home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of GOODMAN central air conditioners

Popularity:
#49  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

27% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 850 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    216
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    14
  • Neutral
    25
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    39
  • Very Unsatisfied
    556

Read more about GOODMAN central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous4344454647484950515253545556575859606162Next >>

Date created: 2010-04-09 Name: Mrs D. Henke
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Flawless"
Five years old and never a problem with this system. We have been very pleased with the performance of our Goodman furnace and AC.



Date created: 2010-04-08 Name: Darell Shaw
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay Away"
We moved into our brand new home nine months ago. Our air has already gone out! We had to have it serviced (all the freon had leaked out). This is not covered by warranty. We had to have it filled and pay out of pocket on a 9 month old air system. The repair man just left ($90). Later, we are told that the inner coil has several pin hole leaks in the coils (from factory saudering). Estimated repairs is over $475 out of pocket. Come on - 9 months old...??? Never again will I own one of these systems. I think I should be entitled to a refund of all the money I have wasted on this defective system. Very poor quality.


Date created: 2010-04-07 Name: Leroy Jones
Years owned: 25

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"HAVE A PROFESSIONAL INSTALL!!!!!!!!"
I have sold and worked on Goodman units for over 25 years now and I know for a fact that if this brand is installed properly, then you will have no problems if any at all. In most cases that I have read on here, the unit was probably not installed correctly. Therefore, lead to many problems. Have a professional install your unit, not a kid with no experience right out of school. There are too many companies out there that throw this equipment in and don't take the time to do it correctly. I recommend Goodman. They are customer friendly, and back there warranty. You don't have to pay for a name. You get a good product for a good price or you can spend an extra $1000.00 on a Trane so they can have fancy commercials on tv. The unit is only as good as the installer. Simple as that.


Date created: 2010-04-07 Name: Greg M.
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"GMC Air Conditioner"
Unit began leaking freon last year about this time. Contractor located a leak in the evaporator coil (above air handler). Running with leaky coil until I decided to replace or repair. The outside compressor unit is rusty and looks pretty bad. Unit still runs though.


Date created: 2010-04-05 Name: C D I
Years owned: 1

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Valve leaks freon in the winter - buyer beware"
Had a Goodman AC installed in 2008. Worked fine until the first hot day in 2009 when no cold air was blowing out of the vents. The AC contractor found out that the unit did not have any freon. It leaked out over the winter months. Apparently, a bad valve design allows the gas to leak at lower temperature. They probably did not account for cold temperature contraction of the material used for the valves. My AC contractor tried to get reimbursed for the warranty work but has not received a penny from the manufacturer.


Date created: 2010-04-05 Name: L. Richardson
Years owned: 3

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nothing but problems from day one!"
Brand new house and the day we closed, they had to replace the unit (5- 2007). A year later, they found a leak in the coils (8-2008). The next year, heat pump reverser valve was leaking (9-2009). Now, 4-2010 the damn thing isn't working again. I'm filing a lemon complaint if I can!


Date created: 2010-04-03 Name: Pete Damron
Years owned: 16

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Think about This"
If you read any review about a product, you're going to see the unhappy people. What is the percentage making the complaint? How many people take the time to brag about the HVAC equipment? All HVAC mfg have complaints. If you sell more, you will have more complaints. I am not just saying this. I am trying to open your eyes. Goodman MFg is the world's second largest HVAC mfg selling more than any other brands. They have an outstanding warranty compared to the others. Goodman mfg Amana. They warranty for life. Go to the website and read for your self. Carrier has one plant located in Tyler, Texas. Just laid off 360 employees. The production shit moved to Mexico. Trane/American Standard, same thing 50% has moved to Mexico again Tyler employees lost jobs. The internet high is a great thing but the highway sometimes only goes one way with any HVAC equipment. First place, proper duct work. "Working mechanical" is a must and a trained installer that know what he is working on. Many companies sell up to a dozen brands. It's whatever they can sell. Again, 99.9% is the install. Many things can cause freon leaks over charged system. Dirty filters causing high head presure bad ref lines to begin with. A dirty filter can cause vibrations to start because of lint on blower wheels. I could go on for pages. However, the key is research. Try and find out the percentage of failures compared to success. That may be hard to do because a happy consumer isn't here placing a complaint. HVAC equipment is a big investment. It is a lot of the equity in your home. Goodman Mfg knows this and they didn't get to where they are today by selling junk and tin cans.


Date created: 2010-03-11 Name: David Merkel
Years owned: 5

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great unit"
Never had any problems with this unit. Runs quietly and efficiently. Would recommend.


Date created: 2010-03-01 Name: Newton
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great install = Great reliability"
Installed two separate units due to config of house and cool/heat needs. No complaints and only filter replacement for costs. Bills are reasonable.


Date created: 2010-02-07 Name: Shel Huda
Years owned: 2

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Would not reccommend Goodman"
Bought an entire new Goodman 14 seer variable speed air conditiong unit at the end of 2007. Compressor blew 1/2010. $1100 in repairs. Three days later the txu broke, another $280. Parts are covered under warranty, but what good is that when your repair bills are through the roof?

<< Previous4344454647484950515253545556575859606162Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2016 furnacecompare.com