home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Rheem central air conditioners

Popularity:
#37  of 66 brands of central air conditioners

27% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 265 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    69
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    9
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    11
  • Very Unsatisfied
    171

Read more about Rheem central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2014-01-17 Name: B. Levin
Location: Naples,FL.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Major service expenses"
In three years I have spent $700 in labor repairs for motor failures. Rheem refuses to accept any responsibility for labor costs. They cover parts not labor. However it's their parts that keep failing!



Date created: 2013-12-27 Name: M Weaver
Location: mweaver@misteam.net

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Really bad. Always broken."
This has been a non stop nightmare. There is literally no way to change the filter. Fortunately, this is usually unnecessary as the unit is broken so often it's pointless. I bought a fire pit and set it up in the living room. The house is warmer than it's ever been; I just have to keep the windows cracked. Run away from this company.


Date created: 2013-12-10 Name: Mike K
Location: Cape Coral Fla.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Watch the Warranty / Everything Excluded"
Parts just corroded away in 3 years, unit required $400.00 worth of repairs. Rheam slimed their way out of covering the warranty, said it was environmental . Now I have a unit that needs $400.00 of repair work every 3 years


Date created: 2013-12-01 Name: Ron Keselowski
Location: r.keselowski@yahoo.com

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Worthy Expense"
I figured American Standard would be here in the winter trying to slip in a bad review. Well it didn't work. I've installed these for years. A very good buy.


Date created: 2013-11-16 Name: A. Disani
Location: Boca Raton, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Big Problems - Stay Away"
Had the air conditioner under 2 years. The air conditioner froze up. Needed a new coil. A month before that, the lines were clogged. After owning the AC for only 6 months, it began to leak.


Date created: 2013-10-17 Name: m.vicens
Location: miami, fla

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"If You Try to Send Some Type of Comment"
If you try to send some type of comment to Rheem, it is impossible. If you call on the phone which by the way they don't have a 1-800 number, you have to pay the long distance call. They don't even care and are very rude. I purchased my units September 2011. Now September 2013, the coil had to be replace and it was expensive labor. Never again buy or recommend Rheem.


Date created: 2013-10-09 Name: Tim
Location: Odessa Tx

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never Again"
Had a new system installed in 2008. Worked great for 5 years and 3 months. It quit cooling because 2 copper tubes in compressor area rubbed together and made a hole, freon leaked out, $700.00. The next month, same thing, stopped cooling, no freon. The "a" coils had numerous holes and leaked the freon. Had to replace the coils, $1400. Warranty expired in June. Serviceman said Rheem has lots of coil failures. What's the deal? Had other brand units in the past run over 20 years, no problems and were running fine when I sold the houses.


Date created: 2013-10-09 Name: John Ristaino
Location: Key Largo, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"3 Years and 4 Coils So Far"
I have two newer, higher end (seer 16) Rheem AC units that I bought barely 3 years ago. To date, I have had 6 failures, 3 in each unit. Three condenser coils, 1 evaporator coil, 1 control card, and one fan motor for air handler. The first failures occurred in the first year, and then in every successive year. These are terrible units. But the customer service that Rheem has offered me, is even worse. To date, they have not offered to help me in any way, other than to pay for what my warranty already pays for, the parts only. I am out of pocket over $7000 in just three years, for labor and other cost. I paid top dollar to have these units (a 5 ton and a 3.5 ton) installed. My experience with Rheem has been very very bad in every way. They just could care less. I intend to bring legal action against this company, as well to the installer. Both blame the other. I have not had one unit last more than a year without a complete shutdown that often involves over a week of waiting for parts (usually condenser coils). Clearly, Rheem has a severe shortage of these parts. Wonder why? Do NOT buy a Rheem.


Date created: 2013-09-10 Name: Matt Hatfield
Location: huntsville, al

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do Not Buy a Rheem"
Do not buy a Rheem. Had split unit installed 3 years ago. Have already spent over $5000 in repairs. Distributor gave me a new unit 'cause the first one was bad. Now, having all the same expensive problems with new unit. Repairman telling me it's a bad unit as well. Talked to Rheem, they don't care and won't do anything to fix it. Highly recommend never purchasing one and tell anyone thinking about it to get a different brand.


Date created: 2013-09-02 Name: Paul H

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Cools Great"
We installed a Value series 13 seer Rheem AC to supplement our wonderful top of the line heat pump in our main living area. The heat pump could not keep up on 90+ degree days. With the central air conditioner, the house is cold and comfortable even on the hottest of days.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com