home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
CONNECT with us!

our tools and detailed reports
can help you choose the best
furnace, boiler, heat pump or
central air conditioner.

Consumer Reviews of Heil central air conditioners

Popularity:
#51  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 113 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    29
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    7
  • Very Unsatisfied
    73

Read more about Heil central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2012-07-24 Name: B. Troodler
Location: New Rochelle, New York

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay away, nothing but headaches"
Unit was nothing but trouble from the get go. Unit leaked at condenser coil and evaporator coil.All rjp mechanical would do would just add freon. Then in second year of same trouble Heil would not give any guarantee on labor. Could not get rjp Mechanical to come back and repair, so local Heil Distributor wanted money up front for all parts with the understanding it would be refunded if defective. Took out unit and purchased a great unit in a carrier. What a difference. Remember stay away from Heil if you do not want problems



Date created: 2012-07-19 Name: Kr Kenneth Clouthier
Location: Palatine Bridge, NY 13428

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Kenneth Clouthier"
This unit was installed in our new home on Feb 7 2006. We have had a problem with the unit since last summer. Our technician who installed the unit went out of business and we have no way of contacting him. Finally we have a technician and discovered that the condenser is leaking. He charged the unit and he said that it should be okay the rest of this summer but will have to replaced. We had our module home put up December of 2005. We still have part of the warranty for the compressor. The Model Number is:NAC024AKC3. Serial Number is: e054648969. Mfr #NACO24AKC3We live in the North East and the unit is used approximately 2 moths out the year. Why did the condenser develop a leak in such a short period of time? Please respond. Respectfully, Mr Kenneth Clouthier.


Date created: 2012-07-04 Name: Thomas Zanotti
Location: Belen NM

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Works fine"
I had a new Heil furnace and air conditioning unit stalled nine years ago. It is a three and a half ton unit which is properly sized. There have been no issues what so ever. Actually in Consumer Reports it appears to be one of the more reliable a/c units on the market. I live in the Southwest where the summers are long and hot.


Date created: 2012-06-19 Name: P Morin
Location: Manchester, NH

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"15 Year Old HEIL"
The top of our whole house air conditioner unit says "High Efficiency 5000" - but every year since we purchased the house 11 years ago it has cost us more and more to run. I've had it serviced by a local and trustworthy hvac company nearly every year, and each year it needed work. Last year I was told that it would cost so much to run that it's not worth running, time to replace it. The unit was way larger than needed for the size of the home, so I am surprised that it died within 15 years.


Date created: 2012-05-14 Name: B. Cause
Location: Edmonton, CANADA
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"STAY AWAY FROM HEIL!!!"
Installed a Heil central air conditioner 4 years ago and had to replace a coil in year 2 for $2000. It wouldn't even turn on this spring and had someone take a look at it and coil needs to be replaced again!!! That's another $2000 to fix. Three coils in 4 years is ridiculous!!


Date created: 2012-04-20 Name: R. Koli
Location: P. Ridge, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Their Warranty STINKS"
I was considering Heil Products. Their warranty is void once I sell my house. That is a big negative when potential buyers find no warranty coverage. Their website discourages contact by potential users of their products. They refer to their dealers or contractors. I usually find manufacturers of products know more about their own products than any of their dealers or contractors. Try calling them direct. I would not consider HEIL for their weak warranty and the fact they avoid contact with homeowners, the final users of their products.


Date created: 2012-04-18 Name: D. Moritz
Location: Overland Park, Ks
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Where's the recall on this peice of junk?!!"
Had the a/c unit less than 5 years and stopped cooling. Freon leak from inside coil says the company that installed. He also said this is a very common problem. Parts covered but not labor. Less than 5 years-- ridiculous!


Date created: 2011-12-07 Name: L. Davy
Location: Cadillac, MI
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Owner"
The first unit was junk, replace under warranty. The second unit is also junk. Will be replaced this spring.


Date created: 2011-08-25 Name: Gregory Sowder
Location: Summerville, South Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"READ THIS BEFORE YOU WRITE A REVIEW!"
To the Consumers: It is really funny to read the great reports to the bad reports on Heil equipment. One thing that every bad or good report is missing is who really is at fault and who deserves the credit. With the manufacturing not just Heil but all brands of equipment something the consumer does not know is the government stepped in 2010 and said enough is enough all manufacturers now have to show, prove and manufacture higher more efficient units. It is the whole going green everyone is doing it and it is now mandatory. The 13 seer units are really the 14 seer and the 14 seer are now the 15 seer. Since this has occurred several of these brands have merged with their parts like Carrier, Payne, Bryant, Heil and icp Indoor Comfort Products. American Standard with Trane, York with Coleman and so on and so on. They all use the same parts manufacturers. The same contractors, the same Copland compressors, relay and motors the same distribution centers for the copper to the aluminum coils. These suppliers are globe wide. I can show you the same parts used in a Bryant system that is also used in a Heil etc. Do not be fooled by the true salesman. He might have signed a contract with that brand to be strictly a dealer and will at all cost to sell you on just that brand. The question as a customer is to ask: who is telling you the truth? What Brand is better than the next? In almost every case when properly reviewed 85% of the issues or failure to a product or specific brand is not the equipment’s fault but if traced back correctly you will find it was done by who installed the equipment, the labor or technician or that company or contractor? Were they licensed? How did they handle themselves? Were they professional? Did they cut corners to save a buck? Did they install it properly? Always look for their reviews. The main cause of inside coils or outside condenser fan motors or compressors failures is ductwork. The biggest thing to know is it is called “air “Conditioning. Without correct design of the returns and supply’s for that system the parts are sure to fail. Without proper air flow from day one nothing else will be truly correct in the overall functions or operations of that system. It may take several years for it to show or it will show right away in which an hvac contractor can always blame it on the equipment without you knowing their mistake. Remember this is key, without the proper install of that equipment and air duct design the compressor, motors and smaller parts will over work, over amp and fail. Without proper air flow across the evaporator they will get to cold and tend to sweat and cause rusting and eventually start to cause refrigerant leaks. So the question would be was the ductwork to that equipment adequate from day one? Was the unit properly sized for the home? Was it too small or too big? Was it a mismatch (note) a 2 ton to a 2 ton does not make it a match? The equipment must have proper coil sizing and the correct metering device in one part to match and be installed. Always remember to look beyond what might be told to you as a truth and look at who’s to gain or who’s to lose. (Law 5)So much depends on reputation; guard it with your life, without it you are nothing. With the new government standards being strictly enforced and quality control now mandatory. The only remaining 15% of failure is in shipping which again would lean more to Fedex, UPS or the shipping companies where equipment could have been mishandle, dropped , crushed or damaged. So before you question or report and issues look deeper and you may find out something you did not want to know or believe to ever be the truth. Greg Sowder CEO, Air Concept Solutions, LLC. www.airconceptsllc.com


Date created: 2011-08-17 Name: B. Troodler
Location: New Rochelle,NY
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay Away nothing but Junk"
Since we first got it, nothing but problems. Repair Technician kept putting in freon for 2 years. Called a new technician and it turns out compressor coil on outside was defective and on inside the coil was also leaking. Heil has a no hassle warranty for year---but the Heil technician could not find the real problem and Heil will not honor the no hassle warranty since it is not in the first year. Got original dealer from Heil website and they say they are independent. Nothing to do with Heil. Would not recommend to anyone a very dissatisfying experience.

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com