home
We speak HVAC so you don't have to
Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:

2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of GOODMAN central air conditioners

Popularity:
#52  of 67 brands of central air conditioners

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 879 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    220
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    14
  • Neutral
    25
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    39
  • Very Unsatisfied
    581

Read more about GOODMAN central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
<< Previous3031323334353637383940414243444546474849Next >>

Date created: 2011-04-05 Name: Russell Snoddy
Location: New Orleans
Years owned: 10

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Katrina Goodman"
When we returned home after Katrina we found our Goodman laying in the backyard but still attached to the house. It was hot so I turned it on. Worked fine. 5 years later still works fine. When it does finally fail I'll replace with another Goodman !



Date created: 2011-03-27 Name: Stephanie
Location: Mississippi
Years owned: 4

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Unsatisfied- Bad odor from unit"
Several years ago, we had to replace our air conditioning unit. Our local dealer who is experienced, licensed, etc., recommended Goodman. Although we usually do research before big purchases, we did not since we have know the dealer for over 20 years and have been very satisfied with the business. WHAT A MISTAKE!! It worked fine the summer we had it installed. The next spring/summer when we went back to cooling from heating, there was a bad odor that came from the vents. When we called our dealer, he said something about the "dirty sock" smell that some have complained of. It was upsetting since apparently this problem is frequent enough that the dealer had a "name" for the smell. He had to come and clean the coils for the odor to go away. The next summer, the same scenario. Last year we were charged a cleaning/servicing fee of about $200. A few months ago, the unit didn't work and a part had to be replaced. The dealer didn't charge us for service that time, although he said the warranty only covers the part, not the labor. We have let him know how disappointed we are with this unit. The smell makes us sick. He says he no longer sells Goodman. Apparently we aren't his only disatisfied customers Last week, we had to turn on the cool air for the first time this year, and "dirty sock" odor again. We'll have to call tomorrow for another coil cleaning. If only we had done some research, we could have been spared this inconvenience.


Date created: 2011-03-23 Name: dd

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"DO NOT BUY GOODMAN"
WORSED EVER


Date created: 2011-03-14 Name: B. Bailey
Location: Pensacola, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failure to Satisfy Warranty"
After several months of continually replacing freon in a brand new ac unit, we contacted the company asking for a replacement. For over a month we got the run around and after four months still no satisfaction. BUYER BEWARE!! These are not folks who honor their word.


Date created: 2011-03-14 Name: Danny Trent Trent Heat & Cool
Location: Jamestown, IN.

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Know your contractor"
Before buying ANY hvac equiptment do the homework and find the best dealer in your area.Price has noting to do with it. Talk to people in your area for the BEST dealer. As all dealers know the parts in hvac equiptment are all common to each other. No company makes there own parts they have the same compressor, fan motors, electrical parts, ect. made buy Copeland,GE,Honeywell,ect. The problems are most always installation. Even the coils, line sets, ect. are made by someone else. So when your looking for equiptment don`t look for Name Brand but look for the best dealer and buy what he sells. Service and knowlege of hvac are more important than brand.


Date created: 2011-02-24 Name: Eric
Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Aweful"
6 service calls in 4 years. Simply awful. Installed by Air West air conditioning -- company can't get it fixed and has become adversarial. Avoid Goodman and avoid Air West Air Conditioning.


Date created: 2011-02-19 Name: ED SMITH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"JUNK"
A/C COMPRESOR BROKE 2 MONTHS AFTER CLOSING ON BRAND NEW HOME. 1 YEAR LATER COIL PAN CRACKED. JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!


Date created: 2011-02-17 Name: P Rosko
Location: Ocala, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy"
Compressor died on the 6th day, the replacement compressor died in less than 1 year. 13 months & broke again. Junk! don't buy this crap.


Date created: 2011-02-15 Name: DOROTHY REID
Location: beaufort, sc

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"REAL PIECE OF CRAP"
IN THE 6 YEARS I'VE HAD MY GOODMAN UNIT IT HAS BEEN REPAIRED AT LEAST 18 TIMES FOR EITHER THE HEATING OR AC UNIT. EVEN THE REPAIR MAN DOESN'T WANT TO SERVICE IT ANYMORE. WITHOUT A DOUBT, THIS IS THE WORST PRODUCT ON THE MARKET. THEY RECALLED THE 2007 TO 2008 PURCHASES, MAYBE THEY SHOULD HAVE RECALLED ALL THEIR UNITS AND SATISFY ALL THEIR CUSTOMERS. HOW DO YOU PEOPLE SLEEP AT NIGHT, DO YOU EVER THINK ABOUT THE FOLKS THAT ARE ILL OR THE ELDERLY WHO COUNT ON THESE UNITS FOR HEALTH REASONS.


Date created: 2011-02-15 Name: B.
Location: FLORIDA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BEYOND BAD !!!"
I PURCHASED A NEW GOODMAN AIR HANDLER FROM UNLIMITED AIR FOR $1295 (THINKING THEY KNEW WHAT THEY WERE SELLING AND WOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT)IN 2006. LESS THAN 2 YEARS LATER, NO FREON, FROZE UP AND I WAS TOLD THE EVAPORATOR COILS WERE BAD. THEY WERE 'COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY' BUT IT COST ME $495 IN LABOR !!! (I LIVE IN FLORIDA AND LIVING IN A 90 DEGREE HOME ISN'T AN OPTION FOR LONG). LESS THAN A YEAR LATER, FROZE UP AGAIN (OVER $100 IN FREON COSTS) AND THEN LAST YEAR (2 YEARS AFTER THE COILS WERE REPLACED) I WAS TOLD THE COILS WERE BAD BUT STILL UNDER WARRANTY. I REFUSE TO PAY ANOTHER $495 LABOR TO KEEP FIXING AN OBVIOUSLY DEFECTIVE UNIT. GOODMAN WON'T DO ANYTHING (THEY WOULD NOT PAY FOR THE LABOR TO REPLACE THE COILS AND NOW TOLD THE A/C COMPANY THEY WON'T REPLACE THE COILS EVEN UNDER THE WARRANTY AFTER THE FIRST TIME). I'M GETTING A LAWYER, SUING EVERYONE AND GOING TO THE TELEVISION CONSUMER REPORTERS LOCALLY TO EXPOSE THEM ALL. WHAT A DISGRACE !!!

<< Previous3031323334353637383940414243444546474849Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to FurnaceCompare.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of FurnaceCompare.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2017 furnacecompare.com