home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Rheem central air conditioners

Popularity:
#42  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 287 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    70
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    9
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    13
  • Very Unsatisfied
    190

Read more about Rheem central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2012-12-22 Name: beatty
Location: south florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"The worst"
I had 2 units installed in march 2012. The one has never worked right. Freon leaked constantly and they can't find the leak. Thousands of dollars in repair and still no a/C. The second unit will not heat. Only cool air, no heat. Out thousands of dollars and no a/c or heat!!!!



Date created: 2012-11-29 Name: R.Buss
Location: Fogelsville, Pa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heat pump A/C whole house units"
I had two heat pump a/c units installed 8/2009. Both units failed this year 2012 due to leakage. Sure the units were warranteed, but the heafty $1200 labor wasn't. Correspondence to Rheem (both customer service and their President) for assistance to recover some of the labor cost went unanswered. Poor quality, poor company, do not even consider them!


Date created: 2012-11-04 Name: Steven Nicholson
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3.5 ton ac compressor failed"
Sure thought Rheem was top quality. 2 years after purchase tech said you know we no longer install Rheem because of many failures. Chilling news. Then in 6th yr of 7 yr warranty the compressor failed. Labor to replace is big aggravation not to mention the down time!


Date created: 2012-10-26 Name: John
Location: Dewey,AZ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"RGPS-C7NAMGR"
After only one summer I was told that my compressor over amped at start-up. I Paid a lot of money for a split system unit because I was told how long they would last. I Was also informed that this happens quite often and could be prevented by adding a part at manufacturing. Now it needs a kick start that cost over $200. I am very disappointed. And will not recommend a Rheem to anyone.


Date created: 2012-10-03 Name: J. Rank
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointed"
Our package unit heat pump ran great for 2 years: cool summers and warm winters with good savings on the electric bill. Now the x-13 evaporator motor has died and will cost $800 to replace. All the energy savings will not pay for this repair not to mention the inconvenience of south Florida heat. Tech blogs warn of endless repair issues with this company's products and other reviewers seem to mostly agree. So, buyers beware.


Date created: 2012-09-05 Name: Jim Dennison
Location: Jackson, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Going strong"
It is 35 years old and still going strong!


Date created: 2012-08-15 Name: Russ Lemelin
Location: florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rheem a/c issue"
Rheem 5 ton rhll model Had unit installed and less than 2 year after installation the evaporator coils had multiple leaks. Had two companies come out to evaluate the unit and both told me this was a common problem with the Rheem units. Both said the coil was under warranty however the labor was not. $915 of labor and freon later I did some reseach online and have found that this is a common problem and that technicians are not happy that they are replacing so many of them under warranty and customers are upset. I contacted Rheem and was summarily dismissed as this not being a problem. Do your research so that you do not end up with my problem by purchasing a problem unit (Rheem).


Date created: 2012-08-02 Name: HOT in the South
Location: Daphne, AL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I hate it!"
Home built in summer of 2010, I purchased home March 2011. July 2012 my a/c stopped cooling, the tech. told me it was out of freon. He filled it up $140.00, within a week it had all leaked out and was not cooling again. So another company comes out and says it is the coil, the original installers did not leave vacuum on long enough?????? $300.00 and warranty covered for the part only. Not sure?? It cooled for another two weeks after that, but now I am having problems regularly it is still not cooling my very small home. Would never recommend a Rheem. Many of my neighbors have had similiar issues with their Rheem.


Date created: 2012-07-28 Name: Michael bunn
Location: Skiatook ok

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rheem central air units"
I had to replace the condenser fan motor every year an a half. Found out it was made in china, so I took one apart. I found cheap plastic parts that wear out causing problems. Yes, I would like to be reimbursed for three mirrors. I invested around $900 in service repairs when a mirror should last about five years before needing replaced.


Date created: 2012-07-27 Name: P. Crawford
Location: Spanish Fort, AL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Just Another Statistic?"
I live in a small (newly developed) community. My A/C system is a Rheem (the builder purchased and had installed). Our home was built in May 2010. July 2012, our unit quit working. A reputable company came for service and said they were cheap systems that the contractors use (Contractor Grade). Had to replace 2 pounds of coolant. Service call, labor and coolant cost us $225. They will be back to check for leak. My next door neighbor has same system and her cost for repairs was over $300. Bad coil, leak, coolant, etc. This is crazy that new systems go bad. The manufacturer should be penalized for knowingly producing products that release R410A into our air!!! I have checked with 3 different repair companies and all have said, the Rheem systems are "junk" and to "trash it"!

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com