home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Heil central air conditioners

Popularity:
#50  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 116 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    30
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    7
  • Very Unsatisfied
    75

Read more about Heil central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2011-05-05 Name: seig heil
Location: [email protected]
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This name should be changed to seig heil!"
Seig heil is more like it for this brand. when i first purchesd it , a nazi came out.



Date created: 2011-04-18 Name: JDL
Location: enid, ok
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay away from heil"
Nothing but problems. both coils were defective (I have two compressors), the company provided new coils but the dealer still wants $700 for installation. would not recommend anyone buy Heil, (the product from hell).


Date created: 2011-04-05 Name: C. D
Location: Al
Years owned: 7

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"PIECE OF _____ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Will NEVER buy another HEIL again !!!! Problem after problem after problem. I've replace 6 or 7 control boards, 2 compressors and it still has problems!!!!! I ABSOLUTELY hate HEIL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Date created: 2011-02-28 Name: Becky Heath
Location: Swansea IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Piece of Junk"
We had to borrow money to purchase this unit told it was great unit broke down after 5 months of use and the installer went out of business. called another H/C repairman unit lost all freon said would have to find leak flush lines and recharge with probably 9 pounds of freon at 35 dollars a pound est of around 1,000 to fix. Contacted company told them of problem response was were sorry.So do not buy a Heil product its pretty sad they won't stand behind there product


Date created: 2010-10-16 Name: Jeff Edwards
Location: KY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Just won't quit"
My Heil condensing unit was installed in 1971 (almost 40 years old) and has only had one fan motor replaced. I have my system serviced annually, which is the key to a long life of a system.


Date created: 2010-10-14 Name: Donna

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Piece of Crap"
After seven years, the unit does not work and coincidentally the warranty ran out at 5 years. What a piece of junk!!!!


Date created: 2010-10-07 Name: Byron
Location: holiday FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective Fan Motors"
In January 2009 we were sold two Heil central units as replacement systems for our home with strong recommendations from installer. Three weeks after the first aniversary the blower fan moter on one system went out. After much discussion with installer the motor was replaced under warranty but I had to pay for part of the labor to replace. In September of this year the second system blower fan went out. Again I had to pay for labor to get the motor replaced. Today after only one year and nine months two motors have gone out and I am out close to $300 for labor to replace defective parts. Beware of these units!!!


Date created: 2010-09-19 Name: Diana Castro
Location: KILLEEN,TEXAS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"THE BEST"
I HAVE HAD THIS AC FOR 16 YEARS NOW IT HASN'T GAVE ME ANY KINDS OF PROBLEMS...


Date created: 2010-09-16 Name: Richard
Location: Fresno, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"18 years wit a few problems"
In 1992 I purchased a split unit with a 4 ton scroll compressor condensor with a 5 ton evaporator coil. 12 SEER The heater blower portion was a very early model of an appx 90,000 btu down draft heater that exhausted with PVC pipe. As the compressor condensor was being installed, it was detected that the main suction copper tube from the compressor to the valve on the outside of the unit had a foot long crack in it. It took about 3 months for Heil to make up and supply us with a new tube. Thankfully it was in the winter so the unit was not in use. This crack also caused a leak of R-22 refrigerant into the atmosphere. Since 1992 the condensor coils have been cleaned once or twice a year and there have not been any problems with the unit. Several weeks ago we noticed that the unit was having problems starting the compressor and a repairman installed a secondary capaciator to help with starting problems. It did not help the problem. In getting estimates for repair, we discovered that the factory compressor was not 4 ton, but was only 3 1/2 ton. We do not know if this impacted its performance or service life, but a 4 ton unit should have a 4 ton compressor. As far as the heating unit, the fan limit switch has had to be replaced about every two years. Since I can do this job myself, I have been purchasing them in bulk over the internet, but now that they are about $60 each, this does add to the yearly cost and is an inconvenience. When the switch goes out, the fan stays on for a long time after the heater quits burning natural gas.


Date created: 2010-08-27 Name: Charles Licastri
Location: Holmdel, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heil 4-ton 14 seer condenser motor"
This unit has been in for 10 days and the motor went. They will not replace the whole unit and the motor will not be in for 4 days. What woudl you do?

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com