home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of JANITROL central air conditioners

Popularity:
#28  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

38% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 42 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    14
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    23

Read more about JANITROL central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous12345Next >>

Date created: 2008-09-08 Name: Rob
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"JANITROL THE WORST AC UNIT EVER"
I have had this unit for only 5 years and all I get is a bunch of "hot air" when it comes to quality of this unit. My AC has had to have at 3 or 4 repair or diagnostics. Take my advice.... Spend more money for a better unit. I am



Date created: 2008-07-16 Name: Gregory l Sutton
Location: Hopkinsville, KY
Years owned: 13

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Customer"
I have had my unit for 11 years and have had 2 service calls. 1 for a heat exchanger and 1 for a capacitor. Today my blower failed to come on so I have no air condition tonight.


Date created: 2008-06-25 Name: Jay Clow
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"UNK"
Have owned the Janitrol central A/C units (upstairs and down) for just under two years and have had four service calls. All four have been to recharge the unit - it kept leaking freon and three different A/C repair companies couldn't find the leak. Finally, $260 later (labor costs), the leak was discovered to be the result of faulty factory braising at the condenser/discharge line junction. I would not recommend this brand to anyone.


Date created: 2008-05-23 Name: Bill Hindi
Location: Millbrook, AL
Years owned: 12

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"janitrol ac"
Biggest piece of junk ever. Was installed new in my house in 1996. The longest it has gone without needing work is about 5 months, compressor replaced after five years, constant service calls to keep biggest of junk somewhat running. Today found out it needs yet another compressor but advised to change the entire heat pump at the bargain price of $4000.00. Do not ever buy something with the word Janitrol on it. There is a reason you can't find Janitrol on the web, they are ashamed of their biggest piece of junk!!!!!!


Date created: 2008-04-22 Name: S. Bourgeois
Location: Denver, Colorado
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
The compressor went bad on my unit in about six years. I live in Denver, CO so I didn't even have to use the unit very much in a year's time.


Date created: 2008-04-22 Name: M.C.
Years owned: 8

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
It is interesting to her about these reviews that are so poor, I've had a Janitrol heating and air conditioning units put in on a recommendation and have had great success with both, no problems in at least 8 years.


Date created: 2008-03-19 Name: D. Sutton
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Years owned: 17

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
After 17 years, we are finally having to replace our Janitrol. Excellent service for all those years. Have not serviced it in the last 4 years (I forgot since I never had any problems with it).


Date created: 2008-03-17 Name: J. Lunsford
Location: Texas
Years owned: 6

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
I would not recommend this unit. The first one had to be replaced in just under 2 years of installation. It was under warranty, but I had to pay the $300 installation fee. The second one lasted from May 2003 until August 2007. We are already having to replace the fan motor on this unit. Even though it is under warranty we have to pay the installation fee again. Do not buy this product


Date created: 2007-09-07 Name: a.wiley
Location: chesterfield,va
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
Ive had my janitol ac system installed in a new less then 2 years ago and only to find out I have a bad compressor for this unit. I would have thought that this unit would have a service repair plan that came with the 5 year replacement parts for this item. Who would ever think of having to pay for someone to reinstall an item from having faulty equipment.


Date created: 2007-07-15 Name: E. Cole
Location: Ogden, Utah
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
I have had nothing but problems with this product since the day it was installed. The money I have spent on repairs I could have a bought a huge system. I am in the process of putting in a different system and will never look at Janitrol again.

<< Previous12345Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com