan junk"
I have had My Tappan for 9 years. I have had the unit worked on every 6 months Junk


Date created: 2013-09-13 Name: D. Colella
Location: Waterbury, Ct

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tappan Split System Air Cooled Condensing Unit Coil With Blower"
We had this Tappan central air conditioner installed 3 years ago and it has been nothing but trouble. I have had to get technicians here to repair or replace coolant, primary pan which cracked, pipes that broke, and leaked water through two floors. I would never consider buying Tappan products again. I don't need another nightmare!!


Date created: 2013-07-30 Name: T. Smith
Location: Texas

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unhappy"
Replaced my entire heating/air conditioning system last year, almost $10,000 worth. I got a lemon!! I've had so many parts replaced it should be almost new, but have been without A/C since Friday. Suppose to get a loaner heat pump today. I'll never be a future owner of anything Tappan.


Date created: 2013-05-18 Name: Tim Titus
Location: Austin, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Two Speed Tappan - Lifetime Compressor"
Wow, I'm very happy with my new unit. It is very quiet and my electric bills have really gone down. You can't beat the warranties! I love it running in the lower speed. The guys that put it in did a really nice job. Thanks Autumn! I had a Carrier before, lots of problems.


Date created: 2013-04-21 Name: mike montgomery
Location: indpls, In.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Installation/service is everything"
I have no ties to Tappan equipment, never sold it or installed their equipment. As a 40 yr old veteran of the HVAC business, I am amazed that people complain about a brand of equipment. If your warranty doesn't cover 'real problems, not maintenance or acts of God, and abuse, you should have bought a better parts/labor warranty. 80% of the problems with equipment are do to improper installation and maintenance! Choose your contractor wisely.


Date created: 2012-07-19 Name: elizabeth
Location: Bellaire,tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy Tappan"
My builder installed two brand new Tappan hvac units in my house 5 years ago. Ever since I have problems with them. Do not buy this brand!


Date created: 2012-04-15 Name: fred fedor
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Had Nothing But Trouble"
Had nothing but trouble: a coil leaked. Took two years to find it because of the design. One year after replacing it, the unit quit working. Model cr22kf pfv 230. Model value was 5,000 dollars.

12Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com