Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Payne central air conditioners

Popularity:
#54  of 69 brands of central air conditioners
25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 118 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    24
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    81

Read more about Payne central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2014-08-07 Name: k cranford
Location: tucson,az

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Payne uses cheaply manufactured parts"
My unit was installed in June 2013. I did have a licensed contractor install and service it. It was ordered thought American Home Shield. In July 2014, it stopped working. 3 licensed contractors (money out of pocket= $300 plus) came to look at it, it turns out it is the condenser coil (it has a leak and has to be replaced) The warranty for the unit is 10 years, but for parts is only 5 years (????). So the licensed contractor ordered the part.It will/is taking over 3 weeks to be delivered and AHS does not cover freon, so it will be more $$$$ out of pocket. This "new" unit is garbage, plus getting parts for it is ridiculous. 3 plus weeks???? I live in AZ! How can anyone say that Payne is a good product, if the parts fail in a year??? I have had reputable service companies do all the work and maintenance of this ac unit, so don't tell me its the installation
Find Local Contractors
1. I need a new:
2. My zip code is:

Date created: 2014-07-07 Name: Pam Jones
Location: Covington, La

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Payne model PH13"
Unit purchased 2/20/14 not working 6/29/14. A/C men report compressor gone out.
Date created: 2014-05-28 Name: s.louzon
Location: michigan

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Model PA16NA"
Unit installed 12-2010. It's never cold and it breaks every summer. Don't buy a payne furnace or air conditioner.
Date created: 2013-11-15 Name: Jennifer Pitts
Location: Crawfordville, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heating and AC"
Very, very unsatisfied! We bought this unit in Dec 2006. We have had nothing but problems. Had to replace several parts, but it never fails to quit working AC and heat. Last time, the blower motor was replaced at $300.00 to us. We paid over $4000.00 for this unit and every year we have had issues. Now, the heat is not working. Isn't there something to protect a consumer on these types of problems like the Lemon law for cars? I am tired of this happening every year!
Date created: 2013-05-27 Name: M. Puletti
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Payne Central Air"
Worst unit ever! Never cooled well and broke just after the warranty expired. Now we have to replace the unit. Very unsatisfied.
Date created: 2012-12-27 Name: jeanette Diaz
Location: tampa &lorid

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Six visits- cant fix. call another sears autho dealer, owner."
Installer did not guard my back nor, so I have a 5 year warranty. Unit stopped heating two and a half years. Sears auto tech fixed the problem, but created another problem. Blower motor would cut off on at will sporadically sometimes would not cut off at or no matter the setting. In total Sears three certified techs were out to fix it and unit became inoperable for heat or ac. The owner called me after the sixth visit said they could not fix it, I would have to call someone else. Crazy right!!! Three parts were replaced,I paid 4 labor. Thermostat, control circuit board, plus service visit. Total over $850. I called Sears, they will send one of "their" techs, beginning with a $$79 service charged plus an hourly fee for diagnosis etc ...etc ...$$$$$$$.
Date created: 2012-11-28 Name: Adam W. Henry, Jr.
Location: Houston, TX. 77065

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quaility Product"
Had our 5 ton Payne condensor unit replaced on 1-31-12, after 10 months the unit quit operating. a/c tech found a crack in the coil running along the fin area. The crack could not be replaced and the unit has to be replaced. This is going to cost approximately $500.00 out of my pocket for something that is their fault. If it were not for the factory defect, I would not be writing the very negative review. The contractor has given me a discount on labor, but I am still out the cost of the freon, 15 lbs. @ $24.00 p/lb. The manufaturer stated the cost of replacing of the unit is not covered my the warranty and it is my responsibality to pay. This unit is less than 10 months old. I will not recommend a Payne unit to anyone, and will the a voice to be heard. Run from Payne as quick as you can, I am stuck unless I spend $6,000.00 to have a differt manufature's unti installed. Again run from Payne!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date created: 2012-09-14 Name: Alexine Raineri
Location: Hyde Park, MA 02136

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Payne is a Pain"
After I had the air conditioner put in, it was blowing warm air. It took me several calls to get him back. After he said that he fixed it, he told me to wait a couple of hours for the air to cool. Five days later it was still blowing warm air. After many calls, he finally came back and fixed it, but he had it dripping in the garage instead of outside. He came back and "taped" a piece of hose instead of using a coupler or just replacing it with one piece. Then he drilled a hole through the garage with caulking it. He agreed to come back and caulk the hole, but he never did. I don't think that using tape to connect a hole is acceptable. I called and wrote to Payne, but they would not help me with the issues. You have lost a customer for good.
Date created: 2012-08-09 Name: Kenneth Kennedy
Location: maryland

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Parts warranty"
All Payne equipment comes with a 10 year parts warranty if its registered within a period of time. Sorry about the problems you people have, it sounds like your installing dealer didn't give you all the facts.
Date created: 2012-07-20 Name: Tammy Hass
Location: Chattanooga, TN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DO Not Buy a Payne unless you want One!!"
Purchased in 2009, replaced the cooling fan last July 2011, replacing the cooling fan again this July 2012. Labor is not covered. The Payne is a payne in the buttocks!!!! Will never purchase another one!! If you are looking for a new ac do not buy a payne!! Well, after calling customer service today, the csa "Took Notes" but there is no recall on the fan motor. I guess there is a need for a class action lawsuit.
<< Previous1234567Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2018 furnacecompare.com